1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Can I be brutally honest? Laptops aren't really made for folding@home. Really its a desktop's work. It puts it on strain 24/7 and laptops in reality can't hack that. Thats why after I LAN game with my mates for few hours I then leave my laptop off for about 2 hours before I do anything again with it. Laptops that aren't designed to game aren't designed to fold.

    EDIT: Oh yeah! 6 stars!
     
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    i could beg to differ, lol. one core at 100% isn't that hot for me. i just choose to try and not kill my laptop, im too poor to get another pc till i go to college (well, not me, my parents are too cheap :roll: ) maybe one day i'll run into 1500 sitting on the side of the road....
     
  3. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Its also the HDD's I worry about. They're far more fragile and have such a lower worklife than desktop drives. Remember they may be partially designed to take some impacts but constant data reading/writing is tough on them
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2007
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
     
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    very true. does folding really make your hdd work that hard? and as far as the hdd, that's why i love 2 gb of ram, the hdd never has to access the page file, except when im gaming, running something like prime, or photoshoping. it really helps, now if only they raised the fsb on these things (yeah, yeah i know santa rose is up to 800 mhz, but amds HT wins by far in laptops) are notebooks really that sensitive to reading/writing on the hdd? i was under the impression that it really was the same as desktops, keep the temps nice and cool, and you'll be fine.

    @nflesher: i can't think of anything...you think that dells and apples have the same motherboard manufactures and similar bios? if you think so, try this program I8kfanGUI, it sounds weird, but it works really well for me.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2007
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Yeah they've got much lower worklives. I presume its because they're on a smaller scale but running up to the same speeds so that slowly wears them. I don't pretend to be an expert, but have you ever wondered why HDD failure is the third most common found problem with laptops (after spillages and dropping it!)
     
  7. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    i was thinking more along the lines of the same reason why my first one died. the heat problem involved with spinning something at 1000's of rpms and the high heat. that, and slight movements screwing up the hdd's, i wonder how ibm/lenvo's thinkpads hold up as far as hdd. they run cool (parents have them) and they also have a handy program that stops the hdd if it detects too much movement.
     
  8. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Thats because they're designed as business workhorses. Thats why for what they are IBM's are not that cheap. They need to be reliable because of the no doubt v important info that goes o them. However both my Dad's work IBM's died from HDD failure.
     
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    well here's the deal, neither speedfan nor that one did anything, I tried setting them both and there was no temperature change or audible fan operation...poop on a stick...:shadedshu
    and when I turn off F@H the temps drop down to about 62C within 10-15 seconds!
     
  10. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    well, not suprised about the last part. when my cpu kicks up to 2 ghz from 1 ghz there's a 2 C change. i think the macbook has a super bad design (not to bash macbooks, just too thin, and not enough fan turning on) i guess you must have googled apple fan control a long time ago.

    @theonetruewill: that makes alot of sense. both of hdd failure? how old where they? my parents are about 1 year old, i think.
     
  11. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    My advice, ditch folding@home until you get a desktop.

    I'll leave you in the hands of chang, it's 1:35am here and I've got an exam tomorrow
     
  12. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    good luck on the exam. and ty for thinking imcompetent :laugh: j/k im not that bad, just never oc'ed a cpu before :p
     
  13. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    inspiron 6400/e1505

    so
    i have a dell inspiron 6400 its the same as the e1505 (i think)
    but is there any way to oc it?
    ive tried clock gen,systool keeps crashing, nhc wont work so i cant check that out

    any ideas?
     
  14. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    one, get the new nhc (go to the site and re-download, and nhc doesn't oc, just undervolts). two, what's your specs? three...i've tried, haven't been able to do it yet. four did you get I8kfanGUI to control the fan speed? it's really good.
     
  15. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut

    ya i figured that out, i just re downloaded it
    my cpu is a 1.6ghz core duo
    i have an ati mobility radeon x1400
    and 2gb or 533mhz ram

    ive used i8kfangui on my old inspiron 6000, it worked pretty well

    so has anyone else oc'ed a dell laptop?
     
  16. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    as far as i know, no one has. i can oc the vid card but that's it. i've tried clock gen, and i don't think systool works either. so im in the same position as you.
     
  17. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    ok this is really wierd
    so im using the fan control program thing u were talking about
    and i put the fans on high
    my cpu is being oc'ed by 5-10 mhz
    wats going on lol
     
  18. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    o and when i try to use ati tool
    i click on the meter to oc it
    and it just goes back to where it was originally when i click set speed or what ever
     
  19. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    you're first post, idk why it's 10-15 mhz, but i know that when my cpu is at a certain multiplyer it's possbile for the fsb to slightly vary. that's what causes the "oc" ati tool...i use powerstrip and the artifact scanner from ati tool, there may be a way around the ati toll problem though. (oh and if ati tool tells you stock is like 1000 some mhz high, that's wrong, lol)
     
  20. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut

    ya when i saw it say it was past 1ghz i was like :eek:
    it was wayyyy off
     
  21. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol that's what i was like...i was like SHIT!!!!! my card's going to expload!!!!!!
     
  22. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Look, I don't mean to sound condescending in anyway, but have you tried ati tool 0.24. I siad to use it on the first page. The first page is where most of the guides are located. There is also a detailed guide there on there on how to oc troublesome video cards.

    For further research into oc'ing your laptop try CPUFSB or the full version, CPUCool
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2007
  23. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    well i didnt really want to go looking for it so i used powerstrip for ocing and ati tool for artifact scanning
    i was able to oc its around 110mhz on the core and about 60mhz on the memory and i gained around 10-20 fps on the css video stress test
    but anyways cpufsb doesnt work for me in vista, when i restart my computer or iafter i close it the first time and i try to open it up again it always says it stopped responding, so i cant use cpufsb and im not going to pay for the full version cpucool
    the clockgen didnt really work
    besides im a using a dell, does any1 else have any ideas????
     
  24. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    oh yeahh i forgot about verision .24 woops, sorry frankie.
     
  25. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    ok well i have some wierd data here
    with screenshots to prove it
    my cpu went from 1600mhz to 1668mhz on its own
    [img=http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/4250/1668mhzta6.th.jpg]
    [img=http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/4250/1668mhzta6.jpg]
    i also was able to oc my gpu using power strip 104mhz on the clock clock and around 50 mhz on the memory clock
    w00t i gained an extra 10 fps in the css video stress test :D
    [​IMG]
    [img=http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/7375/ocgpudq0.jpg]
    the only reason im posting two links for each pic is because i dont no which will work
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page