1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

not happy with my new GPU

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Irish_PXzyan, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,437 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey guys

    I just got my new gtx 280 today to replace my 8800gts 640mb.

    before i set it up i used hl2 lost coast to stress test my system and i got 158fps.

    I tested my gtx 280 and got 182fps?? I got an extra 24fps???? Is that all the GTX 280 can get???

    So is this normal or what?
     
  2. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    lost coast in not at all an accurate measure man :p

    run a vantage P score across that baby and youll see a mega difference.

    the last 5-8 cards ive owned have all plateaued in the 150-200 fps range, i dont get how they even call it a benchmark...

    other good ones that will more accuratly show the difference are cryostasis tech demo, and furmark off the top of my head.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,881 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Where the GTX should shine really is DX10 more-so than DX9, along with that, your lowest FPS should be improved, does it really matter that you're getting 8 billion max fps as long as the average stays higher and doesn't dip as far on the lowest (heavier loads) values? That's what I appreciate with the GTX series thus far. I don't mind if it doesn't get the highest score if it's more consistent overall.

    :toast:
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  4. pabloc74

    pabloc74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    don't use for test, use for gaming, and you can see the differences between the 2 cards; gtx280 is a wonderfoul card to compare with 8800gts 640:)
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  5. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,437 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Oh yes cryostasis!! the 8800GTS 640mb could not handle this on high at all! I was quite amazed!

    I suppose I should give the big boys out and see the difference!!

    I will have to get cryostasis tech demo again and test it out!!
     
  6. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    biggest difference will be felty in current games at high-ish res and AA

    eg, crysis, cod4/5, FEAR/FEAR2, GRID, mass effect, L4D, the list goes on, you WILL have better FPS in those, and especially much better MIN fps as mentioned.

    EDIT: also consider keeping the 8800GTS as a physx card, since you already have it, but then i would definitely recommend a new (more powerful) PSU.
     
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    doesnt matter too much past 60fps, after that it gets wierdly inaccurate sometimes. IE my 9800GX2 got like 400FPS in wow, about 90% better than my 8800GTS g92, and only about 10% better in bioshock, doesnt really matter since they are all above 60FPS.
     
  8. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,437 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I suppose your right!

    I was actually planning to keep it for physics but how would I get it to work?? I only got 1 PCi-E 16x lane? Or does it work different?

    My PSU would not be able to handle it anyway!

    I might as well just sell it while it is still a good decent card.
     
  9. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    yeah given that i would sell, you don't have a slot or power for her, get cash while you can!
     
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    If you could possibly push that quad to 3.6ghz it would offer better gains too.
     
  11. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Try the Crysis benchmark, you'll see a difference in that too.
     
  12. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,437 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I ain't going to overclock my CPU any further!! It is a bit hot! runs idle at 38-43c right now.

    I would need a better CPU cooler would'nt I??
     
  13. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    as long as it stays under 60 under load, you are fine
     
  14. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    sell the 8800gts and get a new cooler.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,437 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Great idea 3xplot!!
     
  16. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    :wtf:

    Under 40c is recommend I think. 60c :roll:

    My CPU is around 40c idle and I hit 55c on load at 3.6GHz.

    Yes, your cooler isn't exactly top notch. I could recommend 2 or 3 better coolers that would help overclock your CPU more to 3.4GHz or maybe more.
     
  17. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    my Noctua always kept my Q6600 Chilly as, and this is in hot hot Australia, kickass cooler.

    I think its the NP-12 or something off the top of my head.
     
  18. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Good cooler. It's equal to my CPU cooler, TRUE Black 120 Xtreme. I have 2 fans on my heatsink and keeps my quad cool at 55c on load in Prime after 2 hours.
     
  19. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    yeah mines a 120mm fan sandwich too :D, and they can both be set at 800RPM since the cooler is so good and the airflow is consistent.
     
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    physx is nothing to get an e-boner about. the gtx2xx series cards have dedicated physx clusters anyway.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. X-Terminator

    X-Terminator New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    I Know what you are talking about

    I just upgraded from a 7950GT to a GTX285 and in Crysis the game looks like crap and its only getting 5fps faster in the gpu test thats it:nutkick:. I was going crazy because it was the first game I tested and was not happy at all, but Bioshock I got 132fps faster with everything on High settings now. Fallout 3 High settings I got 48fps faster.

    Now the synthetic tests 3DMark03, 05, 06, and AquaMark 3 the improvements were huge
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  22. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,260 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Sell the 8800gts asap. it still has some value. No need to keep it for physics. Physics is BS anyway IMO, but if it is important to you, the 280 can handle it without a hiccup.

    Buy a better cooler, and buy a SSD with the money you get from the 8800. (Plus a little investment)
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    i believe its not so much the chip itself has "dedicated clusters" however the individual application can take groups of clusters as required.

    most applications should only need 1-2 tops as each cluster on GT200 is 24 sp's
     
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,939 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Ohio
    try running higher settings if crysis looks like crap
     
    X-Terminator says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. X-Terminator

    X-Terminator New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Well check out my system specs on right. I am still rockin the Socket 939 and PCIe v1.0
    with 2GB of ram. I run my FPS, Driving, & Flight Sims @ 1024 x 768 & My RTS games @ 1240 x 1024
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page