1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Netbook owners clubhouse!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Mussels, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    There is a laptop clubhouse, but netbooks deserve a category of their own.

    obviously i expect you guys to help fill the blanks :p



    Members list:

    Mussels
    Bo$$ - Hp mini 311 3gb ram
    meran - asus 1000he
    cdawall
    Munki
    xaira
    newtekie1


    Recommended apps for netbooks:
    CCCP pack/Media Player Classic - Home cinema - lightweight player that could even make an atom play HD content
    CoreAVC - Combined with CCCP, you can get 720p playback smooth on a 1.6Ghz atom (mine has HT, dunno if it helps or hinders)
    Iron: - a more secure version of chrome, good firefox alternative.
    Firefox. nuff said (although, memory concerns abound)
    Opera also comes recommended by Bo$$
    Antivirus reccomendations?


    Good reading material for netbook owners:

    google or something. this thread didnt take off as much as i thought.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2013
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    Bo$$-Hp mini 311 3gb ram

    im using kaspersky antivirus
  3. meran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    469 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    asus 1000he 2gb ram 6cell
    with nod32 antivirus much faster than kaspersky:cool:
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    but i got a 3 user key for £4 :cool: , i would be crazy to spend more on something which is only a bit faster :laugh:
    and it really doenst slow it down at all really, i configured it very well

    :pimp:
  5. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    netbook club.... could any of you (UK Based) help me find or point me in the right direction for getting a new SDD for my sisters netbook, a small replacement would do nicely (8Gb) as she doesn't use it for much.... no prizes for guessing that though considering it's just a netbook :p
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    those small SSD's are slow as crap, often slower than a mechanical drive. why would you want one over a mechanical drive?
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Because I have very little experience working on/with netbooks and from what I can tell there is only the option to use some kind of SSD (doesn't look like the usual kind to me) not only that my sister would probably never even notice the difference, if it works and slowly does what she wants, she'll be ok with it.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    yeah but for the price of an 8GB SSD, you could get a 320GB mechanical drive thats heaps faster, and probably longer life (and can fit a better OS, too)


    ya gotta keep in mind those small SSD's (<32GB) are several generations old, and they were the bargain basement SSD's of that era. slow, unreliable, and overall poopy come to mind.
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So despite what I thought, I could actually fit a mechanical drive in place of the SSD?

    I'll dig out the netbook and find the model number.

    Dell Inspiron 910
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    they all used the same 2.5" form factor, so yeah tis quite likely.


    edit: checked the service manual here http://support.euro.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins910/en/sm/ssd.htm#wp1184679


    that particular laptop seems to use a custom SSD that may be hard to replace.
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Meh... I thought they was different :(

    Nevermind I guess, but if you ever hear of any of these kind about give me a PM or something as I'll be sure to snatch it up at the right price.
  12. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Count me in, Asus 1201T.

    Here is a couple of programs I use:
    • RMClock
      It allows you to lower the VCore on your CPU allowing it to run "extra" time on one battery charge (for instance this CPU is rated at 1.00v yet it can go as low as 0.675 with no problems);
    • TwoFingerScroll
      It provides better scrolling compared to the "Synaptics Helper Service", so I just remove this Synaptics stuff from the startup and use this little app;
    • quietHDD
      If you are the "proud" (sarcasm) owner of one Western Digital BEVT series HDD you might want to check this little app and use it or else the HDD heads parking every 3 seconds will not only drive you crasy but void your HDD waranty in ~2 months time (Load Cycle Count > 300000, that's right, check WD warranty policy).
  13. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    695 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
  14. meran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    469 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    well. i got it for freeeeeeee:laugh::roll::roll:
  15. meran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    469 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    wowwwwwwwwww many netbook owners
  16. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Add me!

    I am a proud owner of the Asus Eee-PC 900HA Netbook!

    specs:

    Intel Atom 1.6Ghz
    2Gb G.Skill ram
    8.9 in. screen
    160 hdd
    Win.7

    The ram has been upgraded and the OS has been tweaked a bit for performance and battery life. I use this netbook everyday and it serves me well.:toast: I also got one for the wife! she has the white one which is an older version of mine, but upgraded with a SSD and more ram.

    specs:

    Celeron 900MHz
    8.9 in. screen
    60Gb OCZ ssd
    2Gb ram
    Win.XP

    [​IMG]

    ^^^oh and that's Kammi my Kat;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
  18. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
  19. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,563 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i use acer aspire one 532h with windows 7 ultimate
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,563 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    acer has many hardware for same netbook, download only that match to your stuff
    if you dont sure check on device manager :roll: look at the properties part check on hardware id then googling it
    after you get the hardware go back to acer and download the driver :eek:
  21. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Thanks for your help micropage7. I've got everything running except for the bluetooth. I've installed both of the drivers for this but yet i can't get it to work. Do I have to turn it on or something?
  22. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,563 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    have you tried to turn it on with Fn+F key? does the bluetooth indicator lamp turn on?
  23. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    when I try to start the program nothing happens..
  24. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,563 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    the apps come in zip so check the zip, it has 2 things >> the driver and the apps, setup just install the driver, try by running the application too
    then check on device and printer, could you add any new device by bluetooth? if yes it could be fine
    hope it works
    HossHuge says thanks.
  25. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    649 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    posting my work rig:

    Lenovo Thinkpad x100

    CPU: Athlon NEO x2 L335 @1.60ghz
    RAM: 2gb
    GPU: Radeon 3200
    HDD: 250gb
    LCD:1366x768
    OS: win7 pro

    this little rig is great
    I am unlikely to install anything as its for work.
    but i am thankful for the AMD after suffering with atoms for so long...
    I would like to get my hands on a new via based rig soon...
    I was messing with a friends C7 based HP the other day and it seemed alright
    I think vista was bogging it down to be honest.

    anyway, greetings fellow road warriors.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page