1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA to Upgrade GeForce GTX 260 with 24 Additional Shaders

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    You're forgetting about UMAP ;)
     
  2. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    That's a very poignant quote, and one that perfectly describes the relationship of the G200 to the G92, and the R600 to the X1950 series. :laugh:

    (Especially the R600.)
     
  3. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    8800GS and 9600GT were announced as a cut-down 8800GT on many sites. Does that mean they are? Well the GS in some way it is, with one TPC cluster and one ROP cluster dissabled, but why not a cut-down GTS? You know what I mean?

    Yet again, that lowest price is not dictated by Nvidia. UMAP only forces them to advertise the lowest price, but not the one they want.
     
  4. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Well, either way I think I can work it out. If they can't be SLI'd (GTX 260 and GTX 265/270), I can always sell my single GTX 260 and get two of those new ones. Make a profit even, since I got my GTX 260 for only $174, and I'm sure I can eBay-it-off for more than that.
     
  5. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    Most e-tellers are like that, but the ones that get the most business show the UMAP price along with rebates & junk. One example is egg. On egg, the 9800GTX+ is overall cheaper than the regular :rolleyes: But egg doesn't care about UMAP do they. Everyone else basically are ruled by UMAP.
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With the same frequencies / memory, etc?

    "Everything else remains the same with frequencies, memory size, memory bus width. This upgrade could take shape by this September."
     
  7. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    You didn't get what I mean. :) But it's my fault as I wasn't clear. I mean that one thing is what Nvidia will do and another thing what a site says. It can sometimes match. Sometimes is the key word. ;)

    They are replacing the GTX260 with the new one, which means that the regular GTX260 will not continue selling (except the ones that are already in stores of course). They could probably name it GTX260 and they will probably do, but they could just do a different thing. We just don't know. It would be something similar to FX5600 and FX5700 IIRC.
     
  8. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    If they do that then its great...but are they going to charge the same for it like when ATI changed the failing X1800s for the X1900s, or will it be a new card altogether. Completely replacing the 260 with this one would work if it doesn't have a price premium. But I can see all kinds of confusion occurring if the regular 260 is available while this is.
     
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ok, I made an edit.
     
  10. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    X1900s price was significantly higher, at least here. But again, it was not Ati's fault.

    Confusion will only occur if the card has the same name. We don't know the name, we just know what a confusing article said in one site. As I said before, I remember very well how many sites (I think Expreview was one of them) presented the 9600GT as a cut down version of g92, because it had many things in common. It's very common to do such things, it's like:

    -Ey dude, I bought an sports car.
    -Which one?
    -The McLaren F1.
    -I don't know it.
    -It's like a Saleen S7, but with...

    But that doesn't mean it is literally identical. This new card will be like the GTX260, but with one more cluster. So semantically it does make sense to present it like a GTX260 with one more cluster (or a GTX280 with one less), (edited->) instead of "A new GT200 based chip with 9 TPC clusters, x ROP partitions, xxx mhz, etc.". And it will be the same chips that are going to be selected as the "GTX260+" instead of GTX260 (I suppose both chips won't coexist), but that doesn't mean they will have the same name.

    Again we don't know anything really. I replied because I think many people were taking conclusions out of some news that, well, are far from being conclusive.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  11. Bull Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    146 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Wonderful, just what we need.

    Either we are going to get another SKU (the better of the two options). Or worse, we will get a muddled SKU that has two different performance levels. Brilliant.
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    i know if a way to see if its a bios tweak...any brave 260 soul out their want to flash it with a 280 bios?
     
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    wow this will perform almost exactly like a 280 gtx when oced.
     
  14. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    not quite, but close yes. About as close as the 8800GTS 640 112 did to the 8800GTX
     
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    no the current 260gtx when overclocked, does already almost match stock 280 gtx performance and when you add these shaders and I bet it's gonna be 55nm, making it overclock insanely, your gonna have 280 gtx performance.
     
  16. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    So anyone tried a 280 bios on a 260 like solaris said?

    I'm tempted, but dont want to brick it in case i can even blind flash or use another gfx card to flash it.
     
  17. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    well i flashed an 8800GS with an 8800GT bios, it was screwy in windows for sure, 4 rops, 64 shaders ect, but i flashed it back and all went normal
     
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Do you reckon it would work if you know the 260 can do 280 clock/shader/mem speeds?
     
  19. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    well to be on the safe side id modify the bios with stock 260 clocks and flash it just to be safe.
     
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just thinking about it, it prob wont work cus the mem config is different.

    Would still be interesting to try the bios that comes out for this one, maybe it will even be implemented into a bios editor...?
     
  21. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    it worked on my 8800GS didnt make it a 256bit bus i only had 6 chips. Nvidia bios detects memory on boot up, not like ATI bios where bus width and size are hard coded into bios.
     
  22. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Ok fair enough, that actually seems sensbile (so would that mean if one chip busted it could still carry on functioning?)

    Still I think i will leave it to someone more experienced in gfx card flashing.

    :toast:
     
  23. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    yes actully, i had a 6600GT loose one of its ram modules and it kept working
     
  24. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    flashing it won't work as you have said
     
  25. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I wouldn't even attempt that sort of flash anyway. The card is fast enough already...yeah, I know I keep on surprising myself with the stuff I say at times. The 280 bios wouldn't be just a massive OC for the 260 because of the points mentioned above - hardware & structure limitations. The 280 bios would just fry it instantly.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page