1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GTX770 4GB boot / graphic problems.

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Simon998, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. Simon998 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    N. Ireland.
    Hey,
    I bought a Gigabyte GTX770 4GB Windforce 3 graphics card when I was in the states a couple of weeks ago and since installing it it has made my PC hang on boot. It happens straight away as soon as I press the button then after exactly 90 seconds it throws up a glitched BIOS boot-screen logo and boots into Windows (8) almost instantly.

    I've reset the BIOS, tryed the card in the 8X PCI-E slot, reverting back to the non-beta Nvidea driver set and various other things to no avail.

    The only other thing I've noticed wrong with the card once it's booted happens whilst playing ARMA2 in Chernorus. The grass would sometimes flicker from a light mauve colour to the normal green and back repeatedly.

    Any ideas? Perhaps should I RMA the card?

    Many thanks.
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,404 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What's your system specs? What PSU do you have to power it? I have the same card but 2GB and it's been an amazing card! No issues at all. But I'd consider RMA if you know your PSU is capable of powering that beast of a card.

    Have you considered turning fast boot off in BIOS to see if that changes the issue or maybe allows the card to load correctly? Just a thought..I have a feeling towards a bunk card or a stressed PSU.
    Simon998 says thanks.
  3. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,093 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,917
    Do you have another card to try in your system, and can you try your 770 in another system? It'll help to narrow down whether it's the card at fault.
    Simon998 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    706 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    There are a good chunk of people having to update their BIOS for the 7xx series cards. I noticed this in the newegg reviews section as I might be getting a similar card when BF4 hits.
    Simon998 says thanks.
  5. Simon998 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    N. Ireland.
    Intel i5 3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.8GHz 1.30v [100MHz x 48.0] Delidded & Lapped.
    MSI Z77A-G45
    Corsair H100i, 4 x Corsair SP120, 4 x Corsair AF120, 2 x GELID WING 140mm's
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB) 1600MHz @ 1800MHz CL9
    GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB OC Windforce 3
    Corsair Force 3 GT 120GB, 2 x WD Green RAID1
    Corsair 400r
    Corsair TX750M Enthusiast Series V2 Modular

    I've tried it with my old GTX460 and an old GTX280 and it works's fine. I'll perhaps try updating the BIOS.
  6. Simon998 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    N. Ireland.
    Updated the BIOS, redone my Overclocks and wayhey it's fixed.

    Thank you sir.
  7. nafees127 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    good to hear that your problem is solved.

    good luck with updated BIOS

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page