1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got a free Mac G4 ...Need help

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by MohawkAngel, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I just got it from a friend and I want to know if the Mac operating system is free for download or i have to buy it like the Windows?
    It says that the limits are Tiger OSx.

    Thanks for help
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    They're not free. You'll have to buy it.

    Hah. Apple stuff for free. :roll:

    Didn't come with an OS installed?
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    You'll have to buy it or 'acquire' it some other way (not endorsing this suggestion). You could look around on Ebay or Craigslist ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    The OS is already installed but its like 10.3.9 something like that. fully working. 450mhx cpu and 768megs pc133 40gigs hdd (gonna put one 20gigs) and ill use it as downloading rig
     
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Just use 10.3.9 then. Tiger is 10.4, I don't think it's worth it to buy and old OS for an older system ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    've been looking over ebay..theres a 1ghx double processor on the tiny plate for 30$ but the heck is that one part of that plate gonna cross over the 3rd ram slot so ill lose onslott. I better stick with 1 cpu plate and go up to 900mhz and sitck with my 768megs pc133
     
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I dunno...$30 for a dual-1GHZ seems like a pretty good deal to me. And you could always use 2 512MB sticks of RAM ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Yeah but i need to find it that stick! and not sure to fnd good deal around of 512meg pc133 ;) ..or do you know someone who got one to give? lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page