1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows 8.1 Is Now Available

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    8.1 supports DX 11.2
    Black.Raven says thanks.
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok now that i have got home and started testing I have noticed that my dolby digital home theator V4 no longer works (maybe a reinstall?) and it is not automatically connecting to my wifi when the PC boots I have to manually click on the SSID and put in my key.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Don't manually delete windows.old folder. Just run disk cleanup and it will take care of it.

    It's funny that downloading took less time than installing .....
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,724 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    It's a good idea to delete and redo wifi profiles anyways to clean up any issues that may arise.
  5. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,952 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,939
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    You have two comps in your specs. It's the 920 build that has been a bane to your existance, recently, no?

    I happened to notice that your motherboard is not one I commonly see in people's specs. At least not frequently.

    Am I alone in thinking software may not be the major contributor to your ails? IDK, just an observation.

    :confused:

    AnnCore just went through a bunch of issues crunching and it turned out to be hardware, namely a bad RAM stick. ...Maybe?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Now I am getting this...

    [​IMG]

    Maybe this was not a good idea..
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    841 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    no option to

    [​IMG]

    Already tried the "take ownership" reg file on the C:\

    Just tried that then restarted and still will not connect and wants my key each time it connects

    LOL more drama in wind 8.1 land... I can no longer download ANYTHING due to privileges

    [​IMG]

    BUT!!!!

    I am in the administrators group....

    [​IMG]

    Lovely.....
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Updated. No problems. Did disk cleanup afterwards. got about 8-10GB back.
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Going even more deeper I created another local admin account and now explorer locks up when I right click on any file :(

    Backing up to reformat. I will wait until there is an ISO for windows 8.1 before I proceed with this update again. This is def not how I wanted to spend my night
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    but i thought microsoft made super dependable products that could never be replaced :confused:
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  12. X800

    X800

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
    Help
    In my win shop there is no dowloadlink or icon for win 8.1 and i have all uppdates ???
    :cry:
  13. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,724 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    You may wanna reinstall the WLAN drivers
  14. thx71 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows 8.1 download is crap

    started at 13:00 pm to download and now its 03:00 am and the downlosd is so slow i am now at 37%, was better via the normal update procedure that it was all done :banghead:
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    But they do and fuel the super elitist race
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,089 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    The windows 8.1 upgrade was smooth for me. I have yet to encounter something that doesn't work.

    Malwarebytes, MSI afterburner, ATI CCC, adobe, Razer Synapse all were on my start menu just like before and all open.

    Real like the integrated email management, cloud and theme update. Basking in it all.
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,724 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Microsoft isn't going to abandon the metro interface. That is ridiculous to even think. At this point they have taken it to their OEM PCs, their in house tablet, their phone licensees, and the Xbox. It isn't going anywhere, anytime. In fact, there is evidence to support Microsoft is investing their whole company in to the idea of one interface across all of their products.

    You will be sticking with Linux or Mac if you don't adapt.
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013
    The Von Matrices says thanks.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Is anyone else having trouble signing into Origin now? It wont sign into online mode. Steam is fine though.
  20. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    No both work fine for me.
  21. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Download took longer than the upgrade installation.

    Didn't need to reinstall any software.
    Browser / email / connectivity were all immediately working.
    Had to reconfigure sound options to get audio working again.
    Took several attempts before windows update worked properly again. Kept getting a connectivity error before it finally worked. (MS servers probably getting hammered.)
  22. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,841 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,030
    This morning I left it downloading, and it went ahead and installed while I was at work. When I got home, I just had to click a few settings, and it finalized the setup. Everything seems fine and dandy, just has to clean up Windows.old through Disk Cleanup.

    The only issue I've had is that Steam didn't connect the first time, but it worked the second time. Let's hope it continues to play nicely.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yep, now its working. Had to do a reboot.

    ....When in doubt, reboot..........
  24. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Looks like more of an error on their end not microsofts imo.


    Downloading the update now.. so we'll see if my computer implodes in a bit
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,060
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Whos end? Mine? I did as others did and thats when the chaos started. I have formatted and put 8 pro back in. Right now I have to go through the pain of redownloading all my games.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page