1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Interested in Folding. 2 questions:

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by xbonez, Dec 9, 2010.

1. xbonez New Member

Thanks Received:
    I have been intending to Fold for a while now but somehow never got around to doing it. I will start today for sure, once I get back from work. I have two questions though:

1. Can I simultaneously fold using my CPU and my GPU?

2. If I were to put together a PC dedicated to folding 24x7, what components would I concentrate at? I'm a college student (read: constantly broke), so it won't be anything high end. For such a system, I would only fold using either the CPU or the GPU. which of the two gives higher returns? I would accordingly invest more money into that. Apart from that, it'll have a cheap motherboard, possibly no case. No monitor, keyboard etc (I'll VNC into it). is RAM important?

2. Feänor

Feänor New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi.

1.Yes.

2.One of the cheapest setup is a dual-core, a decent motherboard with as many as possible pci-e slot and some nvidia gt 240 or gt 430 gpu. They're the best ppd/$/watt cards for folding. The psu must be powerful enough to feed the card, so do your homework if you pick a card with pci-e connector(s). On the ram side, a cpu folding with the -smp flag require around 100meg of ram. So i'd say that 512 mb per core is enough for a dedicated rig.

The best folding part is a core i7 overclocked to around 4 ghz. It produce around 28000 ppd for a 200-300w of power consumption. But it's the most expensive setup also. A bonus is 3 pci-e slot on any 1366 motherboard. If you can't afford the setup, the next option is many gpu.

Fold on!

3. mstenholm

Thanks Received:
    Welcome xbonez