1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows 8.1 Is Now Available

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    742 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Marketing as has been said before,....Nomenclature is arbitrary though and at the discretion of Microsoft,...

    However, while I have seen service packs add new features in the past its not something I think of as typical whereas Windows 8.1 does add some new features (regardless if these are desired features or not). Also note that Windows 8.1 was released about one year after Windows 8 which suggest this is Microsoft's interpretation of their cited annual OS upgrade cycle. Therefore it stands to reason that there will be two more OS upgrades such as Windows 8.2 and Windows 8.3 before they truly move on to something akin to Windows 9 or some truly new version. Assuming calling something that it isn't really is the trend,.....
     
  2. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Just finished upgrading from Win 8 Pro x64 to 8.1....
    All my applications, games, printers and you name it - all things are working just fine
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,984 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,535
    Yeah a friend of mine just upgraded and everything works fine also. He said he gained 13gb. Ill have to check it out tonight.
     
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  4. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I gained about 4 - 4.5 GB - still good, SSD space is still expensive :)

    Remember to run the cleanmgr.exe command afterwards - to delete the old Win installation...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    It's easier to find the desired program you want on Windows 8 vs. any Windows version before it. I'm sick of hearing this start menu argument. Oh it's not business acceptable because the start menu doesn't appear as prior. Lol what a joke... Surface tablets are going to be the best choice for businesses and they run Windows 8 Pro and RT. You would do best to get used to it and quit living in the past because Windows isn't leaving enterprise for the foreseeable future.
     
  6. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Upgrade went fine and smooth on all 5 systems here, nothing I needed to reinstall. I do have a windows.old now, but it's "only" 4,3GB's. I suppose I can just delete it anyway. Furthermore, it took quite a while on my GF's surface RT lol, but that's just that slow tegra 3 being the bottleneck I suppose.

    The only downside I now have is the obligatory start button. I don't need it, and can't delete it without using 3rd party programs and eventhough I'm not exactly short on task bar space, the fact that its obligated while from a functional point of view its totally irrelevant is quite a good reason to atleast give the user a choice i'd say!

    Ohwell.
     
  7. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    run the cleanmgr.exe (and click "Remove systemfiles") - it will remove all clutter from the upgrade - and it will be more than 4.3 GB...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,947 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,359
    I left it to download the update when I left for work today, but I'm not excited about having a start menu back in there, as I've become very used to being without it. I suppose I shall see later tonight
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thnx, and it really is only 4,3GB. I double checked, and since I only have a small 120GB SSD I would've noticed if it was more I'd suppose.

    Edit: Also another really annoying point I just came across: to complete the setup procedure I apparently MUST first login using an email/password combo :S. After I logged in with my usual login/password it only gives me the option to also login with an email/password combo. Really crappy. the next time around I might give Linux an even bigger chance(or get some server variant of windows). This is on pro btw.

    Edit2: regarding obligatory email linking with local account: If you click " I'm not *stated account*" it'll skip everything and just go to the standard windows login which you can use without having to put in an email.
    This is still quite lame though.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    i invite you to visit my workplace. there well over 300 employees who have a desktop in their office running windows 7. if you were to upgrade to window 8 i guarantee 80% of them would be completely lost. it would be a nightmare for our User Services department. we are not alone. the interface change is the #1 reason why businesses are not switching to windows 8.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  11. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,336 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    so sorry for upsetting some, but I started to update my 8.1 Preview computer. Later, when updating the stock win 8 I noticed that all programs stood in place.
    One less issue for some! :)
     
  12. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I've clicked the upgrade link and while the Windows Store does launch, it just sits on the main screen. Anyone else getting this?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,947 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,359
    Any chance your user account control is set to off? I had to turn it back on in order for it to start.
     
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Crap - just found out that the Citrix Receiver is not working...at least not with IE....but works with Pale Moon....odd Citrix is owned by Microsoft as far as I know...
    Maybe an update to the receiver will help...

    Yes - updated the receiver from 4.0..... to 4.0.1.4 - then it works.....
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    564 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Windows 8.1 general availability through retail is available tomorrow (Oct. 18). Today it is only available as an update for existing Windows 8 users.

    Give it time, Microsoft's servers are getting hammered right now.
     
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Lol. Businesses don't just upgrade whenever a new OS is released. You're talking about an OS (and interface for that manner) that is barely in its life cycle. Businesses upgrade based on other factors. Your company isn't just going to upgrade to 8 because Windows 8 is the newest and coolest thing. That's not how it works in enterprise.
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,044
    Does Start8 work with 8.1?
     
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You know what makes it even stupider? Just look at how Amazon does it. The answer is right there.

    Beautifully designed website makes it a breeze to shop at. Couple that with superb customer service and you have a very efficient wallet emptying machine. I should know. :laugh:
     
  19. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Yes version 1.30 does
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,243 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yes, it does. They put out an update about 6 weeks ago that was ugraded specifically for 8.1!


    EDIT: Sorry, Vulcan! I answered before getting to the end of the thread to see if anyone else answered.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  21. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Well it all seemed to go well untill i tryed to play some music and realise i have no bloody sound and i can't seem to fix it. Back to windows 7 for me as i cant be arsed with 8 anymore had enough of it.

    And yes i have tryed uninstalling drivers and reinstalling and also letting my card use the windows driver to but nothing works and i refuse to use my shity onboard sound chip.
     
  22. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    My laptop upgraded from Windows 8.1 Preview (UAC off) to Windows 8.1 Pro without a problem, only took about 20-30 minutes to download and 10-20 minutes to install the update, all of my programs were removed of course, don't really use 'Apps'.

    Haven't bothered to actually activate it since I'm hoping Valve is going to release SteamOS next week when they begin giving out the Beta 'Steam Machines', and I intend to use my laptop to test it like I have Windows 8 and 8.1, though mainly the streaming function.

    You know traditional Windows supporters say the samething about the start menu, guess now the Windows 8 fans and the traditional Windows fans have something in common, they both have to use a mod to make Windows 8.1 like they want it or stick with the older versions, Windows 7 and 8. :laugh: Of course this could be avoided if Microsoft would just do the one thing their customers want and make Windows 8/8.1 more customizable so Windows users can set it up how they want, whether it is a more classic style or a more mobile style or a mix.
     
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    uh, when did i say businesses upgrade whenever a new OS is released? if windows 8 continues to utilize the metro interface even years down the road you won't see businesses upgrading. you will in fact see them skip windows 8 and wait for a much more business friendly windows 9 which is already in heavy development.:nutkick:
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just installed the 8.1 upgrade and it saved all my apps and my start8 still works like a charm. I suggest the upgrade if you have non legacy equipment.

    Should I delete windows.old?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    delete windows.*
     
    qubit says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page