1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My smartphone is totaled..what can I do to get the data?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happita, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yep, If ADB would find his phone, he could use the app I have attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    happita says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,439 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Location:
    AZ
    on galaxy devices you have to download their software on your pc to view the phone correctly or it will just treat the pc as a charging station. Also they require that you use the original usb to micro cable, I've tried with a Motorola one and it doesn't work, just charges.

    try that first to get your data. Your contacts should all be tied up with your google account so no worries there, but sadly all your apps are gone. Just the storage files will be accessible via usb (pics, music, video, etc)
     
    happita says thanks.
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    nah you are mistaken. The samsung Touchwiz UI requires you to set the phone to mass storage mode from the phone screen. When you plug it in a usb icon will show in the status bar, when you select it a menu will pop up.

    Actually helped my friend backup her pictures last night on her Galaxy SII.

    And any old cable will work.
     
    happita says thanks.
  4. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,439 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Location:
    AZ
    no I am not wrong, it literally will not work on gs1 devices until you install their software. Whatever has happened since then doesn't apply.
     
  5. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I have had a galaxy s captivate and a galaxy s epic and I have never had to install any software other than drivers to view the phones internal storage.

    edit: straight from samsung's website - http://www.samsung.com/us/support/s..._cd=N0000002subtype_ia_cd=N0000003row_index=1
     
  6. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,439 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Location:
    AZ
    current version is 1.5.14.0 from samsungs website, if you try to access it without said drivers (which do come with an update suite that checks your phone every time you connect it for updates) it will show up as a connected device (at least on windows 7) but will error out when you try to actually open it up.

    you said there's nothing that needs to be installed. That's incorrect. Also I've tried connecting it with both my old cable from a an original Motorola droid and My Droid Razr Maxx's cable and it does the same thing, just charges, shows up but cannot be opened.


    Any HTC or Motorola Droid I've used doesn't have this issue. I can connect it to any pc that can recognize usb devices and it will work as a usb drive without having to install anything.

    Galaxy S devices have all required me to install something before I can add files.

    The OP has a galaxy S device, if he hasn't already, he must install the suite before it will work.
     
  7. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    This might help with getting video out: AT&T Samsung Captivate (Galaxy S) TV out demonstra...

    :roll: whatever you say bub

    I am not going to consider myself an android expert but I would say I am pretty experienced. I have published apps on the play store. Worked on gerrit changes included in cyanogenmod, and done various other things for the android community. Have owned at least 10 different android phones, 75% of them being samsung devices. Including a captivate.

    But you know what you are probably right. :banghead:
    By the way it was nice of you to provide a link to this said software the OP needs.
     
    happita says thanks.
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,439 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Location:
    AZ
    in this case, you said it yourself. So don't get all high and mighty on me. And don't pull out your dick out on me either, I've not interest in and online measuring contest.

    http://www.samsung.com/us/support/
    click cell phones, eter your model number, click "manuals and downloads" it will default to manuals, click "software" download, install. done
     
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I see kies and I see drivers. I don't see any special software required to access the phone. You don't need to kies to see the phone as a mass storage device. I have never, ever downloaded or installed kies on my computer and have had no problem viewing galaxy s1 phones on my computer. That includes my captivate and epic and my dad's fascinate.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    samsungs need no special programs, I rooted a SG1 and SII for co workers and just the stock drivers with the phone in debug mode.
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  12. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Thank You :toast:
     
  13. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    No, the TV out goes through headphone jack. Starting with sgs ii, the mhl adapter is used. I have one for my broken screen sgs ii, and this post is on a sgs.

    edit... add pic

    ok, below is my galaxy boneyard. the mainboard is my original t959 (t-mo sgs). it suffered a bad flash, is waiting for resurrection. the extra guts (camera, headphone jack, speaker, frame on left side) are leftovers from sgs. the screen on the right is from sgs 4g t959v. I bought it from craigslist cheap, and dumped the guts onto my screen from sgs. the glass on screen from sgs 4g is busted, but the digitizer and amoled are fine.

    I found a teardown of the at&t sgs (captivate, i897), and the mainboards are the same, save a few minor differences. I propose using my busted screen to get your data off your phone. now, it will not work as a phone, just a pocket pc, as the frames are part of the antenna system, and they are radically different. it is a good, free way to get your data.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
    happita says thanks.
  14. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,370 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Yea. The screen is now completely bust I'm pretty sure. The first day it broke I was able to see the screen like I said, but was greenish and was fading in and out, but is now completely black. After I some free time after work I'm going to go ahead and try to find 1 of those TV-out RCA cables that plug into my headphone jack like the 1 I saw in the youtube video BrooksyX provided and see if I can still effectively at least use the screen by swiping. If swiping the phone is unresponsive, I might have to ask you for your spare screen guts and try that. And of course I will compensate you for that.
     
    1freedude says thanks.
  15. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,370 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Looks like none of the 4 cables I have tried (2 different MHL-certified ones) is able to get the phone to display to either a monitor or hdtv.

    1freedude, I pm'd you about those parts you have, hopefully you could ship it out to me perhaps to see if I can get it to work? Let me know. This almost sounds like a surgery; I want to try every possible solution before letting a third-party try and fix the problem for me
     
  16. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,490 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Is the phone stock or have you installed recovery and root?
    i have the same phone i will experiment with ways to get to data that could be done with no screen and report back

    try these drivers first and see if you can get anything to recognize your phone remove any other Samsung drivers/kies software first and reboot before installing.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=1431414&d=1351215630

    So even if your on stock you can flash a kernel with odin to get adb working then backup with adb details are here
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1164598
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013
  17. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,370 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    The problem with my situation is that I have more than just contacts I need to get backed up. I have made lots of notes in my note-taking app "Memo" and recorded a lot of sound using my "Voice Recorder" app as well that I need to back up. Pictures and videos are a plus as well if I can get to those.
    My phone is completely stock, I haven't really changed any settings except the brightness. I don't know how far your method would get me. Care to let me know before I go ahead and try a new screen?
     
  18. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,490 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    The screen if you can get it would be the easiest route i would bet that other sgs screens ppl mentioned will not work but if its free its worth a try

    the adb method above will pull everything from the internal sd
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page