1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Twin Frozr II bios flash success

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by da20valve, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    like an old man that turned 98, he won the lottery.. and died the next day ""sing-song voice""
     
  2. Jamborhgini313

    Jamborhgini313 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    is this still doable?
     
  3. caddenmods22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I unlocked MSI Twin Frozr III 6950 2GB Today!

    Yep I did it however I purchased two cards for crossfire.

    One works the other one does not. Anyone have any ideas?

    The card Im on about is the MSI Radeon HD 6950 Twin Frozr III 2GB
     
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    The card I used these bios on has since become crippled. Anyone else have a problem?

    Edit: I think the card shouldn't of been unlocked in the first place. It was not doing so well before I did that anyways.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    looks like a bit of thread necromancy backfired on you
    not all cards unlock ...
    revert to the factory bios ...
     
  6. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    I did revert. It still doesn't work. I started a thread about it but decided to post this here as a warning and as a general question. If I had a problem, have others? Oh and it did work for several months. I think I was the second poster on this thread
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    either you didn't do it right or you are SOL
    NOT ALL CARDS UNLOCK *and stay working*
    reflash it with the factory bios that you probably didn't backup before you started playing with forces you didn't understand ...
    this is the thread you should have read
    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159
    you probably burnt the card up ... some of the early 6950's didnt like being unlocked
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    So really what I am here for is one thing. Not to be told what I did wrong, what I know and do not know, and obvious things. I am here to see if anyone else had problems.

    Go troll elsewhere
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I was trying to make the impression on you that if you so chose todo ANY kind of bios flashing you take the risk of it blowing up in your face
    there are at least 5 threads on this on TPU and I am pretty sure they all mention that this COULD eventually destroy the card
     
  10. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I think im better off with my 945/1420 clocks lol
     
  11. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Its not the bios, It has nothing to do with it. BECAUSE ITS THE SAME BIOS, it just had been moddified with the shaders.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page