1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to overclock?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by BALADU, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. BALADU

    BALADU

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my computer specifications:
    cpu: intel i5 4670k
    motherboard: msi z97 gaming 5
    ram: kingston 4gx2
    hd: wd 2Tx5
    how should i do first step to overclock,now?
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,336 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What cooling do you have on that processor? If stock, then stop now. No sense in overclocking much without at least a Coolermaster 212 Evo or similar. Once you have good cooling, download a couple different programs. CPU-Z, GPU-Z, AIDA64, HWInfo, etc for monitoring. OCCT 4.x, Prime 95, Intel XTU, AIDA 64 for stress testing. Games as well.

    Load your system at all STOCK with extra cooling. Get a baseline of temps and results. Also what kind of case do you have? You should fill out your System Specs in the User CP in your account, detail as much as you can. Your details are pretty lacking..no speed on memory, no cooling listed, no case listed...no GPU listed (are you using the on-CPU or do you have a dedicated card? Does it exhaust out the back or in the case?).

    Then you need to become familiar with your MSI's BIOS...refer to your owner's manual on how to access it and what different settings do.

    I also recommend some google researching of components like CPU and Mainboard with "Overclocking" and maybe "Setting" in the search query.

    I do recommend you read Dave's Haswell Overclocking Guide right here on TPU: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Haswell_OC_Guide/

    Hope that helps get ya started! These are pretty easy chips to OC, just increase the Multiplier, F10 to save/reboot, stress test, go till you reach a goal or limitation. :toast:
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,979 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    There is a a Haswell overclocking club house in the Clubhouse section of the forums. Should post there. Also simple google search will bring up a ton of Haswell Overclocking guides.
     
  4. BALADU

    BALADU

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my cooling is enermanx ets-t40-tb,is this could overclock?
     
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,429 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yes
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,979 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,429 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Oregon
    Read your MB manual on how to reset and use the bios so when you go to far. Up the multiplier and watch the temps under load with prime95
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,979 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Set vcore to 1.25v
    Input voltage (vccin) to 1.75v
    CPU Multi to 42x
    Cache Max and Min to 39x
    cache voltage 1.15v

    See if you can boot the windows.
     
  9. BALADU

    BALADU

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  10. BALADU

    BALADU

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I read the manual,
    it's said that only have to click one oc ginie,
    it will overclock?
    where is the oc ginie?
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,429 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Oregon
    oc ginie is the software that came with your MB Its on the disk or your can download it. Most just use the BIOS and skip the software approach but you could try it. The reason I wanted you to read it because you may need to reset the BIOS at some point if you screw up. On the board there is a reset button or jumper

    I dont see it on the MB web site. Its the command center I think

    http://us.msi.com/product/mb/Z97_GAMING_5.html#support

    Anyway you dont need the software you can do it manually. Search youtube videos
     
  12. BALADU

    BALADU

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i use the command center to oc success,
    only have to click the oc ginie,
    and reboot the computer,
    the cpu will auto oc,
    it is so convenient,
    thank you!!!
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,979 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What a boring way to overclock.....
     
    Tallencor, xvi, Jetster and 2 others say thanks.
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,336 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yes but in perspective, some prefer to play and use their PC's versus spend hours tuning and OC-ing. I like to OC from time-to-time, but after so long it's much more entertaining to use the damn thing. Plus when you're a noob to OC-ing, watching a snazzy program or bios setting do it for you with the click of a mouse or push of a button is probably pretty snazzy until you realize that you can do it better.

    Glad you got it sorted OP. Wait till you step up to manual overclocking, that can get exciting, expensive, dissapointing, frustrating, fun, addictive, crazy and awesome all in the same night. :toast:
     
  15. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,841
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Right now, I'm considering spending more in fans for my radiator than I did on my first processor. Almost twice as much, actually.
    So, yes. This is accurate. Sadly accurate.

    My advice is to set back to stock and get out while you still can. While you're still free, maaan.
    (Just kidding. Raise multi until you BSOD, raise volts until you don't, repeat. Stop when it pops. Quit when it splits. Cry when it dies.)
    (Disclaimer: Don't actually raise voltage until either you are 1,000% sure you know what you're doing or you can live life without that computer.)
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. BALADU

    BALADU

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i try to increase the cpu clock from bios..
    it work!!!!!
    i'm made it!!YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!
     
  17. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,429 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Oregon
    lol

    Its easy now. Back in the day you had to know math and stuff
     
    xvi and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  18. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,841
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Back in the day, you had to click jumpers around. And that's the way we liked it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page