1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. Zenith

    Zenith

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    166 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I got to RMA my P67A-UD5 since all SATA2 port are dead. Maybe I will get UD5H as replacement since P67A got to be out of stock. :)
     
  2. NeoCrisis

    NeoCrisis

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    385 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    what are you settings? So far it seems that 4.6 is the max for mine. Also has anyone running windows 8 while using the msata for caching? It was easy setting it up on win7 and stable but on 8 i was having issues getting it to enable.
     
  3. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    Got mine a couple days after reading cadaveca's review and I'm lovin it in every way.
    Minor problems I had were : after BIOS update (f14 I think) I lost the intel LAN,went back to f12 and everything was fine.
    It also happens that when I first boot the whole system goes into a boot cycle 2 or 3 times and after that everything starts up fine.
    I'm missing my system lately...:( moved to a new house and after 5 month I still don't have internet coverage in the area :(
     
  4. tallguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I may as well weigh in here too. I just finished my 1st build in probably 15 or 30 yrs, inspired by my son, as I have been needing a 'storage solution' for my new photography hobby. I needed a replacement for my aging laptop, but am intrigued by the tablets, ultrabooks and convertibles, but decided that everything is changing too quickly right now, so there is no clear way to go.

    Started out with just using a new 3TB drive and decided to deploy a small SSD for the OS and used an old desktop point-of-sale system, but then shortly after decided to go ahead and build myself a desktop.

    I had a ton of learning to do to catch up on the latest details of parts and such, but found out that really mostly what has changed from 15 yrs ago are the numbers and letters, the basics are still the same... sort of. = )

    I've learned a lot about Win 7, clean installs, moving the user profiles off onto the hdd, Intel's Smart Response Technology and their Rapid Storage Technology. Got my mSata drive installed and configured to cache the hdd.

    Not into overclocking, so I'll just enjoy the fast new hardware for now, although I did tweak up the memory to 1600. No wi-fi or 1394, barely needed a discrete graphics card, but figured it couldn't hurt. Couldn't really verify that image processing would require much beyond basic CAD / Business graphics.

    Having just a couple of issues, both related to USB ports. One is that sometimes a memory stick or external drive or printer is not 'noticed' by the the hardware.

    The other is that booting from a USB stick doesn't want to be 'settable' in the BIOS, but only from the shortcut Boot Menu if/when the USB is present. (BIOS Rev 14)

    Cheers, Bill~
     
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,730 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,462
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Welcome to the club... make sure to fill out your sytem specs so we know what you've got.

    Cheers.
     
  6. tallguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thanks Sasqui, I did that before posting... and I'm hoping that shows for y'all. ;-)


    (Edit: My bad, I didn't realize I had the (default) option of hiding the specs! Should be available now! thx~)
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  7. tallguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is anyone else experiencing USB finicky-ness?

    And how about the Boot Order for USB sticks? I'm thinking I must be missing a setting somewhere, but all my USB settings, including the legacy USB 2 settings are enabled.

    This is my first experience with a graphical bios and it's impressive, indeed. But I'm surprised that even old, old bioses that I've seen easily support the boot from USB device setting, whereas this one (F14) doesn't seem to list this basic option. I can see it when I boot from USB 'manually' using the Boot Menu with stick inserted, but otherwise it's doesn't seem to be an option.

    :confused:
     
  8. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sasqui:
    First off, since no one answered you, Xpress Recovery 2 is apparently a backup scheme for your boot disk. It ONLY supports storing he image ON THE BOOT DRIVE. Since I'm using a 240GB SSD to dual-boot W7 and W8.1, there ain't much spare room for such silliness. Therefore, I didn't install it. If you have a whirlydisk as a boot device, with lots of room, and you DON'T have Acronis or something similar, it seems like a viable option. I DO use Acronis to image my boot drive, usually before any change (no, I don't use "restore points" either - wastes too much of very limited room), and at least weekly. Those images get stored on an external 2TB drive.

    Second, this is a new board, and my first UEFI BIOS. I don't think I like it much (the BIOS, that is - the board's a killer). My previous machine was based on a Gigabyte X58A-UD5 mobo, with an i7-920 and 24GB of DDR3-1600 RAM. I had installed two Antec Easy-SATA adapters to allow changing the boot drive, and one data drive, easily. That worked splendidly. Shut down, change disk, power up. No, I didn't enable AHCI on SATA channels 0..3 so I didn't have hot-swap capability. Was gonna play with that, but started having problems with that system, and replaced it. Problem turned out to be pilot error during initial build, which got fixed, so I now have two good systems.

    In the X58 BIOS, I would assign which SATA slot was the boot drive, which DVD and which USB HD were checked in which order. That ain't possible in the Z77 BIOS. The silly thing goes out and looks at what's there AT THE MOMENT, then decides to boot from something entirely different, like one of the data disks. So, it sits there and cycles through POST like mad. The only way to stop it is to go into Setup and correct it's scattered brain. The worse thing is that it sometimes takes several restarts of Setup to recognize the disks that are there.

    Anyway, this motherboard, and especially this BIOS, seems to be designed for a single, fixed, almost appliance mode, build (which kinda makes me wonder why it's giving me such fits over which drive to boot from). It's difficult to swap disks when that usually requires a trip into Setup, or punching F12 and selecting the disk from a list. What's the point? Anything other than the standard one-boot-disk-plus-data-disks setup is made difficult. Also, if you use the same make/model of disk, it will usually boot. If you change Mfr or size or even model, it usually won't. Frustrating! The X58 BIOS didn't care.....

    "Got a bootable drive in that slot? Great! Let's go!"

    Based on that, and a lot more, I have decided to set this machine up as a no-change, non experimental appliance, with an SSD to boot from. I'm going back to the X58 machine for playing around. It's better suited anyway. Total waste of time and money on this kluge. Sure wish someone had warned me. But then again, I'm probably one of three idiots in the world that use the computer this way.

    Oh, well, if you listen to Microsoft, we'll all be computing on tablets, or watches, or brain implants in the near future, so we won't have to worry about a desktop messing up.

    Life goes on.....
    .
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2014
  9. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I had tried to use a Logitech "unifying" keyboard/mouse set on this board. It just didn't work, before the OS loaded. I finally got mad and tested every USB port on the board, internal and rear-panel. What I found was that some of them were active during POST, and some weren't. Of course, the one I selected for the Logitech wasn't. I moved the adapter to an active port and it works fine now. More Gigabyte/AMI messing around. This has to be a setting issue, so I'll figure it out, eventually.

    It has been said that the UEFI spec is so bloody complicated that NOBODY understands it well enough to write a good BIOS from. Probably true. Sure seems that way, anyhow.
    .
     
  10. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,029 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    986
    Does that fit UD3H?
     
  12. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2014
    Vario says thanks.
  13. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I do have one further question.
    Is there a method I can use to place a bootable MBR on both data drives? The object would be to accommodate this board's propensity for booting off the wrong disk. Maybe a Microsoft or GRUB bootloader that just sits there with a message like - "Hey, Dummy, the boot drive's broke!". I'm going to look into "Dual Boot Pro" for a possible answer.
    .
     
  14. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,029 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    986
    Its that darn cmos battery.
    Its that darn cmos battery!
     
  15. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey! If we show enough interest, maybe they'll cover the other two also.
    On second thought, between the battery and the mSTAT socket, probably not on the UD3H, at least.

    .
     
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,730 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,462
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I suspect anyone wanting to boot from different drives would have the same complaint. After some searching through other forums it definitely is an issue. I'm only running off one OS and boot drive so it hasn't affected me. The board has been awesome so far.
     
  17. davnel

    davnel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I quite agree on the board/cpu combo. It's great! Too bad they had to mess it up with that disastrous BIOS! I guess I can try overclocking the i7-920 to gain some horsepower. It's supposed to be eminently overclockable, up to way over 4GHz on the GA-X58A-UD5 board. Should be interesting. I have a few articles on precisely how to overclock that CPU.
    .
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page