1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My First RIG Part 2

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by TheHack, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Hey Guys

    I've started my second Part of my Thread

    Part 1:http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=155127


    So i've enough Money ^^ to buy my Shopping list ,which contains so far:

    CPU:AMD FX-8120
    MoBo: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
    RAM:16GB G.Skill RipJaws 1600Mhz
    And the H80 CPU Cooler
    :toast:
     
  2. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Its Christmas ???? :eek:

    Santa fulfilled my list of presents :laugh:

    [​IMG]

    However, now I am afraid that my PSU couldn't support all those Parts......
    Guys what do u Think?

    R 800 Watts enough?
     
    NHKS says thanks.
  3. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Here some few new Pics =D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    NHKS, grunt_408 and baggpipes say thanks.
  4. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    800w is fine.
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  5. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lol i like the fact that everyone recommend you Intel's 2500k(in part one) and you bought faildozer haha
    Still I would love to see the final product;)
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,232 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    Heh, BD isn't as bad as people make it out to be. I built a system for my cousin with the FX 6200. It wasn't bad at all compared to my 2600k.
     
    Norton and TheHack say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks Popcorn Machine 4the fast answer^^


    Yeah many guys said that i should buy Intel but i wannaaa try the BD.....If the BD is crap(but i don't thing so^^) i will buy Intel.
     
  8. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I cringed when I saw a Sabertooth board and AMD FX 8...
     
  9. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    why?
     
  10. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Douche bagg.... Some people dont like to spend alot of money so they can they got big e-peen.....
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  11. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    578 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Pocomoke, MD
    AMD FX, why god why??? Still better than mine :(
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Looks like your going to have a great system there. :toast: Don't let people discourage you on your choice. We all have opinions. You will see that you will have a pretty nice rig there when your done.
     
    Norton and TheHack say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Nice insults!

    An i5 3570k is only $60 more. And it's a far more superior CPU. (Or even an i5 2500K, only $50 more).
    An equivalent board in Z77 (Asus P8Z77-V Pro) is only $20 more from a 990X Sabertooth.

    So overall, $80 more for a system that's 100x better?
    Is saving $80 really worth the inferior performance?

    Please, unless you have something educated to say... just don't say anything at all.

    An AMD Phenom X4 965 is a better CPU than an 8-Core Bulldozer and it costs less.
    There is literally no justification in buying ANY AMD CPU's, unless you're building it for less than $800.

    Or for an HTPC. Even then... Intel builds vs. an equivalent AMD build (Intel being $20 to $50 more); Intel always wins.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  14. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks Mad Shot ^^ i also thought like that......

    Sure everyone said ,,UHH UHH buy Intel`` But i won't i like AMD and also their Products...
    AND im always happy with this Products.
     
  15. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Hey m8s

    2day was the great wedding everything cames ogether and..... it works =D

    Windows said:
    [​IMG]

    Moaaaaar Pics will follow ^^
     
    SaiZo and n0tiert say thanks.
  16. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Get a better HDD and all is good, do not listen to all those intel fanboys...... aslong temps are ok and Rig runs as expected everything is OK

    Rig is nice... but why didn´t you bought the Crosshair ? dooh
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  17. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    let ppl buy what the wan´t ........
    and by your educated answer it´s seems like you read em down from some sort of intel strategy paper..........
    and a 965 or 955(i own in my second rig) is from my oppinion not faster .......

    @op sorry for that but i hate ppl trying to change ppls mind by given such a useless post

    nerd
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  18. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,265 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Lol I love how people can turn any thread into a fanboy war.. XD You have a nice rig..
    Be happy with it. :)
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    amazing rig :toast: ... i'll be upgrading my FX 4100 to a FX 8120 soon :)

    Edit: 800W is more than enough
     
    TheHack says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank's for the nice feedback ^^

    @n0tiert
    sure the Temps r good (with the H80 they HAVE TO)
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,319
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    He never said that this was a gaming rig. If he is doing anything that uses all 8 threads, it's a perfectly good processor. There is nothing wrong with an FX processor. It's not like it can't play games, and just because it is a little slower at single threaded tasks does not mean it is a bad CPU. All in all, I don't think that the he will be disappointed with it. I'm willing to bet that the FX chip is better at virtualization than a lot of skt1155 chips while still letting you overclock. (I was split between FX and the 3820 for that reason, because skt1155 wouldn't offer VT-d on a K edition chip, where FX and SB-E did.)

    So don't bash people for preference. I'm sure he has his reasons. It's not like he is buying a Pentium or Sempron. :banghead:
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  22. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Omg

    right after posting my last reply i got an complete crash with a really freaky sound. like

    GRRRRRRRRRRRBRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRBRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRBRRRRRRR___________BRRRRR

    so ive rebooted my PC and BAM Core temp said

    Core 0
    192°C
    Core 1
    32°C
    Core 2
    32°C
    Core 3
    32°C
    Core 4
    32°C
    Core 5
    32°C
    Core 6
    32°C
    Core 7
    32°C

    30Minutes l8r is only Core 4 on 192°C
    and again 30Minutes l8r is Core 2 on 255°C
    so i dont really iderstand why only 1 Core is so overheaten...... and other Toolz like The ASUS AI Suite or the ASUS Thermal Radar always said CPU:15-40°C so should i trust on the ThermalRadar or should i trust CoreTemp?
     
  23. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Is the system stable after the crash?

    One core getting hot like that is very odd.

    I would check the temps using other tools like RealTemp or SpeedFan.
     
    TheHack says thanks.
  24. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Jep its looks stable

    next check with RealTemp
    thanks Popcorn ^^
     
  25. TheHack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Epic Fail xD

    Real Temp doesn't support the FX ^^
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page