1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm still impressed with the old Brisbanes from AMD

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by trt740, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Trying to dig up a 8800 gt to complete his rig he currently has a 8500 gt
     
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Athlon X2 AM2 are great processors but they weren`t much of architectural improvement over 939 DDR400 ones and not to mention C2D that blast them away MHz vs MHz and top overclock vise basically in every category.
     
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    sure but they are cheap and plenty fast.
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    They were great CPU's. Just right for the non enthusiast crowd. My buddy still has my old X2 6000+. The rig is running XP and it runs amazingly fast.
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Well this Brisbane will do 3.4ghz at max default voltage 1.4v and thats wilth all 4 memory slots filled=4 gb of ram. What really seems to speed these chips up is increasing the fronside bus past 250. This chip runs very very cool and with new AM2 boards and mature bios they run very well. I haven't had it fail to reboot yet in this gigabyte board. I forgot how easy these are to overclock. http://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_Model.aspx?ProductID=2722
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2010
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    set it at 3.2 for everyday use and ensure your buddy knows to clean the machine every few months for dust.
     
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Good idea but it does 3.3 ghz at 1.35v 11x300 so thats what I think I will set it at and it seems to do very well compared to a stock 4000+. It also runs very cool.
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    ya i forgot in order to have 6400+ on a Brisbane you need to run it at a .1 clock tick higher than the Windsors.

    Im now stuck myself

    965BE vs 955 BE both are C3 cores, or wait for an Athlon II X4 BE with 4MB L2. (1MB per core vs 512KB)
     
  9. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    955 BE C3 same chip as the 965BE CE just locked at default one x lower so thats a no brainer. I'm going to sell my I7 rig here soon and drop down to a a AMD system using the extra cash for a 5970. It has been hard for me to do though because my current system is really great.
     
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have been playing with my father inlaws Am2 system while upgrading it and added a 8800gt to the mix. This systems has 4 GB of DDr2 800, the CPU is at stock 3.1ghz and video card setting are at stock aswell. It plays the hell out of all my games. All this talk about bottle necks is straight BS , it plays the hell out any current games. Sure you can get higher frame rates but 36 to 40 is plenty at near max settings . I'm selling the 6000+, however, not because I'm disatified but because I recieved a 7850 Phenom X2 sealed in the box for 32.00 shipped. The 7850x2 is really a 6400+ with more on chip memory and better memory controller. So I couldn't resist. You could also say it is half a Phenom1 quad that overclocks as high as a 6400+. It is the best dual core made for the Am2 rigs because it is more efficent than the 6400+ even though it runs at 2.8ghz. It really beats the 6400+ down when oced to 3.0 or higher. I feel if your board doesn't support AM3 this is your chip for sure.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I wished i could sell my AM3 rig to buy your I7 LOL
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    It fine, I have never added up my rig but I'm sure it retails for over a 1000 anyways and it would be a hell of a loss to down grade. However, using my father inlaws computer for day to day use shows very little performance drops compared to my own set up (in the real world). That just shows you how much overkill we all are using.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    True!

    I have a older P4 system that i have been messing with overclocks and it FEELS just as fast as my AM3 rig when opening stuff and doing normal tasks but i know if i did a benchmark then i would see the diffrence

    Example...

    Wprime 32 on P4 machine is 68 seconds @ 3.8ghz

    Wprime 32 on AM3 machine is 9.9 seconds @ 3.9ghz
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    I know where your comming from, check my specs, Im still beats people with "more powerfull" systems in certin benchmarks, check my posts in the streetfighter benchmark and the DX11 benchmark thingy (cant remember what its called), I'd still like to upgrade though :)
     
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm not talking benching I'm talking real world these Am2 chips for how old they are really well designed.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    true to that too!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page