1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon X800 Non-Pro/X800 XL/X850 Voltmods

Discussion in 'Articles' started by Urlyin, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2005
  2. MMos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried it , but can't get it working :(

    First i measured VGPU on the measuring point it gives 1.408V.

    Then i measured the VGPU resistor , was about .435K . I penciled it down to .390k and measured VGPU
    again , still 1.408V.

    Then i measured the IGPU resistor , was about 40k and i penciled it down to about 20K.
    But still my VGPU is 1.408V.

    I don't know why it doesn't raise the VGPU :confused:

    Edit: Card is Powercolor X800XL
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  3. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129

    MMos ... which measure point are you using? I see there are two shown ...
     
  4. MMos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just can see one :confused: One the first picture the green arrow labeled VGPU 10K.
     
  5. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    You should be measuring the voltage at the bottom of cap c60 ...
     
  6. MMos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes this is the point(C60) i used. :confused: :(
     
  7. Ex0skelet0r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    and if i do this voltmod, what i will gain? more fps? less temprature?
     
  8. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    MMOs ... clean off the mod for the GPU. Recheck the ohms on the resistor you penciled and then check the resistor to the right of it in image number 5 (counting from the top down).
     
  9. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Ex .. increasing the voltage allows for higher mhz for GPU and MEM. Yes it does equal to higher FPS, depending upon the amount of OC gained. As far as heat, this can greatly increase, again depends on the amount of oc ..
     
  10. MMos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I already cleaned the Mod after seeing no voltage gain. I rechecked everthing. R1596 has ~40K , and the right one on pic5 has ~435k

    BTW. I tried to mod VDDQ and VDD , both worked like they should. It's just that damned VGPU mod that doesn't work for me. :(
     
  11. Unregistered Guest


    MMOS the R1596 IGPU mod is not needed unless you going with a high VGPU ... still not sure why you didn't get an increase with the resistor shown. Do you see the resistor R1597? That is the one that should be shown in the image from W1zzard. Can you verify that? The way they changed the board it may not have a labeled beside the resistor but in a list below ...
     
  12. DoughtCom Guest

    I'm wondering, I can only get a 410MHz Core/455MHz Mem stable with this X800XL I got from monarch computer. It's a sapphire (has the hologram on the board), but the PCB is Red. It even has the ugly chick STICKER over what looks like an ATI logo on the heatsink. Let me know what you guys think of that.

    On to my main question.... since it's a red PCB (not that the ACTUAL color has anything to do with it obviously, but could be a different design), does that mean this mod will still work since it's a "sapphire"? Do you guys think it's a counterfit or anything or have people seen red versions as well? I DO get around a 5200 score in 3DMark so I know it's at least an X800 XL.
     
  13. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    No big deal on it being red or blue ... check the images against the locations on your board. They should be the same and the mod should work. Your score of 5200 doesn't sound off for an XL ...
     
  14. Unregistered Guest

    Hi all,

    new to this forum.

    I have a question about the OVP or IGPU mod on the x850. When do I have to do this one. I am guessing it protects the vgpu from getting to much volts. How many is too many volts? I am at 1.55v now.

    musk
     
  15. AllBrain New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I have a small little problem with my Gecube X800XL. The PCB does not look the same at all:

    [​IMG]

    Here are the codes on the IC's that I think control the GPU and Memory voltage:
    GPU - RT9256
    Memory - RT9214
    Can someone help me?
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2005
  16. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Looks like they changed up from the Fairchild to a Richtek ... can you get a closer shot of the chip area?

    Don't see anything on the Richtek web site for the RT9256 but here's the RT9214, are there two of these?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Unregistered Guest

    MMos i have the same problem!

    you know how to fix it?
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,050 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    i fixed the vgpu location in the article .. previous one was the vdroop mod :)
     
  19. cubalis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem with a powercolor vivo x800xl

    The VDD and VDDQ have both been penciled and work perfectly, but the VGPU won't budge from 1.41V.

    anyone resolve this yet?
     
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,050 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    cubalis did you use the updated pictures? changed earlier today
     
  21. cubalis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes I used the new pictures. I got my memory to oc stable to 580 instead of 540 before this mod, but my GPU needs a little more juice to get past where it's at now (454) ;)

    And thanks for the info - this mod is very easy to do and has great results... if only I could get my VGPU up....

    cheers
     
  22. funkflix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    @cubalis

    It works perfect for me! Are u sure thet u used the new pics.? I'm now on 1,54V and it gaves me an boost about ~ 35MHz, it's ok, but it could be better! ;)

    Make an pic from ur card, maybe it's an different layout?

    Regards.

    Edit: I'm on a x850 XT.
     
  23. cubalis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, the penciled mod was applied to resistor with the green box. I took all readings for the VGPU on C60.

    Also, this is the only x800xl that uses an external pci-e power connector (6 pin)..... could this have anything to do with it?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  24. funkflix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    [​IMG]

    Use the two pins in the blue box! It will work!
     
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,050 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,954
    that's the wrong one .. you have to pencil in the EMPTY spot to the left of your green box as indicated in the pictures
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page