1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How many watts? What one?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by cheesemonkey, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. cheesemonkey

    cheesemonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    I have 2 questions right...

    1. What do you think a core i7 cpu and a ASUS P6T with 3gb three way ddr3 will need in watts?
    Including something like a 200 series gfx card and 2x 300gb HDDs.

    I would of thought around 850w but im starting to think whether that's actually needed. maybe a 750w or lower?

    2. After that, say this build came to be... what one would you pick? I originally thought the zalman 850hp (because its quiet and modular) but the HX1000w sounds dam good.

    A power supply that is modular im talking about here.
  2. wolf2009 Guest

    350W at peak .
  3. cheesemonkey

    cheesemonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Serious? A system like that would only need 350w?? Why the heck have people got 1000w PSUs? and why are companies bringing out PSUs like 1300w
  4. PennySavre New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    255 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    One of the reasons to buy more power in a power supply than what you need is for either safety reason or for more headroom... like if I knew my system could work on a quality power supply of a certain wattage but it is cutting it close, I would go for something a bit better than that.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    US
    Cutting a little close there lol. Always have some head room it's better for the PSU in the long term. PSU weaken over time and even faster the hotter they get.

    And i think you be better of getting a single rail PSU to make sure every thing gets the power it needs.
  6. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Those components are not even out yet, what other people are saying is just a guess, my guess is 600/650 to play it safe.
  7. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I checked this psu calculator out,
    http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
    I like Corsair, BFG, and PCP&C. Anything over 600W is good. If you add a second GTX 260 then a 750W will hold up.

    btw the psu calculator is pretty accurate, so dont be surprised.
  8. wolf2009 Guest

    not saying that get a 350W PSU.

    saying that the above system won't consume more than 350W .
  9. cheesemonkey

    cheesemonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    So your say dont get the HX1000w because its 2 rails? i thought that was a good thing.
  10. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i would say 350 > 400 watts at LOAD (my rig uses 300 at LOAD gpu+cpu) so a good quality 600>700 watt psu would be fine... its all about the amps per rail and getting somthing with a bit of head room, i think of it a bit like a car engin you dont want to be reving it at 90% of its max when its sitting there doing nothing 50/60% is what i aim for
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    US
    :).



    No, i am saying it is easier to overload one rail. With single rail you don't have to worry about that.

    And no i am not saying it's a bad PSU either. Reason to not get it is you not needing that power, all though i guess it could save you from upgrading it later but that depends on how often you upgrade.

    Should be more than you need + if you add stuff to it and should good stability.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703005


    All so take a look at the Silverstone, FSP and Corsair. I have found them all good for there mail in rebates all though Corsair i have had issue's with there's in the past but been able to get it resolved.

    Take a read of this thread if you have not all ready
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=39758
    cheesemonkey says thanks.
  12. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Corsair TX750w... that would work
  13. cheesemonkey

    cheesemonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    not modular though is it...
  14. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    no ... :( I cant think of any quality single rail modular units.
  15. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
  16. wolf2009 Guest

    get the xigmatek 650W Modular PSU and be done with it. Its the cheapest 80%+ Efficient Modular PSU
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,650 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    PCP&C 750w you wont have any issues its single rail to ;)
  18. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    +

    =

    LOLs I recommended the TX750w from Corsair ... basically the same thing :laugh:
  19. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Its true put only at idle times. Idle and load have a serious gap in wattage. Probably a 600 watt is a minimum.
  20. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Screw modular, did it once, never again. I agree with cdawall. My PCP&C is an awesome PSU.
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    US
    All so if remember right it's were it most efficient too ( 350w )


    Been sweet for me :)..
  22. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Heheh, most people don't have any issue with Modular, the one modular PSU I got had major issues, but even if I hadn't I wouldn't pay extra for modular, just my opinion though :)
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,650 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    ummm not really

    loving mine to it can handle anytihng i have thrown at it and its only the 500w (read 610w ;))

    corsair<PCP&C

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page