1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA GF100 Graphics Card Chugs Along at CES

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    NVIDIA's next generation graphics card based on the Fermi architecture, whose consumer variant is internally referred to as GF100 got to business at the CES event being held in Las Vegas, USA, performing live demonstration of its capabilities. The demo PC is housing one such accelerator which resembles the card in past sightings. Therefore it is safe to assume this is what the reference NVIDIA design of GF100 would look like. The accelerator draws power from 6-pin and 8-pin power connectors. It has no noticeable back-plate, a black PCB, and a cooler shroud with typical NVIDIA styling. The demo rig was seen running Unigine Heaven in a loop showing off the card's advanced tessellation capabilities in DirectX 11 mode. The most recent report suggests that its market availability can be expected in March, later this year. No performance figures have been made public as yet.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    A short video clip after the break.



    Source: PCWatch
    mep916 and skylamer say thanks.
  2. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    This is good very good. Im sitting here staring at my GTX 260's wondering if they should go on the [FS] forum because of the proof Ive just seen.
  3. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    wondering if those at nvidia's marketing team uses 3 years to choose what kind of breakfast they are going to buy.

    Because their naming schemes change every year....

    So is GF100 entry ? best? lowend.... uhm ?

    Gj getting something to show this round Nvidia!
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    GF100 is an internal codename. Terms like G92, GT200, or GF100, aren't meant to be marketing names anyway.
  5. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    ohh.

    well then they had issues finding internal codenames then :p
  6. Airbrushkid

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    171 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Why? you'll still have to wait til March. I have as follows -

    TNT-2
    Geforce 3
    Geforce 5600
    Geforce 6600 gt
    Geforce 6800 OC
    Geforce 8600 gts
    Geforce 8800 gts 320
    Geforce 9800 gt 1 gig
    GTX 260 216
    GTX 285 SSC

    No plans on selling. When the new card comes out I may buy.



  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    They should get bumped to the dedicated folding rig;).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Codenames aren't meant for consumers anyway. They won't feature on specs sheets or boxes. Hence they can call their stuff whatever they want to, and that would still be a non-issue to the consumer.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Anyone else notice that it looks like they got 3x pci-e connector wires going to 2x the pci-e plugs?(note the number of yellow 12v wires):wtf: Something is fishy here...
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    No, nothing fishy.

    [​IMG]

    The 8-pin connector is an internode (a single line, in the middle of which is a connector).
  11. AlCabone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Europe
    Do you actually use all of those?
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If you say so. Just seems ot me this is one of the early samples, and has high power draw. 8-pin power only requires 3x 12v wires, not 6, as is shown.

    No big deal..jsut means maybe production cards will be better/faster.

    but yeah, I hear what you are saying...from 8-pin, a 6-pin hangs. But then why didn't they use just the single cable?

    Good idea of length here too...that's a Raven RV01 case.
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Is that 3 sets of bundles power cords I see :twitch:
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    [​IMG]

    Capiche?

    It's just the way the PSU's cables were designed. The "second" connector in the diagram above is what went into the card in the picture above. There's nothing more to it than this.
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Capisco!!

    Again, then why didn't they use just the single cable?
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    It does not make a difference.
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    To me, it does, dependant on the PSU used.


    Meh...just something to talk about...:laugh:...clearly this is not a full production card, as there are a few months left, almost, until release.
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    I'll say it again, it does not make a difference. Besides they are not doing a performance evaluation there, so there's no scope to even speculate on something this trivial.
  19. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,310 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    AZ
    interesting being that there were some rumors regarding the tessalation capabilities.

    @ the naming scheme I think this is supposed to be the 10th rendition of the geforce series hence the gf on the tag, which means they are more than likely countign the gt200 as the geforce 9 onmiting the 9800's as the g92 first bore an 8800 designation.

    it likly means nvidia is returnign to a normal card progression internal naming scheme.

    speculation truly especially by cores without revision series were only up to 6 on the gt200 which would make the gf100 the 7th.
  20. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Probably just for better cable mangement. I've done that with some of my cables.

    Tom's Hardware on Fermi - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ces-2010-fermi,2527-4.html

    He's claiming Fermi to be faster than HD5970 and that's from a Nvidia guy this time. Real or not, it's one step closer to being an official statement, not rumors or fakes (now, they really were fakes?). I'll chose to believe him, because some months ago I made my own calculations based on the specs and reached that conclusion, as some of you may remember. We'll see, but I'm optimistic.
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  21. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    i was joking around :p

    As my head gets dizzy by knowing whats what.

    And now it seems ati is doing the same, still not as hard as nvidia's naming have been lately, but they have started so they might follow footsteps :p
  22. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    whoooo nice, things comes real this time
  23. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Finally! May the price wars commence!
  24. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    price wars... mmm price wars. Can't wait.
  25. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I too thought it looked like 3 wires at first until I looked again. It is only two 1 6pin + 1 8 pin. Just must be the way they had the wires situated.

    Also did anyone notice that the guy running the demo happened to keep switching the modes during the really intense tessellation parts? It was either him doing it or that is the way they had it set up to run.
    I the parts that it did run with full Tessellation it did look a little choppy at times. I do think that it looked a little smoother than my single 5870..... but not too much. Not enough to make me really impressed.

    So let's say for a second that this thing really does beat a 5870 by 36%. Well I wouldn't be surprised it only is coming out half a year later. If you ask me that number wouldn't be that impressive for 6 months later.

    But I still like the idea of the technology that they are using. I also think it will be a great addition to the world of GPU's. It will keep things moving forward that is for sure!

    But If I was that confident with it's performance and I were Nvidia. I would have left the FPS counter on the bottom and the top..... still left out there for all to see. But they didn't makes me wonder.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page