1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Headset

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Hyper, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. Hyper

    Hyper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm a gamer looking to get a pretty nice headset for gaming. Mostly for Counter Strike source.

    I've heard that the SteelSound 5H USB's are very nice, which would be great for me, since I have an onboard sound card.

    But I've also considered the Razer Barracuda HP-1's, with the AC-1 sound card.
    Yes, I have the money to spend, but I only worry about two things:

    1. Are the Razer products [particularly the headset] that much better than the SteelSound 5H?

    2. If I did get the AC-1, would my computer get lower FPS/and or lag because of it? I'm using a Dell, which is now 5 years old.. a 2.4 GHZ with 512 RAM.

    If you can help me out, thanks! :toast:
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would get the AC-1 if possible. The sound card should boost your performance if anything, since it processes sound and takes some load off the CPU. That is the main reason I have one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Most don't provide much of a boost, if any. Only those with dedicated DSPs provide any type of offloading. But those without don't hurt performance either. In this case, it will be about the same either way, but sound quality will take a huge jump.

    That said, I think the money would be better spent on a more substantial upgrade, such as more ram. If you are a gamer, 1GB should really be considered the minimum.
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    I didn't say the difference would be noticeable :p
    Still, it's better to have some type of sound card than using onboard, quality and performance wise. Even my old Audigy SE put my Realtek "HD" (yeah right) onboard audio to shame.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Right, I couldn't agree more. But the OP only has 512MB of ram. It's my opinion that he should address that first, then worry about a sound card.
     
  6. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    I agree. Sound isnt very high on my list of priorities.
    As long as I can hear, and its clear thats cool for me.

    But then again some people go crazy over sound and thats fair enough, I preferred to buy an expensive (good looking IMO :laugh:) case.
    I agree with Wile E though, if your running games on a Dell you probably have something in there that could do with an upgrade.

    Post specs?
     
  7. Hyper

    Hyper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As far as RAM, I agree.. I should have more. But my problem with that is that my motherboard only supports RDRAM. I don't think that I can put a different kind of motherboard into my computer without changing everything. Although, I'm not too sure about it.
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Ewww, RDRAM. Ouch! Maybe hit eBay?
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you get another mainboard, your mobo or power supply or both will go up in smoke due to dell's propriatary power supplies. If you can only use RDRAM, you've been shafted up the ass :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    What exact model Dell PC do you have? I'm guessing the CPU is a Pentium 4 as well, correct?

    And Hat, Dell didn't use propriatary/BTX PSUs back in the day of which I think his Dell is from. I'm guessing it's probably a 300-350watt Dell ATX PSU.
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    Wasnt d44ve sellin some of that RAM?????
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It would be a Dimention 8100 or 8200, iirc. And yes, it's a P4. If his stuff is ATX compatible, a full upgrade might be a good option.
     
  15. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  16. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    That made me laugh so hard. Sorry to laugh at your pain lol.
    A full upgrade sounds like a decent plan, especially considering the age of your components.
    If its a P4 at least you could reuse that.
     
  17. Hyper

    Hyper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, I posted most of the specs that I know to my profile.. if it helps any.

    Thanks for helping everyone.
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Are you dead set on the gaming headphones, and how much can you spend on your computer?
     
  19. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah but what exact model Dell do you have? Thats what is in question atm!?
     
  20. Hyper

    Hyper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nah, I'm not dead set on the gaming headphones, I just thought they'd be a nice addition.

    I'm pretty good with what little FPS I get, so I thought, hell, I might as well get some better sound.

    Right now, I have around 400-500 to spend on it.
     
  21. Hyper

    Hyper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Like Dimension 8250? That's what I have.
     
  22. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Wow. Isnt that like, overspending :p?
    (If its US $)

    You could have a whole new computer (excluding Monitor) for about $500Australian. With American cash you could push it even further and get a decent video card. Not to say yours is crap, my mate has one and it plays CS:S fine. CSS is a lovely game :D.
     
  23. Hyper

    Hyper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, it's USD. And I meant 400-500 to spend on the computer. Not just headphones.

    I wouldn't pay that much for a headset. Haha.
     
  24. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    OK, i found a decent list of parts that you would normaly find in your particular Dell ---> http://www.shopping.com/xGS-Dell_Dimension_8250~NS-1~linkin_id-8001673

    It looks like it uses a standard ATX power supply and a smaller ATX or perhaps micro atx motherboard. I'm guessing you could fairly easily upgrade to a normal SKT478 motherboard that supports DDR SDRAM. You could get a decent new board, a 1 or 2 GB DDR400 memory kit, a respectable video card and a nice headset for less than $250-$300 USD!

    I definitely wouldn't bother directly upgrading the existing hardware inside that Dell... RDRAM is just waaaay to expensive and far outweighs the performance gain.
     
    Hyper says thanks.
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Just looked it up. The mobo mounts and power connector are mATX and ATX-P4 respectively, but everything else, like power connectors, front panel connectors, and I believe some sort of spacers, are proprietary. A little modding may be neccesary, unless we can put together a new rig for you, reusing your salvageable parts. (monitor, keyboard/mouse, hard drive, etc.) Choice is yours, really.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page