1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mozilla Firefox 3.5 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,256 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Mozilla today announced the newest stable version of Firefox, version 3.5, which has been available in various developer preview forms for months. The new version is a milestone release, unlike timely updates that Firefox receives on a near-monthly basis, and boasts of better performance. For instance, Firefox 3.5 outperforms its previous version (Firefox 3) by over 100% in the SunSpider benchmark.

    Under the hood, this new version extends support for HTML5 audio and video elements, including native support for open-source formats such as Ogg Theora. It uses a faster TraceMonkey Javascript engine (which is behind the performance boost in SunSpider), It supports downloadable fonts, CSS media queries, new transformations and properties, JavaScript query selectors, HTML5 local storage and offline application storage, canvas-driven text, ICC profiles, and SVG transformations. The user interface remains fairly identical to its predecessor, except for a few minor changes. The browser finally supports a private browsing feature which MSIE 8 (InPrivate) and Google Chrome (Incognito mode) have. Existing users of Firefox will be prompted to upgrade to the new browser. Others can find it here.

    [​IMG]
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Been running the RC on the laptop, it's ok. Doesn't feel any more or less faster compared to my Desktop. So no idea where they are getting these figures from, unless it's for super specialist things that i dare not venture to.
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Just speed it up yourself then.

    Go to "about:config" in your browser.

    Look for these values:

    network.http.pipelining > TRUE
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests > 30
    network.http.proxy.pipelining > TRUE

    Now right-click anywhere and select New > Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaintdelay" and its value to "0" and you should get a nice speed boost on any DSL or higher connection.

    Going from 3.0 to 3.5 using these fixes in both, it's a tad quicker :)
    Zubasa, 1c3d0g, El_Mayo and 4 others say thanks.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    you know whats funny? i just updated systems to the RC3 here, less than 4 hours ago... sneaky bastards.
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I was going to download RC3 today as well, but now we get the actual release!
  6. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    372 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I just ran that sunspider java benchmark, and I got it done in 594.8 ms! Go Firefox 3.5:)

    [​IMG]
  7. dani31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bucharest, RO
    Looks like chrome is still the one to beat for speed.

    [​IMG]
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    my PC blue screened in another thread while typing a reply (testing new ram).

    Upon rebooting and starting FF 3.5 back up, it not only recovered my tabs... but everything i'd been typing in the reply box :) lost maybe two words of a whole, large reply.

    FireFox FOREVER!

    (a download in progress when FF crashed also auto resumed when it came back.... <3 )
  9. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    No one's doubting that. :laugh: Chrome's a damn fast browser.

    Been using Firefox 3.5 for a few months now in various beta and RC forms, and I have to say -- after developing in it heavily, keeping it open all day, opening up 20+ javascript-heavy tabs all while using 10 different developer extensions -- the memory-hogging problems seem to be fixed!

    I can do this with Firefox 3.5 all day and it's barely using over 250mb of memory. Firefox 3.0 would be taking up 500 or more by that point.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    ^ mine hangs at 250MB or less all the time now too. i noticed that. old one used to reach upto 2.5GB if i tried hard :D
  11. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Why does it matter anymore? We both have 8GB of RAM.
  12. csendesmark

    csendesmark

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    The fastest browser is chrome, the smartest is Opera
    But FF is the best replacement for ex-Internet Explorer users for the first time :)
  13. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    its not faster , after i opera'ed once i didnt turn away has some kinks like other browsers but once your connection and computer are so fast like 1 /100th of a sec dosnt mater anymore lol. THEY ALL CRASH the same (if your a power user and dont go to the same 3 sites everyday) the internet is more the problem over the browers. websites with HORIBLE code no where near standard.

    opera will rec all tabs and what u type too ie now also. + there is ALWAYS an update for firefox, thats the main thing i hate about it lol. Other than that its ok, i still like operas setup and coming with everything already for me.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  14. Beny-Nvidia Guest

    tested ...

    its my result ... have a see ...
    here is it : compare link No Change ...

    its too slow than tests ive seen in other sites ..
    maybe its cause of my addons ...
  15. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Wow FF3.5 is quite nippy. Four as fast as IE in the sunspider test.
  16. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    As usual, Mozilla said Fuck You then fixed things that aren't broken and you have to waste time and resources to "UN-FIX" them: 3.5 ignores your group policy concerning zone.identifier(need three fucking settings in about:config to disable), closes window with last tab by default(have to go into a:c again) and does not have a close button on the last tab(userchrome.css or Stylish+styles).
    There might be more, but those three are the most retarded ones I've encountered.
  17. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Just got the 3.5 release and I like the new little features it has. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,851 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Florida, US
    This version fixed the problem with capping upload at 3Mb/s
  19. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I'm hating it so far. The Aero Fox theme I was using is incompatible, and my Edit, View and Help menus disappeared. Anyone knows how can I get them back? o_O
  20. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Nice! 3.0.5 or something about there started to leak memory and it's just gotten worse and no fix yet. I'm on 3.0.11 with 6 tabs now open and 643MB used..

    I have 4GB and no it wouldn't matter, but it does, as it also gets slower and slower the more memory it hogs.

    Will be upgrading to 3.5 right after this post, it can't be worse than 3. I don't like restarting the browser constantly, just the free up the memory. btw. while writing this post the memory usage went up to 644MB, 1MB for just sitting there, no wonder the memory usage builds up if I have the browser open for couple days.
  21. NeSeNVi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I will try it since... last 2nd version.
  22. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I find it takes forever to open up 3.5.... It also seems slower. Memory Usage seems the same as before too...
    Did I do something wrong by just updating straight from 3?
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    maybe its a plugin or addon? uninstall and reinstalling would fix that.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  24. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I'm pretty sure closing the window on the closing of the last tab is standard behaviour now -- Chrome does it the same way.

    Plus -- and this is the beauty of Firefox -- don't like the way the tab behaviour works? Get an extension to fix it. :D

    This beta build of the famous TabMixPlus extension works with Firefox 3.5: http://tmp.garyr.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9864&start=0

    Open up a command line, and type "firefox -safe-mode". Then turn off your extensions, and test them one by one.
  25. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164

    1. standard behavior? BS. ONLY Chrome does that and that's because every tab in chrome is a separate process. it's not in Firefox.
    2. The close button on the last tab was there in 3.0.x. there's nothing wrong with it.
    1 and 2 happened because some moron submitted a bug and it got "FIXED" even though many people were/are opposing it.

    3. Firefox started giving a f about Windows security zones in 3.0. now 3.5 stopped giving a f about group policy - SO WHAT IS THE POINT OF IT?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page