1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to buy a video card, help please.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by fxu, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    fxu says thanks.
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    fxu says thanks.
  3. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So is that 5770 better than the 4870? If you go by the pricing, it seems it should be the other way around.

    Also, it says it's PCI Express 2.1 x16, looking at my specs, the ones I have are 2.0 Does it matter? What's the difference?

    Liking that 5770 since it supports DirectX 11 while the 4870 doesn't.

    Although I never mentioned it, I figured it would be a dead giveaway with 6gb ram but, I have a 64bit Windows. It won't matter right?


    What's the difference between these two?:
    SAPPHIRE 100283L Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 1...
    PowerColor AX5770 1GBD5-H Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-b...


    I am confident that I will be going with this PSU:
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3276573&CatId=1483

    650W and Lifetime Warranty while the OCZ is 550 and I have to buy the Warranty.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    The 5770 performance is higher than 4870 and its mix between gtx260 and 4890 performance if i'm right.
    Also the difference is that the powercolor has a single slot cooler and if its 2.1 pcie then it should be backward compatible but i'm not sure,also the sapphire is the original reference design and it appears the sapphire to be cheaper after rebate than the powercolor i would get that then.
     
    fxu says thanks.
  5. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I would get the corsair 400w psu over that ultra psu.
     
    fxu says thanks.
  6. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The 400W Corsair seems nice coming at $30, but I'm also looking at the future a bit. Also the fact that the cards being posted here say they require 450W.
     
  7. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Yeh Corsair is actually so up top notch with the quality FXU

    That they underrate there power supply's. Literally.

    That 400watt will power stably up to 550w loads. And be Just fine.

    I mean 550 watt full loads, Which is a i7 and a decent card like a HD 4850-HD 5850
    Maybe a GTX 260.

    But Id grab a Corsair 550watt.


    When you buy a Corsair Power supply, It comes in really high end packaging, The Plat Sticker, Quality, Warranty, and mine came in a Bag if I were to swing over to a lan party with a 750watt TX Psu.

    And it almost amazes you at first that a power supply could be so well packed, Then be so high quality.

    Dosnt skip a beat.



    Also Corsair Power supply's have,
    *of coarse built in over-surge protection, so it keeps your hardware safe.
    *The fan keep spinning after shutdown to continue to cool the power supply even when the computer isn't on because if you think about it, It'll still be warm after shutdown.
    *no 12v-5v-3.3v line noise so you get completely stable power.
    *only 1 12v rail to evenly distribute power and you don't have to hassle figuring out the right 6-pin connectors for your high end card in the future.
    *extreme packaging quality.
    *extreme warranty up to 5 years.

    and on and on and on. Great Power supply's from them.
     
    fxu says thanks.
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,848 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Location:
    Texas
    This is so true. Since I grabbed my TX850 I haven't looked back. I have used a few PSU manufacturers in the past, and Corsair and Enermax are some of the best I have used.
     
    fxu says thanks.
  9. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Hands down that power supply will be perfect for you.

    And the video card to.

    YOU WILL BE IMPRESSED WHEN YOU GET THEM! Excellent!

    Ohhh ya itll be enough for your setup.

    PS ive seen that very power supply- power dual HD 5770's a couple of hardrives 8 gbs of ram and a q9550 overclocked.

    that 550tx is basicly on par or past 650-700watts on the market.
    Corsair is just extremely high quality man, no joke :laugh:
     
    fxu says thanks.
  11. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Don't you mean a DVI to VGA adaptor? you should get one with the 5770 and the corsair 450w is an excellent choice.
     
    fxu says thanks.
  13. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, crap. I found the dimensions of the card (6.5 x 2.5 x 10.5 inches) after some googling... took the measurements of my case. I can mke the 10.5 inches fit, but the others :\ I have 4x1 inches (the slot) I am a noob so maybe I'm wrong. But can anybody check if that card will fit in my case? (HP Pavilion p6310f)
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    For 1024x768 max, go with a 5670, save your cash and not worry about buying a new power supply.
     
    fxu says thanks.
  15. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You learn something new everyday (yesterday was many things). I think I'll be needing a low-profile (or half-height?) video card.

    I am at a standstill here :( Small case is ruining my day! If you guys want I can provide pictures of the case/slot.
     
  16. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is done.

    CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Cert...
    ASUS EAH5750 FORMULA/2DI/1GD5/A Radeon HD 5750 1GB...

    I was going to go with the 5770 but it pushed it to to $230 (with shipping), after MIR it would be $210. Way over my budget. So I decided to go one lower and go for the 5750.

    This set was $215 (with shipping), after MIR it will be $175. The card fits in my case and it meets my needs & wallet.

    Thank you everyone for your suggestions. You've helped me a lot and I've learned a lot from this. Now, my most feared part is to come (putting it together), but I'll hop on here if I have any troubles (if that's ok with you guys ;))
     
  17. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Yeah. I thought you were talking about the ultra PSU having a bad fan and thinking it was awesome. Corsair is amazing. I didn't read things through correctly.


    Those are great choices. 5750s are zippy cards and that PSU is more than enough to push it. :D
     
    fxu says thanks.
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if you have any problems putting it in then we will be happy to help.
    I don't think you will run into any problems but if you should then come on here and we will walk you through it.
     
    fxu says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Phew. I didn't see how much the 5750 needed on the Specifications page :p

    Thanks. I did some googling and found this beauty:

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...ry&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=4107914

    and this:

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...ry&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=4107914


    It's exactly for my computer (pavilion p6310f). I think I'll be fine, but if not, you'll see me again within 3 days :D
     
  20. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hahahaha, well, I am dumb. I didn't know a video card could take up 2 actual slots (on the back of the computer, while only using one PCIe).

    The more you know ...---*

    I could've bought the 5770... but this is good anyway, it was too much money :p Anyway, it'll arrive here the 11th.

    Sorry about the double-posting >.>

    (There's a vb mod that merges two consecutive posts)
     
  21. fxu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, well it's here and I already put them in. Works perfect.

    I did notice the case got a bit warm, and I only have one fan on the case (that's what I get for buying prebuilt stuff). Anyway, would something like this do the trick to help the airflow in there?

    EVERCOOL SB-F1 PCI Slot Case Cooler

    The air from the card is blowing right to the PSU, and the air from the PSU into the card I'm guessing? (or does the fan under it suck the air and blows it outside?)


    Also, I think I fudged something while switching. The DVD drive stopped working :( Sucks, cus this was a replacement (that arrived 3 days ago) to an already broken dvd drive. Calling HP tomorrow and see what's up (still am in the 90 day warranty). When I first opened the drive, it made such a squeal, that something had to break. BIOS recognizes the drive, so does Windows. But it doesn't read/write.

    Sorry for so many consecutive posts >.> But it's the only way to bump the thread.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page