1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor x800 GTO 12ppp no temperature & fan's rpm/control...

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by roo13, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. roo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    I've bought this videocard as i found it at a good price, but i'm really disappointed by the fan..so i decided to unplug it as i could'nt control it by atitool 0.26 or trixx (last version)..in addition, by safety, i've underclocked gpu and memory to 200mhz but my problem is that it is impossible to monitor temperature..?

    Here is the bios i have: 009.010.001.015 (15 sept. 2005).. is there an update i could find somewhere..? or maybe could i change this bios by a generic one for x800 GTO pci-e 256mb DDR3..?
    Or is there a manipulation to do with rabit to modify my bios..?

    Thanks in advance, ju
     
  2. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Get an aftermarket fan, like the Zalman VF900-CU or the AC Accellero. These connect straight to the fan headers on your MB or you can connect it to your PSU via 4 pin to 3 pin connector. Thats the best way, other than stuffing around in BIOS just to adjust the fan speed. Very risky to play around in BIOS, esp if it locks up while you are flashing it.
     
  3. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    If you want control the fanspeed, the Zalman VF900 comes with a fan speed controller.
     
  4. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    Plus the VF series (incl. VF700) comes along connectors for different voltages.
    I chose 12V (full speed), cause my XpertVision X800 GTO doesn´t support monitoring, too.

    My GPU (R420) runs at 520MHz (default 400), not a single crash or errors occured with this settings (VF700 @ full speed, not noisy).
     
  5. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Yeah, the VF700 and VF900 are both very quiet units. I love the variable speed controller (fanmate2) tho.
     
  6. roo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi both of you and thanks

    In fact buying an other cooler wasn't really an option cause, i'm kind of tight in $ (in € actually..) and thought i could fix this by an update or modification of the bios..if anyone knows the trick for this, please let me know..

    Otherwise, as i can't monitor temp, at least (rpm was just to have an idea), i'll certainly go for a vf700..
    Controlling the fan was interresting as by slowing it down with my finger it seemed to be quiet..and that appeared to me the cheapest and most efficient way to do it..

    thanks again, ju
     
  7. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    The VF700 is a bit cheaper than the VF900, and would meet your needs. Alternatively you can buy the Zalman fanmate controller, and try and solder that to your existing fan.
     
  8. roo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    Thanks Zalmann, i can use the fanmate with the special 3 pins connector of the video card's fan..? isn't it supposed to be plugged on stard 3pins connector like cpu fan ?

    thx in advance
    ps: anyway i'm little worried by the temperature and would like to monitor it in order to check thaht the fan isn't too low..any idea..? when i edit my bios dumped from CCC in rabit, fields about temp and fan speed are inactive, but if i edit bios from techpowerup for powercolor x800 gto pci-e they are active..difference of PCB..? how can i check this and find a good version..?
     
  9. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
  10. roo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks a lot peach, i'll take a look at it this evening. i thought all recent videocards have this feature..

    thx again

    edit: if this sentence is right: "All Radeon X800 boards support temperature monitoring. On the X800 series the LM63 chip is located here:" i shaould have it so..?
     
  11. AKA_Dawg

    AKA_Dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    It doesn't show the temp in CCC?
    Anyways why don't you splice the connector off a case fan and then plug it in to a motherboard header? Do you have a fan on your northbridge?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page