1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. agentdax5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That's really odd, this morning I took another screen shot at GPUZ for both video cards:
    First 1: http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h47/agentdax5/gpuz.png

    today: http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h47/agentdax5/gpuz2.png

    Vendor IDs are showing up. At least for my XFX 9800 GT, but not for my Palit 9800 Gt. Maybe I should try and reflash the Palit card.

    Play as in play any games? Yeah, both cards work individually, the Palit card worked as a 9800 Gt before as well.


    Going to try new HALMod now.

    edit: no sli
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  2. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    appears you have some problems with cards ID.
     
  3. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    i think i have some idea. i'll try to change cards ID on hal level. i wanna see will be SLI enabled on different cards.
     
  4. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    who is going to test?
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Whoa! You mean GTX280 + GTX285 in SLI config for example?
     
  6. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    i think Gf6600 + gtx260 for example
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Trying to get tester.
     
  8. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    ok. i'm modding now
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I am having no luck finding a tester.
     
  10. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Nick [D]vB and aGeoM say thanks.
  11. Schlingel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    need a free harddisk :cry::cry: could test with 8800GTX and 7900GS for example...
     
  12. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Well... I pick up the 8800GT from a friend of mine, so I can test on DFI AMD (3 PCIe slots) a combination of 2 9800GT + 8800GT, it's just a question of setting up and running the system.
     
  13. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal

    What? I can test, I also have here with me 6600GT + 8500GT. :)
     
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Go ahead :). if you want to of course
     
  15. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
    Yes, anything to help, I'm gonna take some time, if you don't mind to change systems, I'm in the middle of something and todays is my father's bday.

    But I will...
     
  16. Nick [D]vB

    Nick [D]vB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    This is a great idea! :) It is a shame that I missed it, it took me hours to find the right bios for my 8800GT + 8800GTS system.

    I will test it as soon as I can get another geforce card, I'd also like to test cross-fire on nForce4, will HALmod "NickDvB Rev4" work for that?
     
  17. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    i'm not sure. and wait for your Edition of HAL to test different cards
     
  18. Nick [D]vB

    Nick [D]vB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Don't worry about a special version for my nForce4, I can test different cards on another system.
     
  19. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Nick [D]vB says thanks.
  20. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal
  21. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Ok i have to think
     
  22. Nick [D]vB

    Nick [D]vB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @ anatolymik

    I beleive it's going to take both modded drivers + HALmod for mixed GPU.
     
  24. aGeoM New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Algarve/Portugal

    Take your time.
     
  25. Nick [D]vB

    Nick [D]vB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Maybe same GPU cards can still be done with HALmod?

    But I think even Nvidia would have trouble making mixed GPU work...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page