1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Yorkfield 6GHz Sky-High Overclock

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    The OC guru, Shamino has broken the 6GHz (12x500MHz) clock barrier using Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 cooled with LN2 on a modded Foxconn Quantum Force board. Check out his achievement here.

    [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
     
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,454 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    that is pretty fast.
     
  3. Airbrushkid

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    173 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Why is cpuz showing 3002.2 mhz?
     
  4. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I think it displays the multiplayer wrong...I already hate cpuz for that reason, it shows my E6300 working at 6x multi for some reason. Last 3 new versions of cpuz didn't help fix the issue.
     
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Thats probably because you have speedstep, c1E, and/or thermal management on. It lowers the multiplier when not in use to consume less power.
     
  6. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    At 3.2GHz do you think I have the thermal managment on? ;) I'm aware of all the options you mention, but that's not the problem here. Lots of users have this issue with cpuz.
     
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Oh no, it is a Clockgen overclock, so it isn't valid. Everyone start flaming him.......
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Hmm, thats odd, your board might have something of it's own. I had all of those turned off and then found a reduced power option on my board that was doing it.
     
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I just disable C1E Support, have you tryed that ? I even have speedstep enabled I find it only works at default settings so try the dis. C1E it should work ;)
     
  10. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Just like I said...yeah I am aware of all the options and I've tried them all, no change. Anyways, my CPU works at 3.2GHz 24/7 I don't care what cpuz says.
    To be honest, my wrong cpuz freqs started from version 1.39, before this version everything worked right for me, with 1.38 I had no problems.

    P.S. btw this is Shamino's 6GHz thread, not my cpuz bug, stick to the topic. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2007
  11. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    SWEET, I wanna see some benchies
     
  12. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Meh only 6ghz, i can run faster than that.
     
  13. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Yeah, but this guy did it without heating up the neighborhood. Snap! ;)
     
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have got my highest clock using Easytune 5... I don't care how you get the OC all that i care about is what you are running at. You can get the clock anyway you want.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Did you just call me hot? :eek:
     
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    no i don't think he called you hot but he called your CPU hot but this is HOT!! [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    haha, nice pic. Amazing OC too, first 6GHZ I have seen verified.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  18. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    he only had 1.59 on the core... Surely a watercooled setup could handle that???

    Then again I know how hot the friggin quads get, even at 1.4v.....

    Superpi would be pretty quick on that thing... :)
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I doubt it was only 1.59. CPU-z tends to misread vcore when you pass a certain point.
     
  20. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    339
    I just want to see these kids play a game or use a 3d intensive application for two hours, then come back and tell us it's 'stable.'


    :)
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    liquid nitrogen, 2.5v probably, and most likely stable
    liquid nitrogen can do anything :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page