1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC not starting after new CPU installed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kistel, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I just installed a new AMD 1090T on a ASUS M3A78 EM motherboard and now my PC is not starting up.


    I checked and ensured that all plugs and connectors are connected to my motherboard. I plugged in the PSU cable, and hit the power switch. My motherboard's LED light comes on.

    I then press the power button - and nothing. No POST, no beeps, and no fans spin. Only the motherboard light comes on.


    This is what I did:


    I updated the BIOS prior and the latest BIOS support the 1090T CPU. I've used this PC fine for a month or so with these BIOS.

    I turned off my PC, turned off the power and unplugged it. After waiting for a few minutes, I opened it up and unplugged all plugs, video card, PCI cards ect.

    I then removed my motherboard. Next I removed a Sunbeam Core Contact 120mm heat sink/fan - this took a bit of effort, had to physically remove motherboard before getting it off.

    I then removed my 9950BE and installed my new 1090T and 92mm Xigmatek LOKI heatsink/fan with TX2 thermal compound on my ASUS M3A78 EM.

    I am concerned the motherboard might have got damaged during the process of removing and installing my CPU heatsink. But the light on the motherboard comes on when I plug in the power, does that mean it is not a motherboard-related issue?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011
  2. CyaN1de New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Check power switch connector on the mobo perhaps?
     
  3. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Did you clear the BIOS before turning the system off?
    Try a CMOS clear just in case.

    EDIT: additionally - did you make sure the CPU power connector is in place?
     
  4. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,494 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Is your old CPU still around? Can you put that into the motherboard and see what result you get with it? If its the same result, check to see if any of the pins in the socket got bent. If they did, carefully try and straighten it out. If you break the pin, the motherboard is FUBAR.

    If the old CPU produces the same results as the new CPU, try installing everything on cardboard outside of the case and boot up and see what happens. If it boots up fine, you had a short going from the case to the motherboard.
     
  5. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I double checked the system panel connector for power and reset, and found I had installed them incorrectly. Now the system starts, the fans power up but there is no POST.
     
  6. CyaN1de New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As stated clear CMOS.

    Remove any unnecessary equipment such as storage drives, optical drive etc.

    Use 1 RAM stick in first slot if using more than 1 stick at the moment. If still no post, try the 1 stick in each slot. If still no post, try another stick of RAM. (I had this problem recently with RAM not playing nice with the mobo).
     
  7. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California

    How would I clear CMOS exactly? And does this rest the BIOS? If it does, the motherboard won't recognize my 1090T.
     
  8. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    No it won't wipe the BIOS update :)
    All it does is default the BIOS settings to factory default, but you will lose settings like time/date/CPU configuration etc.
    The BIOS will then default to a detect setting (if you like), so your hardware will run fine.

    There should be a battery on your mobo which you can remove, or alternatively, there's an "clr CMOS" jumper you can use to short it (about 5-10 seconds).
    Make sure power is OFF when you clear the CMOS!
     
  9. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ok, I removed all hard drives, video card, and one RAM. Still no POST.

    I will try my CMOS next.

    But if it is a CPU comparability issue or hardware issue regarding the CPU, would it POST?
     
  10. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Well, if for some reason the BIOS update didn't work, then your CPU cannot be recognised, so the system will not POST.
    However, if you're convinced the BIOS update was successful, then there should be no compatibility issue..

    EDIT: you will need to clr CMOS before you can try POSTing without your graphics card ;)
     
  11. CyaN1de New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    He was using Mobo prior with flashed BIOS according to his first post.

    I'm assuming your board has OB Video capabilities?

    Mine just beeps at me until I put the Vid card back in :D
     
  12. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Just making sure mate.
    That mobo has on-board gfx, yes, hence another need to change the BIOS setting to default by the CMOS clr ;)
     
  13. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,494 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    How can you see if you POSTed or not if you removed the video card? Have you tried putting the old CPU in like I suggested and see what happens?
     
  14. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I will try the old CPU next.

    For now, how do I remove my CMOS battery? My manual does not tell me what I must do to pull the battery out. Do I just physically pull it out?
     
  15. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    It's better if you try the CMOS CLR jumper first.
    Should be close to the battery itself :)
     
    Kistel says thanks.
  16. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I tried clearing the CMOS through the CLR jumper. That did not work. I can not figure out how to physically remove the CMOS battery.

    If there is a psychical issue with the CPU pins, will it even start up?
     
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Anyone considered that this is a am2/am2+ board?

    It probably needs a bios upgrade if it supports 6 cores at all.
     
  18. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I've already got the latest BIOS, which according to the ASUS website, support the 1090T.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  19. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    If there's a bent or broken pin, then you have no chance of the CPU working, that's correct..
    Try the above suggestion of using your old CPU & see if it POSTs then :)
     
  20. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ok. Going to put the old one in. No bends on the pins for the 9950BE. Removing the heatsink now.
     
  21. CyaN1de New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you unplug the power supply, change jumper, wait 10 seconds, return jumper, plug PSU back in? No need to pull the battery if you unplugged the PSU.
     
  22. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I did all of that. Same result.

    I just removed the 1090T - no bends on the pins either. 9950BE is in. It entered POST - but there was a double beep.

    Entered in BIOS. I will have to update the BIOS again. Loaded Windows.
     
  23. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Take note of the BIOS version and ensure that it's the same as the latest version.
     
  24. CyaN1de New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't you just love computers? :D
     
  25. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Absolutely! xD
    Just a bit of a minor hassle sometimes ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page