1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Q6600 OC guidance from Gigabyte board owners

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Fif23, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Proper cooler helps with a q6600. Idle temps should be like this...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    the scyte mugen 2 or the thermaltake v1 are great coolers and yes it is very important to change the cooler if you whant to pass 3.0Ghz safe. I have a G0 also and i have it in 3.0 on stock cooler, beyond that and it can get to 100 easily, i have a gigabyte p43-ds3l check the vdrop on that motherboard, my vdrop is 0.5 so if if put it in 1.25 the processor will only get 1.20 volts. And if your proc its the same batch as mine beeing G0 it can get to 3.0 with 1.15 to 1.2 volts and be stable.

    Edit: this are ss of my temps.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    PD: the second it's with intel burn test, that program gets almost 10 °c more than any other stress test that ive gotten, and to notice, the hottest it gets its 74°c. and dont look the "temp" that says the ambient its 23 its something like 27 im in a very close room that has crappy ventilation. All that with stock. so yeah if you whant to pass 3.0 you need other cooler
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
  3. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    By my math it's 0.05 :toast:
     
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I get 0.100 v droop D:
     
  5. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    By my math too hehehehe my bad.
     
  6. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright I got a AC Freezer Extreme cuz thats all they had in stock... Idle temp is now 49-50 around the cores... TJ MAX is 90 so it's pretty good no ?
     
  7. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    well the iddle temps are not that important run a stress test, like prime, orthos, or the intel burn test a see the load temps those are the one that matters the most, ahhhh I almost forgot by my experience gigabyte boards dont control well the speed of the fans it would be good if you want and dont mind, to tell the motherboard to spin the cpu fan at full speed all the time.

    If i dont do this i get iddle temps of 60-70 and with full speed the temps go down to 46-50 iddle.
    and they got to 90-100 and rebooted, with full fan the get only to 70. try and tell me if you see improvement
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  8. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks man, My stress temps at max are 90-93c ... but then again- it "hops" straight down to 70 from 90 (using realtemp) alot so maybe the sensors arent working very well ?

    I have a huge Freezer Extreme on it too.... Something's not right ?
     
  9. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    it could be what i told you the motherboard cpu pwm doesnt work as it should try putting it at 100% and test again, was it with the intel burn test, or maybe you could think of replacing the freezer fan for another one more powerfull it could help. Also never let you cpu get to those temps it will run for some time but it could get damage some day, and you could loose it.
     
  10. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    With Intel Burn the CPU reached 90C maximum ...
    Safe to work ?
     
  11. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    ahhh dont worry about intel burn test temps jajaja they go there you will never get to those temps doing normal works or with others stress tests, and yes as long as they dont pass the 75-80°c mark you will be fine.
     
  12. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Guys the problem was in the heatsink.. it wasn't touching the CPU !!! I needed to put a thicker layer of thermal grease to create a "stamp" on the heatsink.. now the temps are 30-35c idle and 55 full stress !

    but if i kick the voltage to 1.35 and 3.1ghz, it will go up to 100c .....

    strange
     
  13. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    dont bump the voltage up to that high did you try 3.0 with 1.2 volts? its stable, try that and then try 3.2 with 1.25 or 1.3. those processors are very sensible in temps with volt mods. they can get realy hot with the changes.
     
  14. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ah thanks !
    I managed to keep it stable on 3150mhz at 1.23v
    Temps are between 40 to 50 while doing windows work and up to 85 with IntelBurn.
    I think i'll keep it that way ? It works really fast... Not looking for records...
     
  15. Onderon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    jejejejej i told you nice overclock you could try bumping a little more the speed. Remember that you will never get to the intel burn test temps with any other program.

    try 3.2 or 3.4 with that or 1.25 dont surpass the 1.3volts with that cooler
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page