1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

No New GPUs from AMD for the Bulk of 2013

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Location:
    Mexico
    It already comes with one SMX module disabled isn't it? The full chip is supposed to have 15 SMX AFAIK but the core count suggest 14 active.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    the tesla chip does, i doubt the same will be for the consumer gk110
    i remember it was the same thing during the gtx480 era were the pro cards had disabled parts
    the reason being is pro cards have to be 24/7 operation guaranteed
  3. Xzibit

    Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,088 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    I don't know why anyone thinks its 14 or higher if it has 1 SMX disabled.

    C'MON MAN

    K20X
    14 SMX

    K20
    13 SMX

    So if it has 1 disabled its a K20 that didnt sell or (was binned but we need more detail on the chip and its differences)

    Heck it could be 1 disable and be referancing a K20 and be a 12 SMX, W1zzard did allude that hertz was not the only surprise so there is another or more.

    SURPRISE!!!
    TITAN
    12 SMX

    It would follow the GK104 model 680, 670, 660Ti (GK110 model K20X, K20, TITAN). Disabling 1 SMX along with others components. TITAN could be a gimped K20 GK110 like the GK104 in 660Ti is to 670.

    K20 GK110s that could be salvaged by disabling 1 SMX or other components and you get your Limited TITAN product.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  4. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    And they call it GTX685
  5. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,191 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Probably because:
    1.The full GK 110 has 15 SMX @ 192 cores per, and
    2.When was the last time a Tesla (or Quadro) part features more shaders than the GeForce variant (hint: never).
    ...or more likely a higher leakage GPU
    Extremely unlikely :laugh: Tesla K20X/K20 are A1 revision GPU's...and GPU's invariably yield better as the process matures.
    More likely 14 SMX (or possibly 15 if a fully enabled die falls outside Tesla's 225-235W power envelope / assuming that the 15th SMX isn't built in redundancy to improve yield)
    And you know this how? Do you work for Nvidia or TSMC ? There have been precisely two SKU's based on the GK 110...one has 93% functionality, and the other 86.7%. Using your logic, Tahiti's yields must also be poor, since the split is 100%, 87.5%, and 75%.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    No, that's not right. The GK110 has 15 SMX units and is used in the K20 card.

    The apparently cut down version used in the upcoming Titan has one disabled, making 14 SMX units.

    NVIDIA's official whitepaper can be downloaded from here, which shows this.
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Well guess Im buying a titan then. Thanks for making it an easy choice (of course I'll look @ numbers against my 7970s before buying though)
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    It's gonna cost like a GTX 690. Are you prepared to pay that kind of money?
  9. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Yeah. The performance jump would have to be relatively high for me to buy it though.
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Good for you. :toast:

    I wish I could buy it - I'd seriously geek out with a card like this. :D
  11. leopr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I sincerely hope the Titan will outperform my CF of 7970 @ 1200/1700, if thats the case now it would be the moment to get rid of my crossfire.
  12. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    ^ OK people, enough with the GK110 talk, there's already 3 or more threads in the news section alone, about it.

    On to the subject at hand. I'm all for it... as long as it's not because AMD is in a bad rut. Otherwise I'm pretty sure nVidia will follow suit, do you guys really think they'd shoot themselves in the foot like that? Release GF Titan for $900 then 1-2Q later, release GTX 780 for $500 that would offer the same performance? In either case, both nVidia and AMD have to release something mighty amazing when time is due (Q4 2013+).
  13. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    504 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    well, some of people have a lot of money to buy those titan, that's great :laugh:, but for me, i have no reason spending ton of money for titan (benchmark? i don't care about benchmark scores lol), instead i would go to buy the next gen console especially ps4 replacing my current console machine (ps3) for around $350 - $400. :rockout:

    i'd like to say thanks to amd for no new gpus in 2013. :rockout:
    Lionheart says thanks.
  14. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    919 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh well I guess I can save some money on GPUs this year.
  15. Axaion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    One thing all the AMD guys keep forgetting when posting those higher framerates benchmarks for amd is

    "FRAME LATENCY"


    Let the massive excrement war begin, may the dank side be victorious.
    sergionography says thanks.
  16. Eagleye

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    68 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Think you missed the memo where AMD fixed "FRAME LATENCY" :slap:

    From the info out there, the GK110 was made b4 the GK104.

    It took nvidia roughly 6 Months to supply Amazon roughly 3000 cards.:eek:

    It took nvidia 6/7 years to design and make the Keplar chip, so how they quickly put one together in 3/4 months after seeing the AMD 7 series is beyond me.:confused:
    sergionography and NeoXF say thanks.
  17. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    This is bad news.. it may mean that Nvidia will sell at a higher price since there is no competition :(
  18. Axaion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    Indeed i have, please provide source, as i cant freaking find it.
  19. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Link to a credible source please
  20. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    469 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Since Catalyst 13.2 BETA 3 : http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst132BetaDriver.aspx

    TR did a review for this driver : http://techreport.com/review/24218/a-driver-update-to-reduce-radeon-frame-times
    SIGSEGV says thanks.
  21. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    504 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    okidna says thanks.
  22. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    I keep thinking... who honestly thinks nVidia would offer anything new other that this Titan thing, for this year, I mean, hello, even if it is $900 bucks, that'd be shooting theselves in the foot, the theoretical GTX 780 will have to end up faster than "Titan"... Maybe even be based on Maxwell?

    Either way, there's chance of refreshes (withing this "gen") from both sides.
  23. Axaion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
  24. Axaion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
  25. wowman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Possibly AMD is getting cold feet and is shook knowing Titan's performance number.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page