1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Let's Talk FX 8000 Series and PII X6's

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Xenturion, Aug 11, 2012.

1. Xenturion

Thanks Received:
    Well, first off, I'll introduce myself, Xenturion (or Dake on WCG). I joined the TPU WCG team about a week ago. I've been crunching for WCG for nearly 2 years now and it's something I really enjoy. When I saw that the TPU team does so well and read some of the forum posts in this subforum, I realized that there were other people out there as passionate about it as I am. So, I joined the team. And here I am.

However, as the title states, I want to talk team Red. Currently, I've got an i7 920 @ 3.5Ghz, a Core i5 2400 running at work, and a A6-3400M @ 2.0Ghz that I really need to work on having up and running more often. Even still, I've got the system builder bug (as many of us do), and I find myself constantly dreaming up my next rig. Seeing as my 920 @ 3.5Ghz is still plenty for games, I'm not really looking to supplant my main rig. More I'm considering it as a media center or guest computer.

I want to build an AMD machine because I tire of the rather ridiculous business practices of Intel. (Namely epic price-gouging, a role as platform executioner, and an insistence on consistently having two competing platforms ) I'm also a bit of a sucker for the underdog, and, to be honest, I don't want to see AMD slip away; The only thing keeping Intel from charging us a left testicle for their platforms and CPUs is good ol' Big Red.