1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI R9 280 causing computer not to boot.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Moofacekilla, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I agree that those are great parts but I'm going to have a budget of around $500 so that's why I went with an amd platform it's cheaper.
     
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,511 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    ok swap this out
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139018 case

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817438014 powersupply
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116942 shipped
    under 500.00 shipped thats the best you can do
    for gaming get the intel chip its both cheaper and faster core for core
    and it also won't replace your furnace nor cost you a extra 30.00 a month to run
    I would seriously recommend against the above tho and going with a ~600 upgrade you have far more options in that price bracket don't be drawn into the shinie colors and curvy plastic cases in the end its whats on the inside that counts
    the reason for not going with the above is that while it will provide more then enough cpu grunt to keep that 280 fed you also lose the upgrade path tho even with AMD there is not really a upgrade path their either
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2014
    Moofacekilla says thanks.
  3. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OK. Sorry I'm a newb to this I'm just trying to do the best I can I really appreciate the advice. I'll look into the components more when I'm off work tonight. In the end I want the most power I can get my money. Of course I am going for astectics a little bit though.
     
  4. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Any suggestions for a case with a side window I'm certain I want one with a window.
     
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,511 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
  6. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm also looking for one that has really clean cable management.
     
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,511 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
  8. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OK so I tried my card in another system and can confirm its working fine. So must be a compatibility issue with my motherboard.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Have you had your systems motherboard, psu vc and a hdd/ssd/optical drive out of case on a box?
     
  10. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I have not. Do you think it is a grounding issue? But I have my old card in there now and it's working perfectly.
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    It could be a improper seating issue. I had to remove a dvi stud screw just to make a card seat properly in my old system, not all components are made to exact mms in dimension
     
  12. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I don't really want to take the card out of the pc it's in that I'm using now and was planning on doing a major upgrade next month anyways.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Im saying all components for testing! To ensure its not a seating issue but an absolute incompatibility
     
  14. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That makes sense. I might get around to it in a few days put to much time into it recently and my wife needs some attention haha
     
  15. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I took it all out of my case because I was painting the interior of my case and pow! Card worked perfectly with board out of the case. Now my question is how do I make it work in the case. Obviously something was keeping it from seating properly.
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,511 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I would bet on a short between the back of the motherboard and the case
    else you need to look carfully at the connector on the card and see where its not fully seated
     
  17. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    It's still in pieces I'm putting it back together once the paint dries later any tips?
     
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,511 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if you suspect a short between the two the quickest fix is good old black electrical tape
    make sure the pcie bracket/mount isn't bent or something and ensure the IOsheild is fully seated
     
  19. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Electrical tape behind the motherboard?
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    make sure the cards PCI bracket does not make contact with the motherboard and case pci backplane bracket at same time check to see if a video output stUd isnt touching side of case pci backplane bracket. If you must put tape on the pci bracket on card
     
  21. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OK I don't know what was going on but after putting it all back together and making sure it was in without to much force and making sure the screws were tight it works flawlessly! Thank you for help. I still plan on upgrading but no rush as I can play games maxed with my q6600
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    It could of been the way the motherboard and video card were sitting in the case
     
  23. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    52 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Something.. But all is good now after weeks of stressing and not be able to use it.
     
  24. rubenalf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Post your bios please ;)
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Do you need it or something because tech power up has a bios list spot here you just have to look for it!
     
    rubenalf says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page