1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Netbook owners clubhouse!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Mussels, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Finally got around to some light updates to my ancient Gateway LT3103u

    [​IMG]

    4GB stick of Corsair PC6400 off of eBay reflashed to CL4 DDR2 533 using spdtool. Found one of the elusive TK-42's and ordered that as well. Maybe I will get lucky and be able to run it faster. The current L310 gets a bit warm trying to run above 1000mhz and really unhappy trying to run 1.4-1.5ghz :roll:
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,802 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    why buy a netbook when you can buy a new GPU XD
     
  4. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Belgium
    I bought mine for thesis presentations and to be mobile when I went to the ex-gf..
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    because it cost me $100 and it runs a teamspeak 3 server and DC++ hub, with a 4 hour 'UPS' battery life.
     
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Because a GPU won't last ~8h powered on on its own and allow me to work where ever I need to.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    actually the best answer to annoy DDD: because we can afford both :p


    so while that program aligned the SSD, it corrupted to boot stuff and wont load XP anymore.

    it turns out i dont have a matching copy of XP (i have home and corporate - not pro) so i cant repair install it. booting a linux live CD to copy off the 5MB of data i actually care about (lol), to format to win 7 - if it even fits on the tiny 8GB SSD.
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,780 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Because you're a shithead.
     
    _JP_, FreedomEclipse and Mussels say thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    you just made me giggle. kudos to you good sir.
     
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,591 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    how dare you. its white, clearly a mac. doesnt belong here.
     
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,591 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    what if its running Windows :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    you could throw it OUT a window. that count?




    i never updated my netbook to win7 because it had 1GB of ram, and i thought it was too slow.


    its running faster than ever with the aligned SSD and 2GB of ram now (533MHz CL4, fastest it supports)

    its actually very responsive, which i never expected XD
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,780 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    What do you have again? As long as it's not Atom and you have 2GB RAM it'll be plenty decent on Windows 7.

    Me I will try SliTaz on my netbook again (Aspire One D250) because it was wicked fast. ATM it has Windows XP and it's not exactly smooth. It originally came with Windows 7 Starter, which I thought was ok, but not ok enough.

    BTW, I tried to run Visual Studio 2010 on it and it launched. :roll:
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    1.6GHz atom. its slow alright - but its running a lot better in 7 than it did XP, and i did not expect that.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  16. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,591 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I don't think it can fly :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    macbook air
     
  18. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,591 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Macbook Air not Macbook fly Bwahaha
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    just set it to airplane mode first, Mr. FussyPants Mcgee.
     
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,780 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Whut. My Aspire One is faster in XP.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    it may be heavily related to the SSD not being aligned when it was on XP, but its sure as shit faster now.
     
  22. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Anyone try Win8 on their netbook yet? I'm thinking about replacing my hard drive with a faster, bigger one and Windows 8.

    I've read others have used it and it runs faster but I don't know what drivers they could be using cause their is no driver support.
     
  23. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    I put windows 7 on my netbook, it's works a dream. i think 8 won't have drivers. HDD is a great idea mine is lightning fast! :laugh:
     
  24. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN

    Hey Bo$$!! Long time, no chat!

    That's what I was thinking about the drivers as well but this guy has it running.



    What HDD are you using?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  25. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Also, if i change my HDD, how do i install the windows starter again?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page