1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GRID Problems - Slow then Fast, slow then fast

Discussion in 'Games' started by LifeOnMars, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I used to have this game running very smoothly on my 6000x2 and my 9800gt @ 1280x1024. Just installed on Vista with my X3 8750, 9800gt @ 1680x1050 and the game is basically unplayable because of a strange problem. It keeps going slow(down to 15FPS) and then back to normal performance(around 55FPS) very quickly and continues to do so. Its obviously a core affinity problem but, setting my chip to two cores...the problem remains and setting it to just one, It smooths out a bit, still with speed issues and its only pushing 33frames which I know is to low for this setup. Can anyone help with this issue as I love a bit of GRID action and this is peeing me off:banghead:
  2. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Any help anyone, looking to play a bit of this tonight and I still haven't found a solution.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    I had this problem with my 8800GS and I found the fix was turning down the particle effect quality.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Thanks for the input but its not that I'm afraid. I should have said I have tried it at all graphics settings and even with fps in the 100s on low settings it speeds up and slows down so I think its a processor issue....Its like a core affinity issue but I cant seem to resolve it. Anyone else with a tricore fancy chipping in with some help?
  5. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    I had this issue with GRID/PURE/DiRT games.

    The fix for this is to load the latest AMD Multicore Driver. This was for my HTPC PC, which at the time had a x2 4400.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    I'll give it a try with my pII x3 720 system tonight and see what happens. AMD doesn't have a tri-core optimizer or anything do they?
  7. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
  8. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Also one way to test and know for a fact that its a badly optimized core...is to disable multicore in BIOS and play the game. Im betting the stutter is gone, although your framerate will drop with loss of core, at least you know a driver update will fix it.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    All I see on the list is the old dual-core optimizer for XP. :confused:
  10. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Its a much newer version though.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    It doesn't work on Vista. :ohwell:
  12. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    OF course....BUmmer.
  13. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Oh man and I thought you had the answer found :( Thanks for your efforts so far guys.
  14. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Fed up :( Just seems to be one problem after the next with pc gaming.
  15. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Try disabling cool n quiet.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  16. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Hey Pepper, yeh I have it off as standard already mate as I'm overclocked. This really has me foxed.
    DrPepper says thanks.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Have you tried running the game at stock settings?
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Try the game at stock everything. Even settings in it. Also try reinstalling even though its a bit arduous.
  19. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Yep:ohwell: No different I'm afraid, have tried with a fully patched game and without....running out of ideas.
  20. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Usually if a game doesn't work with me I uninstall reinstall try each patch individually try different drivers reformat and try again :laugh:
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    What is your pagefile set as? Also how many HDD's are you running and is GRID installed on a separate HDD?
  22. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I thought maybe they were slow HDD's but they were fine maybe there is a few bad sectors or a sata cable is at a funny angle.
  23. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Thing is I have Left 4 Dead, Far Cry 2 (Don't ask) and Fallout 3 all installed without a hitch. My games are all installed on the os disk and my pagefile is on my second disk set at a static 2048.
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Stick it at 4096mb see if that makes a difference.
  25. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    If your looking for an x4 i have a 9950be for sale in my thread and some other items


    link is in my sig

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page