1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How will the 5870 do in real DX11 games????

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 20mmrain, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I know there is only a couple of ways to really tell this as of right now. I know there is the DX11 heaven benchmark out there also the ladybug one, as well as the Mecha one available too. Sure Battle Forge has some DX11 features......

    But if one had to guess how do you think it would do? Do you think it will actually be able to play DX11 titles at high levels?

    I go back and forth on this opinion what do you think???? Or do you think it will end up like DX10 was...... nothing could really play it a semi decent speeds until the 8800 came out a generation or two later?
     
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    lol
    the word guess about sums up this whole thread
    i wouldn't buy card because of DX11, but i would buy it because of low idle wattage and high performance
     
  3. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Just look at the benchmarks for battle-forge DX10 on a 5870 then compare it to benchmarks running DX11 and make your own conclusion.
     
  4. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Wait for a real DX11 game life dirt 2 to come out

    then you will find your answer
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,782 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    US
    Be better buying one for performance than power saving due to the cost of the card you will not make what it's actually cost to buy a 5870 back.

    But anyways "guess" is the key word for sure. Dirt 2 be out soon right ?. Not sure but if it supports DX10 too should be able to get some idea then.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,478 (12.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,171
    DiRT 2 is December 1st. :)
     
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    See I knew I would get comments like that. Not that you meant it in a bad way........ But if you look at the two benchmarks take example Battle Forge Benchmark and Heaven Benchmark you would get two different type of results. And know I don't mean because they are different applications.
    But you would likely get Higher Frame Rates in Battle Forge because it is a lot less graphically demanding or so I believe.(I don't own the game this is going by examples on the net)
    But in the Heaven Benchmark you have been seeing a lot lower FPS in that example.

    That is why I am asking this question. It's kind of hard to judge.

    Also don't get me wrong I love the fact that I can play any game out there with low power consumption and with very very high FPS. So I am not complaining.......and you are right DX11 in it's self is not a good reason to upgrade.
    But this is more of a topic to be put out there to see if anyone out there has heard anything I haven't. Maybe they have seen a preview or a review I haven't.

    Just a thought..... If not well than I will just wait til December 1st when Dirt2 comes out and find out than.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,478 (12.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,171
    Robert-The-Rambler says thanks.
  9. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    my expectations of next Nvidia cards (~January release, Fudzilla) - higher than 5870 performance, higher than 5870 wattage
    I'm guessing you are asking this because you want to know if Nvidia would be better :)
     
  10. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    you forgot more expensive
     
  11. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    and that too, for sure! :roll:
     
  12. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    625 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Have you tried the Stalker - Call of Pripyat(I think that is how it is spelled) benchmark? That game I believe fully supports DX11.
     
  13. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Nope sorry bud I am an ATI fan boy here:) Not that I haven't owned an Nvidia card before or would ever be opposed to owning another one. I just feel more comfortable with ATI :D

    I did not realize that Yes....... Yes I will try it thank you!
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,478 (12.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,171
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I guess I will end up buying it.
    My card does not come with Dirt2 :ohwell:
    At lease it was $30 dollar cheaper I guess. :respect:
     
  16. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    I would be happy to see a full DX10/10.1 engine that isn't a patched DX9 engine, like CryEngine, id Tech 5 and Unreal Engine 3..

    Damn you consoles, I want my kewl graphicz!
     
  17. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,622 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    true dat ToTTenTranz. i'm tired of all these dx10 titles that aren't near as good as they could be or as optimized as they could be due to dx9 patching horse muh-nargh! even though i run a 7800GTX lol
     
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Exellent for PS3 ports! :laugh:
     
  19. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,128 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    883
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    hey guys, one question does your HD5870 lag in the Heaven DX11 benchmark because I have been getting quite a bit of lag Im not sure why, when I first got it, it was fine but now it just lags, it only lags when Im in the town parts of the benchmark!
     
  20. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    maybe it's because of your crappy processor. :roll:
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,478 (12.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,171
    DirectX 10 is dead. We were all conned into buying really nice DX9 hardware for a while.
     
  22. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,128 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    883
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    yeah my processor is heaps crap, its outdated already, need to upgrade to an core i20 so i can play crysis 2 on low settings! lol! yeah but seriously i wanna know why its lagging, anyone else getting it!

    DX10 is dead, I didn't know DX10 was alive in the first place, cause it was so shit! hahahaha
     
  23. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    647 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    it is looking really good so far....

    After some time messing around with the tutorial I cranked up every setting I could with 4 1 gig 4850s and my Phenom II 920 rig scored a 66 FPS average at 1920 * 1200 without FSAA. It got a bit noisy. (4850 X2 plus two Radeon 4850s)

    The I7 920 rig I tested with two Radeon 4890s scored about 55 FPS with the same settings at 1920 * 1200. It was reasonably quiet.

    The game is such a gorgeous RTS and a good benchmark because the real performance I'm getting actually reflects true overall system capabilities. The I7 rig was only about 20% behind the Quadfire rig. Not bad at all.

    I don't think in Wizard's reviews he is using the highest settings for Battleforge. His numbers are much higher than I'm seeing. There are a lot of settings to play with. I'm a graphics whore save for FSAA so I have to turn everything else all the way. FSAA in an RTS is next to useless. It already looks so good at 1920 * 1200 on a 24" monitor that it simply is not necessary and when I enabled it on either rig the performance loss was not worth it at all.

    Thanks again for a really entertaining game/benchmarking utility that we all should embrace.:toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  24. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Hey Chaos,

    Do you have any aps running in the background? (i know thats a common thing people already know to check, but you'd be surprised how much it can affect benching)

    Also, try running the bench with HT off.

    And as far as your Nb, do you have a fan on it or just stock?
     
  25. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,128 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    883
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I noticed it happening when i installed the 9.11 drivers, when I had the 9.10 it was working fine, but i will try your suggestions, and I only got antivirius programs running in the background and I turn em off when I benchmark which isn't alot:ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page