1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

IB turbo limit problem on MSI Z77 MB

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by L'Eliminateur, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hello,
    after another thread i opened in the general forum in which cadaveca recommended to use the turbo multipliers to overclock and leave the base alone.

    My MB is a MSI Z77MA-G45 and CPU i5-3570K
    Raised the turbo mult to 43, disabled overspeed protection....
    AND NOTHING HAPPENS, the multi stays at x38

    any ideas?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,816 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,895
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    What happens with Overspeed enabled?

    Set power limits for long and short up, try 120 W/150 W. ALso make sure ot be using the most recent BIOS.
  3. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    latest bios is in
    i actually tested it first with overspeed enabled and then disabled it, no change.
    i'm gonna change the power limits and try....
  4. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    aaand nope, changed the limits to 125W and the exact same
  5. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    i could never get my z77 gd55 to play nice above x43 either with the turbo and power savings, i had to turn it all off to stay stable and lose those features if i wanted it to go faster.

    enabling pll overvoltage helps too btw ;)
  6. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i put x43 as a totally random value to get a starting point, but i'm not getting that either...
    guess i'll have to contact MSI support because i won't be disabling any of the power saving and clock throttling features to overclock this(i have no desire to regress 15yrs to the P3 age where core clock was fixed)
  7. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    try 4.2 the oc genie button seems to set all cpu to that on other msi boards.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,816 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,895
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Check thier forum for a different BIOS.


    Or ask Earthdog about his fun with the Z68 boards.


    :p

    And that about sums it up, I think.
  9. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    yes but oc genie AFAIK sets the core multiplier disabling all the power saving stuff


    @Dave "Or ask Earthdog about his fun with the Z68 boards." that doesn't sound good....

    i've searched the msi forum, no special bios found...
  10. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    not on mine, it just changed the multi to 42 and left everything else the same.

    it worked fine as this cpu will do 4.4ghz in other boards on vid.
  11. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    so you didn't lose C1E or any powersaving feature by using oc genie?
    because if you touch the base multi by hand, everything "saver" gets disabled, including turbo
  12. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    no, all oc genie changed on mine the multi to 42 so it turbo'd up higher.

    it wasnt that page it changed it on, it was the one up from that.
    L'Eliminateur says thanks.
  13. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i'm gonna try the oc genie when i get back home, to see what i touches and then adjust it by hand
  14. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i've activated oc genie(does not have any option) from control center(and checked it int he bios profile above).
    my cpu still won't go above x38, looks like oc genie did nothing, it left the turbo multipliers i had set as is, the only thing it did was disable C1E, i'm baffled...

    also tested suggestions according to msi forum, disabled C1E, raised long and short duration power limit.
    nothing... when i reboot the bios says "100x38" and it stays there even though i haven't selected X38 anywhere...
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,816 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,895
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    re-enable C1E, perhaps?


    DISABLE NOTHING!!!!!!



    :D
  16. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i already had C1E enabled and it didn't change above x38 that's why i tried OC genie super 1 button overCOCK... which did nothing
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,816 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,895
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :roll:

    There's an MSI rep here somewhere. Maybe ask him directly?
  18. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
  19. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    PM sent.... i've also opened it on the MSI forum hopefully i'll get this sorted
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    did you try loading the system to see if it changed?
  21. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well.. yes, it's the basic thing to do :)
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    just getting it out of the way. you would be surprised.
  23. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    YOU HAVE TO BE SHITTIN' ME SON!...
    found out and solved the problem after trying everything they told me to in the MSI forum and here...
    turns out the friggin cluprit wasnt' ANY of the settings mentioned in both forums, it was the stupid "Adjust CPU ratio in OS" arghhh, disabled that and everything started working, so i reenabled everything power-saving related and done, it's working like a charm...
    Stupid bios setting that shouldn't fuck it up like that...

    so far i'm testing x42, after monitoring temp and power dissipation i'll try higher, how far do you think i can go without much vcore, 4.5, 4.6?
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,816 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,895
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    'Tis what happens when you disable Turbo, as that option does. I warned you about screwing with my man, Turbo 2.0!!!....:Roll:
  25. L'Eliminateur

    L'Eliminateur

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i never disabled turbo Dave!, i had that setting enabled to have some control with msi control center and forgot about it(and looked harmless enough when doing these tests).
    that option does not disable turbo by itself, it just LOCKS IT to stock max turbo

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page