1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is CL8 Worth the price?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Dolph, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Hey TPU,
    sorry if this seems to be a noobish question:

    I found this 1866 ram, and i know alittle about timings but, is 8-9-8-24 that much better than CL9? Especially for the Price increase.

    I will be ocing a 3570k IB i5, and like to keep memory performance as well.
    ... Possibly the i7 IB - E, we'll see if they come out with the Enthusiast 'Consumer' (lower price) ones.

    Heres what i was thinking about getting, at least 2 sets of these for 8gb.

    http://canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=24_311_312_613&item_id=035793
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,904
    You can get sets of RAM that are 1.5v cas 9 1866mhz bump the voltage to 1.6v like the RAM you linked to and get cas 8.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,780
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Simply...no, not worth it.

    BTW, grab 2x4GB for 8GB. Those Samsung will do jsut as well as any other kit, if not better. Review soon.
  5. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Hmm i will look to see if i can find that set at cc this saturday. Returning a doubly shipped (and double charged :( ) 520$ order, thought id pick up some stuff while im there. If not, i may just go with that ram. Might put a ram cooler on it anyhow, so looks dont matter too much.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,780
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    they got a sexy black PCB, not green, at least. But yeah...
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,780
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,687 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    US
    Cool been waiting for some one do a review on them, i have 4 sets my self and there all sweet.

    And no it's not worth the price. Be better of buying a SSD.
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmmm looked like the same model number?

    I will keep looking
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,780
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    look for this part number(white numbers is the single stick, black for the dual kit):

    [​IMG]


    Testing is complete as of last night, today and tomorrow i'll be getting the write-up finished, then when it fits into the publishing schedule, it'l lgo live.

    Attached Files:

    • hyt.jpg
      hyt.jpg
      File size:
      64.4 KB
      Views:
      235
    AsRock and MT Alex say thanks.
  12. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Perfect :) Its so surprising the potential of those sticks.
  13. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,124 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    I got CL8 G.Skill RAM when I did my build because it was marked down making it cheaper than the CL9 stuff >.<
  14. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Here's a review comparing different speeds and timings of memory on a sandy bridge platform: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4503/sandy-bridge-memory-scaling-choosing-the-best-ddr3

    It's about the same on and AMD platform.

    Short answer (as Cadaveca said) is No. It doesn't matter. And going above 1866 has very little impact as well. (you could argue that 1866 over 1600 is a negligible difference as well, but then, so is the price difference in many cases).
  15. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Take from my latest experience here.
    Buy those Samsung's
    Heck 2x[16Gb] the ram for Less than my 1 set [8Gb] 2133's :)
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,687 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    US
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,780
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page