1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I can't seem to find that perfect board.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Toothless, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,459 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,420
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    It will be

    FX-6300
    GSkill 16GB 1600mhz
    GTX 660 OC
    530w PSU
    And only one 1TB HDD.

    Missing piece is the board.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,573 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    If you want to overclock, why arent you looking at 990fx boards?
     
  3. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,459 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,420
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    OKAY, BUDGET IS OFFICIALLY CAPPED TO $130.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,097 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30,688
    flmatter says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,603 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    finally not being a (h3@p@$$
     
  6. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Since you have raised your budget i would suggest this board

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157479

    @d1nky had some great overclocking results with it (non killer version).

    Checkout the
    AMD FX OC'ers Club
    thread for more Informationen and results wich several boards


    check this thread:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/amd-fx-ocers-club.153443/page-50#post-2855928
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014
    d1nky says thanks.
  7. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    The sabertooth r2 would be my recommendation, best piece of kit at a good price!

    The new fatality 990fx isn't as good as the last imo
     
  8. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,459 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,420
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    So I'm looking at those two 990 boards, will probably pick the ASUS one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,573 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Also depends on quality of vrms. Asus could have high quality ones, but less phases.
     
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,151 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,058
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,091 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,210
    Location:
    Pune
  12. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,495 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
  13. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    709 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    If sli is not an option Gigabyte Ga-790-UD3 is a decent board, I had one for a while
     
    More than 25k PPD
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,091 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,210
    Location:
    Pune
    that board is more than 2 chipset generations old. Also all current 9 series chipset boards are SLI and Crossfire compatible.

    i think you have fallen behind quite a bit.
     
  15. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    709 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    He was asking for a cheap board and that board ran my FX 8320 fine and supports AM3+ - reason behind saying if sli is not an option is because that board runs one lane at x16 and sli in x4, 8+2 power as well. No I have not fallen behind just trying to give OP an option of a cheap good board to go long with original post of other 970 chipset boards.....



    EDIT- Just re-read entire post and 2nd Norton's post Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 is a good board
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2014
    More than 25k PPD
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,091 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,210
    Location:
    Pune
    he did say that he has upped the budget to 130. thats more than enough to procure a good board :)
     
  17. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    I think op has enough boards suggested now, if he wanna go big and OC to max, he have to invest on a good base.

    Else this gonna end up with a maybach with an 1.1 liter engine

    why choose 1600 ram if cpu supports 1866 ? This is the first bottleneck, 2nd psu is a bit to light on juice for later upgrade....... 3rd get an ssd

    Enough said :p
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,573 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That shouldnt even be considered a bottleneck. Its so small, its not even noticeable.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,091 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,210
    Location:
    Pune
    yeah 1866 ram wont make a difference other than making a bigger hole in the pocket.
     
  20. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    well a 5€ difference is noticeable :D

    [​IMG]
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  21. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    331 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    414
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Easier to clock up speed than it is to tighten down timings. Buy the CL 7 kit. ;)
     
  22. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,459 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,420
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Yeah, as for the RAM I didn't care for adding in another $5 for a small increase in speed.

    (Also I didn't get any notifications about any replies, sorry.)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)