1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking PentiumD 925

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by manub, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. manub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi, is it possible to overclock my pentiumD 925? It's stock speed is 3Ghz, is it possible to OC it to 3.5 or 3.7? Also if it is possible then do i need an aftermarket cooler or is the stock fan enough?

    My system Specs are

    Intel Pentium D CPU 3014.6 MHz Presler (65 nm)

    MB Model : Gigabyte 945GZM-S2 (rev 3.x)

    GPU: ATI Radeon HD 4350(1 GB)

    RAM : 2048 MB DDR2 Dual Channel

    RAM Speed : 268 MHz (3:4) @ 4-4-4-12
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You could try on that motherboard you have but even a PentiumD at 4Ghz would not match a stock Athlon X2. The Pentium D chips were not too great with the netburst technology.

    Set ram speeds low then start by upping the FSB slowly (about 5-10Mhz) until it refuses to boot. Then back off a could of mhz and test for stability. Once You get a stable stock voltage clock, you can up voltages by .05v and continue the test again.
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Erm you must mean 0.05v pumping an extra .5v through a chip could fry it
     
    de.das.dude and manub say thanks.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea Forgot the zero cause this coffee is not kicking in.
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Haha I have forgot the zero before though I did it in the bios and fried my last 2500k :laugh:
     
    manub says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL yea and for me being an electronics engineer, I should have caught that but just woke up and scrambling to get to a Christmas lunch with family LOL
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    232 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Belgium
    It's worth a try. 3.5GHz should be relatively easy as it's a 65nm chip. However, it will be in the same range of performance. A pentium D just doesn't cut it anymore.

    As for cooling, I never worked on stock cooler of the pentium D (older 90nm), but I think it should be just enough.
     
    manub says thanks.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I had a good Pentium D 820 that would reach 4Ghz on a Crappy G33 board any only took 0.05V but these chips still do not perform good at even that high of a clock.
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,080 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,015
    manub says thanks.
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I wouldn't get a 1066 cpu. Grab up an e5x00 chip, high multi + low fsb could potentially get that chip to be a friendly overclocker on that board. Even if you run it stock it would run circles around that Pentium D.

    Here's a good one for inexpensive.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/281041380272?hlp=false

    @amp

    I wouldn't mention the Xeon chips, they are 50/50 to run on desktop boards, well from that generation anyway.
     
    manub says thanks.
  11. 50eurouser

    50eurouser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    4th Dimension
    Official gb page says it can't support neither 45nm CPU's nor Q6xxx quads. You should check for an 2nd hand conroe 65nm E6xxx series or some ultra value Pentium E2xxx cpu with 1mb L2. They use 200fsb and nice multi. An E2200 should do the job, you can oc it easily 11 x 266 within a few secs.
     
    manub says thanks.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I just linked to a 45nm chip.
     
    manub says thanks.
  13. manub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for a lot for your replies! Will overclock and post the results :) Thank you all :toast:
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,228 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,269
    Don't do it!

    Those netburst processors suck down the juice and that board has an extremely shitty 3-Phase CPU power setup.

    Overclocking a Pentium D on that board will likely overheat the CPU phases very quickly.

    Also, don't even think about overclocking a Pentium D on the stock cooler, they ran so hot the stock cooler barely keeps them cool at stock speeds.

    Here is an example of what running a Pentium D just slightly overclocked did to a board with 3-phase PWM:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And this was with aftermarket heatsinks on the vregs to keep them cooler.
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,391
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Where are you? If you're in the US I can sell you a Celeron Dual Core E1600 (basically a Core 2 Duo) for a very reasonable price (and it works with the 945G board I have). It would be much faster and use far less power than the Pentium D.
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. manub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well i'm in INDIA mate :), so i can't buy :p
     
  17. manub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What was the temperature of your cpu at stock speed? Mine is around 30c-33c.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,228 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,269
    I think a little lower than that at idle, I used a Thermalright Ultra-120 on it, but temp isn't really the issue, the power draw is, the high current draw of the Pentium Ds will cause the VRMs to overheat and die pretty quickly.
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. manub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Okay thanks a lot :)
     
  20. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    Don't OC a Pentium D on that motherboard. Having said that, i have the same CPU and i manage to get it to 4.0Ghz pretty easily on a Abit IP35 PRO, i did OC it up to 5Ghz to test some stuff. I can also confirm that a Pentium e2180 (65nm Conroe i think) is faster than the Pentium D at 4Ghz. Go grab some 65nm C2D or Pentium dual core.
     
    INSTG8R and manub say thanks.
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, don't OC it. I got mine to 4GHz on an ASUS P5WDH Deluxe and the CPU alone under full load consumed in excess of 200w under load (system with an idle NVIDIA GT440 consumed 300w).
     
    manub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. manub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Okay then i'm not gonna overclock it, so if i have to upgrade to a new processor, which one is good for this mobo?
     
  23. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)

    Here you can see all the CPUs supported by that motherboard. CPUs with N/A bios version are not supported. If you want to spend a few bucks a cheap motherboard, 4gb ddr3 ram and a sandy/ivy bridge based Celeron will be better than the best dual core (and maybe quad too) you can buy for your current motherboard.

    http://cl.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=2467
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,228 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,269
    Honestly, I think even a dual-core celeron would do better than the Pentium D you have now. Saddly your motherboard doesn't support 45nm CPUs or Quad-Cores, so you'll have to go with something 65nm.

    If you can find a Core 2 Duo E4600 or E4700(make sure it isn't a Pentium E4600/E4700!) that would be an excellent upgrade, and you can usually find them on ebay for under $20.

    You can also go with an Core 2 Duo E6600, but it won't run at full speed because your motherboard doesn't support 1066FSB it seems.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,917 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    hello!

    you can buy a lot of cheap old systems there too. cheap ones that will perform better than your current system at least :)

    i wouldnt try overclocking something not meant for that purpose as it will definitely not be very reliable. overclocking is OK, but for 24*7 use, it gives a lot of strain on the motherboard(if it wasnt mean to be used like that).

    sure with newer CPUs, its okay, but not the old ones!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page