1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor and TechPowerup Present Pimp My Rig Contest

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,031
  2. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I do not believe it is possible to be below zero.

    To the best of my limited knowledge, N/A means the test failed or did not complete.
     
  3. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,031
    I wasn't around to watch it so I have no idea whether it ran properly or not. With what I'm doing I wouldn't be surprised if it didn't.
     
  4. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    180 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Nice run man! I'm struggling with the exact same problem. If you can get rid of the N/A on the first test you will win for sure. There is a certain amount of frames that need to be rendered in each game test in order to achieve a valid result. i got the exact same error, but on GT4, it only renders a single frame and the result on that test is listed as N/A.
     
  5. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    So, valid scores for only the four graphics tests are required to obtain a qualified score for the contest?

    If that is the case, I have been wasting time trying to get scores for each and every test, including the sound tests.
     
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,031
    The actual 3DMark score is just the GPU score. While CPU might affect the GPU tests, the CPU tests are NOT calculated into the final score. Whether PowerColor/W1zzard accepts entries without CPU scores, I don't know. And the other tests are just feature tests. After the GPU tests complete, you can simply press escape and submit.

    CPU scores were not included in the final score until 3DMark06.
     
  7. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    OK, so I have been wasting my time.

    But, as you say, we still need to know what is and what is not acceptable, since the rules are vague regarding that point.
     
  8. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    180 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    A valid score consists of valid runs on each of the game tests, at least
    3d mark 2003 uses the scores of these 4 tests to calculate the final score, so i guess that we only need valid runs on those.
     
  9. makaka New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Conclusion

    It is not hard to score 0 or 1 on this contest , it do not depend also on hardware , i managed to get 49 from a gtx 570 and 2600k .
    http://xtupload.com/image-3FED_4E694638.jpg

    tests really take too long to complete and it do not make sense to waste more time ,

    Stuff here has first to clarifies what do the valid result stand for , i was also able to get a 0 in overall score (all test passed), i think getting too low will result in N/A in all score with overall of 0
     
  10. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    180 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    the rules have changed... i got a valid score of 5 without N/A on the game tests. Now you need to have every game test (GT1 to GT4) to have a numerical number on orb, or it won't count.
     
  11. Darkrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  12. Darkrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    FINLAND
    ok tested more if the game fps goes under 1 it dosent show it in the ORB.. so this is the lowest i can go .. now got 112 but only wings showed 1 others was missing from orb details showed
    wings 1.2 battle 0.9 trilss lair 0.8 mother nature 0.9 and orb showed only the wings like i told..
    damn shame,, well ill try to keep it so near 1.0 as i can so maby ill get some off from the 178..
     
  13. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I thought I might point out, according to section 4 of the rules;

    All desktop systems are welcome to submit their entry (no notebooks, netboooks, tablets or other such portable systems).
     
    Darkrix says thanks.
  14. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    180 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Darkrix says thanks.
  15. Darkrix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    FINLAND
    lol so i missed that part well then i have to do something to my home comp lets see how low i can go.. now its maby a bit too quick.. http://3dmark.com/3dm03/6437328
     
  16. Dapixelassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No...it is not. It is there rules. You must have a desktop GPU to win/enter
     
    Darkrix says thanks.
  17. Dapixelassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Darkrix says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page