1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My headset mic is having some problems please help...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ShadowFold, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I just got a Razer Piranha and the the earphone part is amazing its just the mic.. It picks up my PC sounds(I got home hooked it up and got into a chat on xfire and he said he could hear my PC sounds so I put music on and he heard it clear as day as if it were going thru speakers) and it barely picks up my voice. Now I KNOW its not hardware related because I paid 65$ for it and I know alot of people have this headset. I just updated my realtek audio drivers and it didnt help at all.. Thanks a ton if you help :toast:
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Check your recording settings...there may be a setting to help with that.
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Where is that?
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I cant find anything with Google... come on guys I dont want to return this :( I really like it.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've never used xFire, but I'm sure there's settings in there...

    Also go into your Realtek control panel and look under RECORDING...

    I know on my X-Fi card, if I select the record mode "what you hear" it'll do something similar to your complaint...if I just select microphone as the only recording device then it's all good...

    Maybe you need to tone down the sensetivity of your mic? Do you have mic boost on? Ya need to dig around and familiarize yourself a little more with this kind of stuff...takes a little time...but I started using gaming headsets back in July of 2007 and after messing around with settings and adjustments I learned how to get things set up just right! :D

    I hope this helps ya a little bit man! My G/F's P4/Abit AS8-v rig as Realtek and she uses a gaming headset for CoD4...never had that issue...but we use teamspeak, don't know if there's a difference there or not.

    :toast:
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It does it in TS and Vent too. Idk what mic boost is im new to gaming mics :laugh: theres is no recording options in my realtek driver thing.
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Its most likely something like the line input in your Audio properties. try tuning off everything you arent using...Namslas had this issue once and solved it in this manner!

    BTW I am using that exact headset now with no issues on PC sounds going throgh my headset!
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I Googled "mic boost" and saw guides but I dont have the advanced options button =/ im getting kinda pissed. And sneeky what do you mean by everything im not using? What would I not be using? Where would this be?
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    [​IMG]

    Like in there?
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    in recording controls hit the advanced tab and see if it gives you option to adjust.

    I just plugged the Piranha into exrta jacks in the back...relabled them with Realtek software and away I went!
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I just hit all the buttons and now the advanced option thing is not grayed out! I got mic boost up and its freakin great! My friend said he can hear me clear as day now :D now I just gotta fix the pc sound going into my mic..
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Shoot a PM to Namslas90 as he was the one that fixed the issue for himself!

    We used to hear his MSN messenger chime in and windows sounds.
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Im talking to my friend hes telling me to mute something but hes kinda drunk..
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    nvm I got it :p
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    what was the issue?
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Some check box in the input device catagory idk I forgot already :laugh:
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    :rolleyes:

    Well then I hope you remember next time it happens! :toast:
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I know I feel like an idiot it was so simple... I shouldn't have to figure it out again unless I change mics again(which wont be any time soon cause I love this thing!)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page