1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU has problems [SLOVED] originaly: IMC is dying...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by buildzoid, May 7, 2014.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,134 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    How would this fix it, just curious. Might cause any stuck CLU to pour off? I don't see it possible that you'd have to reflow the core+transistors?
     
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    I use dp and hdmi only so I need to find where I left the dvi cable.
     
  3. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,194 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    OR break the short that could be under the surface mounted parts.
     
  4. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    Ok one of the DVI ports works. But when I run heaven I can't run it at more than 1440x900
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2014
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,194 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    1440x900 .. did the color shift go away?? I assume you've not done the bios flash...
    See if the ' -ai ' switch in atiflash gives any 'funny' info could point to the bios corruption.
     
  6. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    No BIOS flash desktop ran at 2560x1080 without color corruption and Heaven ran at 1440x900 also without color corruption.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2014
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,317 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    So let me get this straight, 2560x1080 works fine in 2D but does not in 3D, where 1440x900 works fine in 3D but anything higher doesn't work at all.
     
  8. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    looks like it because when I tried the next higher res option in Unigine it black screened but the desktop was running at 2560x1080 when I first turned the computer on. But this only true for the DVI port. The HDMI and DP fail to load the desktop at more than 1024x768
     
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,194 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    I'm not sure how many TMDS signal lines are no these R9 cards 6 or 8 but looks like @ least 4 are not o_O. Knowing that CLU was the culprit next time you've got it apart have a look for 'shorts'

    upload_2014-5-17_19-15-31.png
     

    Attached Files:

    buildzoid says thanks.
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,134 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    try a very soft toothbrush with 92% isopropyl and lightly brush those circuits, might work.
     
  11. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    I did a really thorough cleaning yesterday took me 1 hour and by the end of it the surroundings of the core were completely clean but the card still won't boot on DP so I'm guessing that the short is under the components. So I'm gonna have to go with the heat gun because I tried both BIOSes on the card and neither works so I'm going with the BIOSes being fine since I can't have corrupted both if I only used one of them.
     
  12. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    Ok so a few days ago I noticed that the CLU on my R9 290X has degraded considerably resulting in increased temperatures so I decided to repaste the card with something more reliable. When I removed all the CLU with a slightly improved cleaning procedure so none of the CLU ended up on the substrate around the core. However I noticed a fine silver dust in the direction of the VRM so I decide to just blow it of and went on to re paste the card with MX-2 and put it back together into my system. Once the card was in the card was in the system I started hearing sparks from the area of the GPU core and VRAM IC area and I was getting artifacts once the AMD display driver initialized. So I took the card apart and decide that some of the CLU+Alcohol dust must be conductive and under the VRAM or cores' substrate. So I used a fine tooth brush to clean under the RAM ICs and the core. When I installed the card again there were fewer artifacts and the shorting noise was softer however it only came from the core so I took the card apart one more time took a solder sucker and used a bit of tape as an impromptu nozzle and used it to vacuum the VRM side of the core and all the VRAM ICs in the area. When I reinstalled the card it no longer had any artifacts and managed to loop through 5 minutes of completely maxed out Unigine Heaven. I'm gonna do the same to the R9 290 now and test it tomorrow(I'm lazy kay) hopefully fixing it. But let this serve as a warning to all CLU users when removing it:
    ANY DUST YOU SEE AFTER OR WHILE REMOVING CLU COULD BE THE CONGEALED CLU AND IT IS CONDUCTIVE AND WILL CAUSE SHORTS IN THE LEAST ACCESSIBLE PLACES IF DEALT WITH WRONGLY.
     
    Vario says thanks.
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,134 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    That sucks. Glad you got it working for now.
     
  14. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,194 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Your unlucky #=290 ;) I'll bet you'll be happy when the next round of cards come out...Hope the card cleans up like the 290X
     
  15. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    541 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    i think some one will be using mx-2 from now on... (i prefer mx-4 lol)
    hope you can get all that stupid dust out. id personally give it a good bath in the strongest alcohol i could find. take it out of the bath then put it in a plastic bag full of rice for a day or 2 to dry out properly. Then hit it with a vaccuume with soft bristle attachment.

    like i said though hope you get it sorted out..

    "p.s i wouldn't heat gun or bake it"
     
  16. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,469 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    CZ
    Ok the R9 290 also works now. It's really amazing a what a solder sucker some tape and a tooth brush can do when it comes to removing dust from under ICs and other soldered on components.
     
    Frogger and Random Murderer say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page