1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

mem usage 3.7+GB on desktop....

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by oli_ramsay, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Something fishy is going on..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    It doesn't add up... As soon as I switch on my PC the ram fills itself up with..???? IDK what

    should I o a virus scan or just reinstall windows?
     
  2. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    LOL, either you are running a load of power consuming applications (very much doubt that) or you would have a virus on your PC (I feel almost certain about that, although I'm surprised that it is using that much RAM, so much for being undetectable).
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i would run a virus scan and see what it brings up, but that depends on how long its been since a clean install. If its been over 6 months then i would just wipe it out. I do that because i like a clean OS install every so often.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,767 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Hey, download this: http://soluto.com/

    I use it to time and watch what loads during a reboot/cold boot windows load. This is one handy program, and it's the lazy man's way to MSConfig. lol. What I really like is the fact that it submits your actions to the startup program genome (of sorts)..and shows you what others have done with similar programs. Might show you something that's loading worth disabling.

    I'd run a Malwarebytes quick scan first, then a quick virus scan...how old is this windows install? Do you think it's been happening for a while and you just noticed, or did it just start happening? Have you checked Event Viewer to see if anything's come up?
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    currently doing a full system scan with avast (quick scan bought up nothing).
     
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    It may be worth cleaning your temp files (virus could be originally in that location) I personally like to use Ccleaner and even though I don't hear anyone else mention much of it now days I find Spybot S&D to be great tool for getting rid of the crap on any Windows PC.
     
  7. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Nothing found, just gonna format and reinstall...

    very strange to say the least...
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,609 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,229
    Could you turn on the Peak Working Set tab and see how much memory programs did use? Maybe it's some program that doesn't free up the RAM properly.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  9. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Just restarted an it's gone away for now, I'll reinstall as oon as it plays up again though. Also turned that tab on
     
  10. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Maybe it's just Superfetch. Superfetch over time will use all 8GB over time same with the laptop here we have. It's just caching the most likely to be run programs.
     
  12. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Did you disable Windows page file?
    That would use more ram for sure...

    Better let windows manage the page file especially Windows 7 which really does a great job at managing it.

    If you didn't disable the page file than it is a software , an update running in the background or a virus , check in your Programs & Features & see if you got something install that shouldn't be there?
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
  13. Boyfriend New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    160 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    1. Check Goodman page file point
    2. Run CCleaner/Other junk cleaning utility
    3. Run a virus scan preferably with bootable CD (my choice will be Kaspersky)
    4. Check startup entries and disable all unnecessary services
     
  14. Driftking

    Driftking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Malta
    I had this problem with Windows Media Player library Network. Try looking for thw WMP Network process and closing it. There was some fix for it on google.
     
  15. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    No idea, the problem went away on it's own :confused:
     
  16. Tyrael

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    274 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Its a memory leak from Windows 7 and one of your svchost.exe is acting strange....:twitch:
    One of the is using 129.xxx K of memory. That is creepy... but, that is normal and I have the same. This must be kernel overload from the operating system core.

    Secondly, Azureus.exe... are you using torrent? That is one resource hog! Ouchy...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page