1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 580 crashing in BF3 only, weird symbols on screen

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by lwgnlseven, Jul 24, 2012.

1. lwgnlseven

Thanks Received:
    Hey guys I've been having this problem with BF3 for about 3 weeks now since I restarted playing. To begin, I've got an i5 2500k, gtx 580 and 16gb ram with an 850watt psu. I logged 100 hrs of BF3 maybe 8 months ago when I first got the game, never had a crash or an issue. Now I started playing again 3 weeks ago and I've noticed the game crashing at times. I found a picture below of exactly what I see when it happens.

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/9287/greenart2.jpg [img171.imageshack.us]

The game will just freeze with these green $$$ looking symbols on both of my monitors and I have to use task manager to close down BF3.

I was playing on high settings when I noticed it happening 3 weeks ago. I was told to lower some graphical settings and I did, it did not crash for about a week and I thought it was all done, however tonight it crashed twice within 20 minutes. I've done research and have found many others are actually getting this problem as well. Is it something wrong with my graphics card or is BF3 related? I have never encountered this in any other game.

I have the latest nvidia driver 301.42 and my gpu temp in bf3 is 58c and my cpu temp while playing is 49c-51c. Its not a heat issue. I'm not sure how to go about this or if there is anything I can do to fix it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

*Edit*
    My gtx 580 is all stock with no overclock. 772 core clock, 1544 shader clock, 2004 memory clock.

2. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

Bjorn_Of_Iceland

Thanks Received:
    Check your voltages. See if they are still within +/- 3% of its rated voltage when on load (fire up IBT and Heaven Bench on extreme at the same time)

3. OneMoar

OneMoar

Thanks Received:
    card is toast rma it