1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i5 & i7 Sandy Bridge Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mudkip, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Chosen Juan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    C1E, C3, C6 and Package C are all disabled in the BIOS...hmm...oh well it's not a big feature for me but it would have been nice.
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,673 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,808
    Sorry, cant help you then. as soon as i built this pc i went straight into the advanced settings and OC'd this beast. didnt bother checking out all the other settings.

    I had blinkers on. everything else there didnt matter other then Vcore and multiplyers.

    -------

    It could be something to do with with the Turbo feature. and again im drawing at straws here as i havent made any effort to have a poke around the bios extensively
     
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    So got a brand new i5 2500k this morning, rig is up and running already, I don't waste time :p

    Now, how do I get this baby to 4.5ghz 24/7? is it just a case of raising the multi and vcore? anything else I need to check on, disable etc.

    What about turbo and power saving etc on or off? :toast:
     
  4. Chosen Juan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ahh it's alright, thanks. I'll worry about that later I guess, my main focus now is just getting it stable on low voltages. The best I have so far is 4.2Ghz on 1.2v, but that's only on 50 passes of IBT on Standard. Have yet to try Prime95 and gaming on it.
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,673 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,808
    try for 5Ghz :rockout::rockout: and if you smoke it, send it back and say it was sending smoke signals on arrival :pimp::pimp: and if they fob you off...drive up to their HQ and make their receptionst eat it like shredded wheat LIKE A BOSS :cool::cool:

    Do it!

    -----


    as for help with overclocking I followed this guide by bit-tech It was designed for the p67 chipset but the p67 and Z68 use more or less the exact same bios. I used this guide and i hit 4.9ghz in no time. complete build of and super oc in less then 6hrs. :rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  6. MakubeX

    MakubeX

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    [​IMG]

    i5 2500K
    5GHz 12hrs Prime Stable @ 1.368v
    Batch: 3101A156
    Mobo: P8Z68-V Pro
    Watercooling, room temp avg: 29C
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nice one, Makubex. is that with or without PLL Overvoltage?
     
  8. MakubeX

    MakubeX

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Without, I only needed to change the vcore for this OC. Every other voltage is on default (mostly Auto). You gotta love Sandy Bridge. :D
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, seems you got a good chip, there are many others out there not doing so well. I'm kinda jealous, actually.

    Volts are reasonable, clocks are sweet, what is your IMC volts?
     
  10. MakubeX

    MakubeX

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Not sure which one is IMC. Here's a screenie of some of the voltages:
    [​IMG]
    The CHB CTRL voltage not shown is also 0.5v.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    VCCIO is the voltage I was asking about. Thanks!
     
  12. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    holy shit, the fun of overclocking has been brutally buttraped and murdered by Intel all I did was go into my shiny uefi bios, click on cpu multi, set to 45 and set vcore to 1.325 and voila, 4.5ghz IBT/P95 stable at less than 60c :eek:

    Seriosuly though I have never had a cool chip, I had seen people with oloder i7's getting 4ghz at 70c though every older i5/i7 I have ever had has run at 80c+ OC'd but low and behold the sandybridge never goes above 58c at 4.5ghz :eek:
     
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Edit: oh and this SB beats the shit out of my old i7 860 OC to 4ghz at super pi when running stock 3.3ghz
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, the memory performance boost IS pretty damn impressive.
     
  15. Chosen Juan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I'm in the process of overclocking my 2500K right now and I was just wondering what settings I should change and what to leave (I've a read a few guides so far).

    These are my settings right now:
    CPU Ratio - 46
    Internal PLL Overvoltage - Enabled
    Intel SpeedStep Technology - Enabled
    BCLK - 100.0Mhz
    Spread Spectrum - Disabled

    DRAM - XMP Profile 1

    Power Saving Mode - Disabled
    CPU Core Voltage - 1.285
    CPU Load-Line Calibration - Level 1 (for my board, Level 1 overvolts at load, while Level 2 keeps it in sync, and the higher Levels up to 5 decrease at load)

    And everything else is at stock. Should I be messing with CPU PLL Voltage, VTT Voltage, VCCSA Voltage or any of that? Or should I just stick to multipliers and Core volage right now?

    Thanks

    EDIT: Also, I have Enhanced Halt State (C1E), CPU C3 State Support, Package C State Support, and CPU Thermal Throttling Enabled, those shouldn't affect my overclocks should they?
     
  16. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Is this true?

    This person from Hardforum makes a good point and gives me second thoughts about running my CPU above 1.4vcore.

    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1578688&page=2

     
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I am running stable now at 4.5ghz with speedstep and C states enabled, drops down to 1.5ghz on the desktop and 4.5ghz when I ramp up the CPU usage, seems the easiest way to keep power consumption down and also kick ass in games/video encoding. I am running 1.3vcore in the bios, haven't touched PLL, Vdroop or anything and haven't experienced any crashes whatsoever. Runs cool at 28-30c idle and 58c with all cores loaded 100% at 4.5ghz :toast:
     
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, of course. Why do you think I say loadline calibration should be left @ default, and Turbo should be used to OC? The amount of droop under GTL is a factor of the current consumed, so you should almost never actually be @ the votlage the VID references, due to how the VRM is designed.

    When you change, or enable "loadline calibration", you are running the CPU out of spec. Of course, the documents also consider reference cooling, etc, too.

    Just like how I'm one of few that hype actual default memory speeds, although boards and such offer higher or more settings; there is alot of info about how things work, that is widely ignored, because it gets users more speed/power. That's why I do not go really high in volts in my reviews, and why I use the speeds that I do for testing. I try to keep things reasonably within spec, and by doing so, I should also be posting scores and such that anyone can match, and verify.



    I mentioned that for clocking memory, for me, it seemed like skews needed adjsuting, then I found this:


    http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?2163-Overview-of-Clock-Skew

    I posted about 3 weeks before Raja did. I don't think he read my post...we just came to the same conclusions.

    There's alot more to clocking than simply setting voltages, and upping clocks...
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
    random says thanks.
  19. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    I'm about to make the jump to sandybridge and have been doing a little research in the process and am wondering why so many people seem to be pumping these 32nm chips with the types of voltage that most people would think twice about using on a last gen 45nm cpu like lynnfield, especially after seeing clarksdales dropping like flies.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm not pushing more...in fact, I'm using far less. Not too sure why others are doing exactly as you say...but I bet it's because of a combination of factors:

    1. Intel says max VID is 1.525v
    2. Temps prevent most users from actually going that high.
    3. Many people, myself included, are recommending to not go over 1.425v for 24/7 OCs.

    1+2+3= what's going on?
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  21. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Hmm I've never tried turbo ocing before but here goes nothing.

    I currently have my voltages all set to auto, all I've changed are the turbo speeds for all 4 cores to 45 and then I set the turbo power limit to 135.. Everything seems to be working great as the auto voltages seem to do ok with finding the stable load voltage of my CPU without overshooting it...

    LLC is disabled

    Anything I'm missing?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  22. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    I thought that the rule of thumb was the 1.4v was about what most people would try not to exceed on air since Wolfdale and Yorkfield which have proven to withstand more abuse than intel's 32nm cpus. I've been seeing too many threads and random reports like this. It's as if people are just pumping these cpus with the types of voltages that they have been for the past three years with Intel's 45nm processors without batting an eye.
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I think you must consider the source of your info...not that the info there is invalid, but you'd expect as much from there. People chasing the highest clocks and benchmark scores are gonna kill stuff; that's just a fact I've learned to accept over the years.


    But like I said...Of course, I don't use PLL overvoltage, don't use more than 1.35v, myself, and no LLC. Both of my CPUs do 4.5 GHz @ 1.3v or less(like @ stock volts), and I don't see much need for more. I'm not posting 5.5 GHz++ scores, with 2 cores, and HT off either, so take that for what you will.

    Not really. Looks like what I see most often, so seems good to me. You might need to up VCCIO for memory pseeds, but even then...not by much.
     
    random says thanks.
  24. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    hmm not sure how to do that on my board

    EDIT: nvm it is QPT/VTT voltage, I'll go on and do that now.
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,372 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,697
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    well, that's for mem, so if ya don't need it, don't give more! :laugh: 1600MHZ mem and up only need more.

    Tirbo OC's are literally that easy. Sad, but AWESOME!!!111!!!
     
    BababooeyHTJ and random say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page