1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! 2x2GB Corsair Ram sticks gives freezing problems with Gigabyte EP45-DS3R Mobo

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by kostap, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's my first post in this forum so I would like first of all to salute the community.

    Now, the reason I make this thread is because my 2x2GB CM2X2048-6400C4DHX Corsair RAM sticks react peculiarly when both of them are mounted on motherboard EP45-DS3R. But let me describe you the problem. When I put the two ram sticks in slots 1 and 3 OR 2 and 4(Dual channel mode) I have a crash on Windows Vista in approximately 0-3 minutes after logging in. If the Ram sticks are in slots 1 and 2 OR 3 and 4 then my system is a bit more reliable and it will crash in 1-4 hours, it depends on load of the system. The thing is that when I remove one of the sticks, then the computer stops these annoying crashes and reacts perfectly. No freeze for more than 48 hours. So I downloaded memtest86+ V2.01 to check if my ram sticks have any problems. After 7 passses for each memory card both finished with no errors at all. But when I started the test with both memory sticks mounted, memtest never made it to finish the test. For case 1 ( slot1 and slot3 OR slot2 and slot4) memtest freeze in less than 20 seconds and with more than 32 errors, while for case 2 (slot1 and slot2 OR slot3 and slot4) with 70-180 errors and freezees at 20-35 minutes.

    I have done some adjustments by my own reading some threads which looked like this. Anyway, I've downloaded latest bios version F10 FOR EP45-DS3R and timings are now correct 4-4-4-12 while I had to do that manually before. I setted DRAM Voltage at 2.100V which is manufacturer's recommended setting and nothing else because of the fear that I would make any damages. I am suspicious that Mobo is faulty but before I make any move I would like to share it with you. Any thoughts?

    My system:
    PSU: Corsair 550W VX Series
    Mobo: Gigabyte EP45-DS3R rev1.0
    CPU: Intel quad core Q6600 G0 (9X266MHz)
    GPU: Sapphire HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 Dual DVI Dual slot cooler HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card
    RAM: Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX
    HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB Hard Drive SATAII
    DVD: Pioneer DVR-216BK 20x DVD±RW Internal SATA
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,563 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,098
    you could try raising the Northbridge voltage up to 0.10V max more than stock.
     
  3. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had several reboots when I try 1.160V which means +0.060 and sometimes I couldn't even reach the Logo or the post screen
     
  4. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    I have the exact same RAM as you and i don't know about Gigabyte boards but i use 1.35 in NorthBridge (NB) voltage to have it run with 2 sticks in my Rampage Formula and 1.45 with 4 sticks.

    1.160 seems rather low for 2 sticks, dude. Where did you get the "stock" NB voltage?
     
  5. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HTC my motherboard gives as a default value for MCH Voltage 1.100 V. With that setting I get a lot of errors for both memories and finally memtest freezes. I will try with 1.25-1.35V to see any differences. thanks
     
  6. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Try with 1.25 first.

    EDIT

    YAY: 1K posts :)

    EDIT #2

    I'm assuming MCH voltage in Gigabyte boards is the exact same as NB voltage in Asus boards. If not, STOP.

    To be on the safe side, better ask someone with a Gigabyte board and he's/her input on this.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
    kostap and MKmods say thanks.
  7. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HTC I set the MCH voltage at 1.32 and now I have no freezings at all. I am running now with both sticks for over 20 minutes.
    Memtest for 10 minutes didn't give any errors and crysis warhead played flawlessly. I hope that was the problem.anything else in your mind?
     
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Looks like you have solved the problem, just keep an eye on your nb temps though. Make sure they are not going thru the roof. :)
     
  9. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you know any program dedicated for temps and fan speeds?
     
  10. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Nice call HTC, and welcome to the spammers club...
     
  11. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry for many questions but it is my first time after many years using Desktop again and I don't know too much about manual settings on bios etc. In old days you hadn't got to adjust voltages....But thanks anyway guys you are very kind and faaaast
     
  12. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    kostap says thanks.
  13. kostap New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you MKmods, I appreciate that.
     
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    ur welcome and welcome to TPU...:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page