1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my mobo defective or my gpu?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Punar, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi again guys, I RMA'd the motherboard and the graphics card and turned out that both were defective...:confused: so i got a new gpu and motherboard and just ran a stress test on the system... everything works fine!!

    Thanks for all your suggestions and help. At the very least I learned a bunch of new stuff

    One more question... isnt there a solved button or something on here?
     
    Law-II and d1nky say thanks.
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,613 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Glad you got it sorted out. There is no "solved" button. However you can ask a mod to close the thread.
     
    Punar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    So after a day or so of running the computer it started to do the same thing with the sound... my monitor has built in speakers, if i connect with the hdmi the sound cuts out every 5 or 10 seconds for a couple seconds. If i connect with the onboard sound there is static at all times although the more load is on the gpu the louder the static gets... if i'm just working in windows i can barely hear it, but if i game it gets ridiculously loud. the more intense the graphics the louder it is. some games its so loud that i cant even hear the sound from the game lol.
    anyway I've tried to reinstall windows, install the drivers that came with the card and latest drivers and the whql drivers... i did notice that when the gpu driver isn't installed there is no static. lol just now noticed that there is static when i scroll on a white page... weird...

    Since this is a new board and gpu i doubt that the hardware is defective... i am however wondering if its just the board not liking the gpu or the other way around... just thought somebody on here might have had this problem and might be able to say heey i remember that... just take this magic little pill and your problems are gone :)

    if any of you could help i would be a very happy camper

    PS. i of course had the onboard sound disabled when connected via hdmi
     
  4. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Lighting doesn't oft strike twice, you're psu is half dead and now has killed another mobo and gfxs all imho.

    It sounded like the psu from the start to me because, , ive been there.:(
    And for clarity that was with my main rig and a corsair 850tx psu (decent) the Q6600 and mobo are still with me but not of any use, I keep meaning to throw the mobo but its like an old pet dog I loved a bit too much.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    interesting... i mean its all new... but if it was the psu frying the components wouldn't it have fried the other gpu i tested in it too?? it works fine in the old and the new machine...

    is there any way to test the psu?
     
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    You can purchase a psu tester, check volts with a multimeter , are you sure you built it up right as a shorted pillar or something could have similar effect.
    And psu's can fail in many ways and act strangest near there limits, the 850 tx should have been enough and was upto a point but after random reboots then odd whining the cpu/mobo died the psu imho had too much on one of its outputs and due to my big oc the fluctuations were critical in the end.
    In this case the psu still lives ?,,, yes I know but it had adequate protection and now isnt as loaded(even half as much (watts)) in the second rig I have listed and

    I know its that(my psu 850 tx) because it then did the same with my present cpu/mobo (main) so I swapped it out (new psu)now all good.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I have built many computers but i'm not going to claim that i cant make mistakes... and what is a pillar?
     
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    The posts the motherboard screws onto ,into its case.
    if one Touches the wrong point (ie mounting hole) it will kill stuff
    Sorry I mean All the posts Nead to align with a screw hole and definitely not onto the pcb.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yes i am certain of that as i have taken out and rma'd the board twice now... if they were not in the holes they are supposed to be i would have noticed it at the very least the third time.
     
  10. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so what you're saying is that the psu is giving out too much power? (put simply) i am no elctrician but my logic tells me if that was the case then anything i plugged it to would burn out... and not only vertain parts... just hit me, is it possible that the board and card doesnt like each other? lol
     
  11. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    just looked at the compatibility list on http://www.service.asus.com/#!Downloads/c1wax the card is not on the list but come on there's only like 20 cards on there.... most of them being very old cards... can it really be true that this newest model board only works with old crap gpu's?
     
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Anythings possible ,, technically and no the psu is probably not putting out enough volts or current, intermittently blipping either or not supplying a clean enough supply on either 12 / 5 or 3 volt lines. All have importance.

    I doubt its compatibility , have you tried bare building it on a benchtop or box
     
    Punar says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes i did... its in a completely different case now... i talked to asus tech support and they claim that the gpu is not compatible with the mobo so i'm going to replace the gpu and hope that fixes the problem.
     
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Wow , never heard of anything like it , good luck and sorry I didn't help.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,914 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Asus support is pretty bad at the moment. There is a case going on at the moment over at [H] where a guys (stock) 7970 caught fire and was refused RMA due to physical damage!
     
  16. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    got a evga gtx 660... everything seems to be working fine now (have given it a couple days) only nuisance is, there's a whining (maybe a coil getting overcharged?) coming from the gpu... the heavier the graphics the louder it gets. I've looked around on several forums and apparently its normal on these "high end" gpu's... can this be true?
     
  17. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Just want to put my oar in, imo, don't know why anyone thinks it is the PSU, that is a good PSU and more than enough for his system. If it had been an old one, maybe so but it's not.

    Just get a multi tester on the PSU, check the 12 and 5v lines and look for any fluctuation on the voltages.

    Personally I find with PC hardware, it either blows up or dies when you first try it, or it lasts for years with no problems.
     
  18. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i don't have a tester but i have tried 2 different PSU's in the system and it still has the noise... so I'm going to guess that it isn't the psu... and since this is the third gpu I'm going to assume that it isn't the gpu either... its the third motherboard as well... i am officially clueless now... i cant imagine its the case, but is it possible for it to be caused by the ram or cpu??
     
  19. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,561 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    So wait just to clarify. The problem you now have is...?
     
  20. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    lol whitelotus... i totally get you... i am so sick of this i am starting to wish that i had never built this system... the problem i'm having now is CONSTANT whining sound from the computer. Not sure if its the gpu or psu or mobo but the noise is from the hardware... and if i run an intense enough game the whine does come out the speakers.
     
  21. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,561 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Sounds like it could be electrical background noise (I'm pretty sure that's a thing) could simply try a different cable from computer to speakers.

    If not then perhaps capacitor whine, good luck trying to identify which capacitor though.
     
  22. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    well i have it connected with hdmi now and its there tried to use the onboard sound too, same thing... i can deal with the noise while gaming since the game sound is overpowering it, unless its a very demanding game, then it comes out the speakers... what gets me is the constant whining no matter what i'm doing.... even writing this post its whining...
     
  23. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,561 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Maybe its shitty speakers. I think I read you use monitor speakers and those things are usually pretty naff.
     
  24. Punar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i have tried with some bose speakers... same problem besides the sound is coming from the hardware
     
  25. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,426 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    CZ
    You have problems with EMI. I'm pretty sure that the source is the gpu because the card has zero 16v input filtering caps and the power trace for the vram passes right next to the hdmi out. And is located above the onboard audio section of the motherboard.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page