1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 2900 Series Overclocking and Feedback thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by EastCoasthandle, May 14, 2007.

  1. junkyboxter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    thanks for the help mithrandir! theres just one thing im confused about.....on the cocking screen where the sliders are, the clocks for memory and core are roughly 510 for both...so when you say set the clocks to 823/1116, must i move the core slider up to 823, and the memory slidr to 1116? sorry im new to overclocking...
    also im using ATi Tool 0.27 Beta 4, and when i go to the fan speed control setting, i tick the "overide fan control" box, but where it says "GPU Fan Speed" its at 38%.....how exactly do i change it? thanks :)
     
  2. mithrandir New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    Junkyboxster - let me check the options again as I haven't been in them for a while. I know I setup profiles so when on desktop it's on lower clock speeds and activated to 3D (higher) speeds.

    I'll post the steps soon.
     
  3. junkyboxter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    ok great, thanks for your time and help!
     
  4. HonzaN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Damn. Did anybody here passed 900MHz on core? I am not able to run stable beyond that magical number. Even at much higher voltages. I am able to cool it at 1GHz i think. So please, call some guru for us :)
     
  5. Deusxmachina

    Deusxmachina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    526 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    For my 2900pro, used to use ATI Tool till it broke I think from upgrading the 2900's drivers. The same might have happened with Rivatuner; I forget.

    I flashed the bios for lower 2D clocks, but for oc'ing, I use ATI Tool for fan control, (turn that low end down to 25% and enjoy the quiet), AMD GPU tool for oc'ing, and Rivatuner if I want to monitor it to make sure it's oc'ing properly. Sometimes mine will lose the oc if I alt-tab out of then back into a game, but that's a minor thing to me so I haven't worried about it. Might just be from me only running AMD GPU Tool when playing a game, which is rarely nowadays.

    Junkyboxter, easy and stable oc is to just set it to 2900xt speeds. Around 740 or 50 and memory between 800-900. Feel free to try higher from there, (watch your temps), but even 740 on the core is a big step up from the stock pro's 510 or 600 or whatever it is.
     
  6. mithrandir New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    My apologies for the late response junkyboxter, but hope this can help!

    Here are the steps:

    Right click the ATI tray tools logo on the taskbar (bottom right)

    You should see something like this:
    [​IMG]

    Go the Hardware then the Overclocking settings option

    You should see the following screen:

    [​IMG]

    The settings above are for my desktop settings.
    You should test by moving the sliders for core and memory up in increments of 10 and testing at each stage with furmark. However, you need to increase the voltage slightly for higher clocks. Cannot remember how much before you need to increase (read it on another thread a while back) but to give you an indication my highest clock is at 1.150v as below:

    [​IMG]


    For each profile you should manually adjust the fan settings using the tab at the top of the overclocking window. My settings for 3D speeds are shown below:

    [​IMG]

    I also forgot to add that you should save the settings using the disk icon at the bottom. Give it a name and also click the 'Include in profile'. This is for both the overclocked settings and fan settings.

    I've created several profiles as you can see in my first pic. They were mainly for testing and stuck with using 816.75/1107.00.

    I've also set up the 2D and 3D detection switch. This is so when I'm using 2D apps such as on the desktop the clocks are lower and thus fans can be less noisy, and if I run a game or 3D app then the clocks will automatically ramp up aand use the appropriate fan settings to keep the card cool. This option can be found by going to the Auto overclocking option (under the Overclocking settings option as mentioned earlier).
    You'll see this screen:

    [​IMG]

    Basically, check the enable auto 2D/3D overclocking option

    Select the 3D profile you saved earlier and below that select the 2D profile, OK then test it to see if it works!
     
  7. G@dn!q

    G@dn!q

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Maybe this isn't the right place to ask this question, but i didn't want to start a new thread.
    A friend of mine is selling his Sap 2900 Pro 1G! If i buy it what performance gain can i expect in crossfire with mine (see specs)?
    Thanks!
     
  8. junkyboxter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    thanks for taking the time to help mithrandir, but i dont recognise those menus??
    im using ATi Tool..... 0.27 beta 4 specifically.....and it looks nothing like that :/
     
  9. mithrandir New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    It's ATI tray tools, you can download it HERE
     
  10. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    The best I ever got with crossfiring 2 1GB 2900XT was approx high 16k numbers, check my specs, I used the same CPU Q6600 etc... I would honestly save my money in this case. I know it is temping but for what you can get a 4870 or even a 4850 on rebate the reality is the GPUs in these cards are just superior let alone the GDDR5 ram...
     
    G@dn!q says thanks.
  11. junkyboxter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    hey mithrandir, i know its been ages, but i only downloaded ATi Tray Tools today, and just had a few questions about that part of you post: 1. what do you mean when you say test with fumark? and 2. i dont really understand voltage, im new to overclocking..and howcome its not necessary in ATi Tool?

    and also, i dont have the option to change voltage. or to "include clocks in profile." and also my GPU and mem clocks wont go past 760???? when even on ATi Overdrive they go further! (well the memory clocks do). please help!

    EDIT: fixed the clock problems, just dunno why it restarts my pc..
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page