1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help With File Sharing over a network

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by TheMatt1984, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok not sure if this is actually the right place for this so if not i jsut pray it gets moved and not deleted lol
    OK
    i need help setting up my file sharing over my Home network
    i have an OOOOOOLLLLDDD windows xp Laptop and my gaming tower which has 8.1 on it
    i've googled my brains out and couldn't find a solution
    basically i wanna share a few folders from my 3tb slave drive so i can access them from my XP machine
    but apparently just doing the whole, R-click, Properties, share this folder, etc etc isn't enough
    i know the folders are supposed to show up on my laptop under my network places
    but they wont' show
    i had it working before but then my laptop caught a real nasty virus and i had to redo the os -_-
    so any help is appreciated
    thanks in advance!!!
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,842 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    Do you have file and print sharing in the firewall settings enabled?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Go to advanced sharing>permissions>add user "everybody">full control if needed.

    if that doesn't work then: on the same list where "everybody" is>add>advanced>find now>select the guests groups/users>click ok>repeat with each desired group/user type>ok to close all dialogs.
     
  4. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yup i sure do
     
  5. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    tried that.
    no go
     
  6. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    also i forgot to mention..
    for some odd reason my whole 3tb slave is set to read only and keeps defaulting to that even after i disable it
    thoughts?
     
  7. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    I would do some disk checks on that volume. also check stuff like bios, etc.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Can you reach the PC using \\192.168.x.x\ ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,356 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,224
    Location:
    Oregon
    I was never able to do this. I installed 7 on all my PCs to solve the problem. Really shouldn't be that hard but I worked on it for days
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,224 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,264
    First we have to figure out if you can even get access to the computer you are trying to share you files from. So on the XP computer go to network places and type \\ComputerName, where ComputerName is the name of the Windows 8 computer you are sharing the files from.

    That should allow you to see the share, even if you don't have permission to access it, you will still be able to see that the computer is sharing it. If you get an error and can't access the computer at all, then that is the first hurdle we need to address. It might also ask you for a username and password, put in the username and password for the Windows 8 computer.

    Once you have access to the Windows 8 computer and can see the share, double click on it. If it lets you in, then you are golden. If it gives you an error, that is the next hurdle we need to tackle.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    *sigh* nothing works
    i also can't get my slave drives files and folders off Read only -_-

    UPDATE:
    what the...
    ALL my drives are on read only o_O
    yet they're working as they should...
    #confused
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  12. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    well 7 is NOT and option for my laptop as it requires too much ram, cpu, etc
    it's a old dual core with 1gb ram lol
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,224 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,264
    If the read only box has a square in it, that just means some of the files are read only. If it has a check mark that means all the files are read only. It is normal for most folders to show up with a square in the box with Windows 8 for some reason.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    this can definitely be made to work, as i do it in my house easily.


    that said, there is so many steps along the way you've ignored and not told us about, you REALLY need to go back to the basics and start from scratch.


    share a folder, and see if you can connect manually via the IP address of the system.

    do NOT ever expect the shares to magically just show up in the networking section of windows XP, that was an old, buggy, almost useless feature that never really worked right.
     
  15. TheMatt1984

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    33 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    odd... i'm positive i replied to this earlier....
    where'd my posts go? o.o
    regardless

    how do i connect manually to my 8.1 machine's share from my xp laptop?
    it's under my network places right?
     
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,356 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,224
    Location:
    Oregon
    You might be able to manually connect via IP but its not just going to show up under networks
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    IP and IP only.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page