1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gpu Help!!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Phenom-enos, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello guys...Well i am new in your forum -as you see- and i want to ask you some information...First of all my system is the following:

    cpu: amd phenom 9850@ o/c -> 2.8 ghz
    mobo: asrock a780fulldisplayport (chipset 780g)
    psu: seasonic 500W (dont ask :p)
    ram: 2x2giga kingston pc6400@800 mhz
    Hard disk: seagate baracuda 500g

    So, i want to buy a gpu and my options are: ati hd 4850 or ati hd 5770...I know that 5770 has the advantage of having direct x11 but except this i want to hear opinions...

    thanks...

    P.S sorry for my english
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    The 5770 is equal to the 4870 performance wise, uses less power, is newer tech, and is alot more future proof.

    Your question was?:roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks man...because i dont have money for a 5770 i think to buy a 4850...a used 4850 has the half price now from a 5770 so...and the question is...Is it worth to wait to make some money and buy the 5770 or not? -Stupid question- :)
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Just wait man. To bad you didnt join a week ago I was selling two 4850s for the price of one.
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I've heard the 5770 matches a 4890 and uses quite a bit less power.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Its in between a 4870 and 4890. Good card no matter how you cut it. Personally I needed MOUR POWA! 5850 FTW! :rockout:
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
    What games do you play and what resolution is your monitor?
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
  9. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you know because my mobo hasnt enough space which card is biggest? thanks for your attention bro..
  10. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    max resolution 1680x1024 and that is what i want..to play all games in high options!!!
  11. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I am not sure, but if I am not mistake the HD 5770 and the HD 4870 are about the same length. The stock version has a two slot cooler if that is what you mean by your mobo doesn't have the much room. So in general, the slot directly below the PCIe slot for your GPU will not be usable.
  12. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So...from conversations i had i decide to reject the 4850 and buy the 5770...BUT...In the same money i buy and a 4890 which i think it's more powerfull than 5770! the only disadvantage is that it hasnt DX11...i already have a cpu that consume 120+ watt and my psu is 500watt...so can i put the 4890? which card is better in performance and which of them my system could handle properly?
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    just get the 5770

    dont bother with anything from the 4xxx series its OLD tech save up and buy new tech and be happier in the long run
  14. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok after the christmas holiday and the costumary payment i will buy the 5770...BUT i have a 500watt psu...so my question is, if my system
    could handle this gpu or i will need a bigger psu..

    thanks
  15. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    552 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    A 500 watt PSU should be fine for your setup, as long as the quality of the PSU is okay. If I remember correctly, a 5770 draws 20some watts at idle and 115-120 at load, so 500 watts should more than adequate.
  16. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello guys...Yesterday i was so pleased with my NEW gpu performance...(xfx 5770)! Just in case i remind that my mobo is asrockA780fulldisplayport which has the 780g chipset...
    Unfortunatelly, today i was watching a hd video and suddenly my system crashed...and the mouse pointer became bigger!! I tried as a first effort from control panel to resize but it hadnt any response!! the only solution is to reboot my sytem until it appears again...I havent the latest bios for my mobo BUT asrock has stoped to update -not sure-. my operation system is windows 7 x64. I also tried to install again the aticatalyst but it had no result..

    Any ideas...I google it and there are enough people with the same problem BUT the majority of them has intel cpus and the p55-ud series of gigabite mobo!
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Driver issue. Remember theses cards are still young. However with that being said what was the temp?
  18. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well there is and another problem...when i open the amd overdrive to see the frequencys of the gpu, the engine is 160MHZ and the memory 300mhz..-voltage normal 0.95- WHY is this happening...i used driver sweeper in safe mode to erase the previous drivers and nothing..Even with the aticatalyst 9.12...Dont know why its happening...
    As concern the games...sometimes my system run normally and other crashes...it is very unstable...

    ""Driver issue. Remember theses cards are still young. However with that being said what was the temp""

    50-60 oC
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    thats called 2d clocks means power savings how else do u think ATi got the gpus down to under 30 watts idle?

    run gpu z before a run with Furmark and then run furmark and reopen gpu z and u will see the difference AMD overdrive isnt really recommended for overclocking gpus anyway
  20. Phenom-enos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes by using the amd overdrive i see the gpu status...the last thought i have at this moment is having my gpu o/c with the drivers problems...thanx for the advice...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page