1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to format on Windows 7

Discussion in 'General Software' started by 1nf3rn0x, May 5, 2012.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I have 2 partitions on my os drive should I DELETE or FORMAT on both..?

    Deleting will remove my partition...? And format will wipe the partition clear so if this is the case I will format?

    I don't need a partition so deleted both. I have this large unallocated space and pressed next now installing windows on it as we speak! Yay :)
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    Location:
    Oregon
    After your done right click on "My Computer" then "Manage" "Disk Management" there you can format that unallocated space and put it to use.
  3. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Thankyou to everyone who helped, everything is working fine and smooth! Just installed my other cards, the 8GB kit of ram, other hdd and now installing the essential software :)
    95Viper says thanks.
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    And, thank you for being a great poster, who, actually, leaves feedback on the results.:toast:
    This greatly helps future users who visit looking for help.
    Wouldn't it be great, if, the op had a button to add <solved> to the thread title.
    And, glad you are up and running.
    :)
    1nf3rn0x, Jetster and Solaris17 say thanks.
  5. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Why do you need a fresh installation of windoze for a ram upgrade ?
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    he had 32bit before.
    1nf3rn0x, francis511 and 95Viper say thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,613 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    I just want to say congrats to finally doing this. It's been a long time coming.:laugh: :toast:
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  8. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    It was easier than I thought, but that's thanks to you guys :toast: :laugh:

    Also, I might think of buying a SSD, I'm not going to buy an expensive one. Yet. :) Just one to see how it is and if I kill it ohwell XD

    Patriot INFERNO 2.5" 60GB SATA2 SSD for $79. I would put OS and 1-2 of my MP games (bf3 etc) so maps load faster :D
    Last edited: May 6, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page