1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 680 Graphics Card Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Does it that much matter to you?
     
  2. djxinator

    djxinator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Its been benched

    [​IMG]
     
  3. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    i guess it will support 4K res like 7970.. but DX11.1 not sure.. the Gigabyte box says only DX11.. still no official info on either of these specs..

    that 'Heaven benchmark' is @ 1600x900.. ironman86 @ OCN probably doesn't have a full HD monitor
    he says - "sorry for not in 1080p resolution,i only got 20" inch monitor to test "

    earlier when someone asked him to confirm the clocks in nvidia control panel.. he did and said - "i see is same clock as GPU-Z,so im not posted it"
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,785 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    Hmm. Is he running the card at lowish clocks because the results are pretty bad?
     
  5. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    i guess not.. his comment on the clocks(shown by nV control panel) was before his heaven benchmark..

    also his CPU is i3-2100 & 32-bit OS.. bottleneck could be one of the reasons.. but the heaven scores cannot be compared directly...

    UPDATE: just to compare with ironman86's GTX680 Heaven score of 1362, one of the members at OCN did a Heaven run using 7970 @ 1600x900 (he has i7) and here is his score
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  6. Rahmat Sofyan

    Rahmat Sofyan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    120 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pekanbaru - Riau - Indonesia - Earth
    he use i3 2100, maybe bottleneck ???
     
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,785 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    Something is wrong there. He also said that the clocks (700MHz) are shown in NV CP but I still believe that this is not base clock for GTX680 hence the results which are poor.

    I also don't think we are talking about any bottleneck as Crysis 1 has nothing to do with more than 2 fast cores which the i3 provides a plenty and he says something around 50FPS with only 4AA at that resolution. If I remember corectly I had above 50 on 1680x1050 (higher res) with my GTX570.

    So it's either the bios, the driver or settings in NV CP.
     
  8. Shurakai

    Shurakai

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    Seems pretty on par, can't take the minimum fps into account because I bet he ran that test asap without letting it loop a bit hence the very low 8fps for a split second but still acceptable average.
     
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm thinking that i3 gimped the results.
     
  10. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    I don't, the unigine heaven test gives the same results with either I3 2100 or I5 2500
     
  11. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    736 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    DOES IT SUPPORT 4K and DirectX 11.1?

    Yes it does matter, coz if it doesn't support 4K i wont buy, if it doesn't DX11.1 i still wont buy, i will get AMD Radeon HD7xxx which does support all this, so basically to me if it doesent support this features its a worthless card and generally speaking not fast coz does not possess the same features it would be a cranked up last gen GPU by the name of Kepler.

    Kind of like Nvidia 8,9 100, 200, were all DX10, while AMD Radeon HD4xxx had DX 10.1
     
  12. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    CAPS I DONT KNOW NOW IT ISNT OUT YET.

    And the lack of DX10.1 support didn't disturbed the GTX260 216SP to whop HD4870's behind...
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  13. beck24

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Official benchies soon. These are rubbish.
     
  14. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Alright, i had this aluminum biscuit tested again

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    736 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    At list some one who had HD4870 could see the details in DX10.1 unlike those who had Nvidia 8..... 200 series. who could not see the details of DX10.1,

    I Had a 9800GTX then and i would not repeat the same mistake, i will go for features this time round for my next GPU purchase.

    And for the record i have used both camps, currently on Geforce GTX460 1GB 336cuda 256bit, which i bought July 2010, and it replaced My AMD Radeon HD5770. other wise its a long list of both GeForce, Radeon & Intel iGPs.
    Currently on 1920x1080 and not switching to higher soon, may be 2013 ill switch to 3k or 4k displays that will be available
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  16. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    889 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    (facepalm). Does the lack of 11.1 have a HUGE impact on your productivity level such as windtunnel testing, programming, rendering and actual income on using it? And the card is not out yet, so on what basis did you deduce that is "not fast and worthelss" I just don't know :)
     
  17. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    736 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    It's my money i am planning to spend on a new GPU that replaces my GTX460 which has served me very well no complains, but if it turns out that the GTX680 has no 4K and DX 11.1 support then it should cost less (hence the worthless) which i still would not buy even if it were less and doesn't have 4K and DX11.1 support, my current card does a great job not supporting those features.
    So i want to spend my money on features... and a faster card than what i have currently, which does a great job anyway.
     
  18. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,785 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    You know that the GTX680 has only 2GB of memory? That's not a concern for you?
     
  19. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    889 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Of course it's your money. I don't want to be intrusive or rude. I was just pointing out that these arguments don't make sense to me personally. But I am biased anyway. So I am sorry if I caused any disturbance.
     
  20. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    736 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    No its not.

    At list Intel Ivy bridge processors will support 4K, i plan on getting a 4K or 3K display next year 2013.
     
  21. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Common sense just left the building...
     
    EarthDog, HumanSmoke and Shihabyooo say thanks.
  22. Count Shagula New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    My Computer
    4096×3072.

    I cannot even begin to imagine the cost of such a screen and what power would be needed to power games on it.
     
  23. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    736 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I mean 4K (4096x2xxx)

    or 3K (3860x2xxx)


    money is no problem
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Even so, I doubt this card alone would handle that res in games such as BF3. you would need at minimum, 2 or more.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    736 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    4K or 3K i do not intend for gaming mostly for photo editing
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page