1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

recommend me a board for Intel and for AMD

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by p_o_s_pc, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have been looking on newegg for hours and i can't decide on what board i want or if i want to make the switch to Intel or wait for the new quads from AMD and the I7 from Intel.
    So i some recommendations for both Intel (LGA 775) and AMD (AM2+).

    what is needed for the AMD side
    Support 45nm quads
    overclocking options
    2.4v or higher for RAM
    1.55v or higher for CPU

    What is needed for Intel side
    overclocking options
    2.4v of higher for ram
    1.55v or higher for CPU
    45nm CPU support out of the box

    I don't want or need SLI or crossfire but if a board supports it i still would get it.
    Please try to keep price around $100 and not higher then $150 also must be NEW and NOT open box
    thanks :toast:
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    asus P5Q Deluxe

    can be had for under $150.... if you look hard enough.
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I got my P5Q Deluxe for around 135 iirc....amazing board. Has been very good at overclocking 65nm duals and quads and 45nm duals (e6300, e6400, q6600, e8600 and e8500).

    It'll go well over your required voltage requirements with ease, and if you need more, there's a jumper to allow even more voltage to be pumped through the CPU and NM. Has 16-phase cpu power, just overall a damn great board. Also has 2 bios chips so if you fubar your bios, it'll re-flash with the backup bios and get you back online.

    The P5Q-E is a good board and might be more easily found at sub 150 prices in comparison to the Deluxe, either way they are a great P45 board.

    :toast:
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeap for ~$150 the P5Q-e is a great board :), buut it might be a waste (I mean your really only spending the extra for the three PCIe slots :p)
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    ok thanks for the Intel boards now what about some AMD boards? also i would like to get everything from newegg
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    MSI K9A2 plat for AMD i got mine for *cough*$50*cough*
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yeah i know you did. but i kinda am not wanting to get that board. i don't like the way it looks :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    P5Q pro is decent. One I figured the settings out on mine, it was all good.
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what was that Biostar board that you had before?

    also do you guys think there is a good chance of my 5k BE being dead?

    BTW I am looking at the Foxconn destroyer for AMD that is if my 5kBE isn't dead then i could get that board. :)
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    biostar TA780G M2+ or something like that
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks i will take a look and see if i can find it. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    that Foxconn board is awesome but wayyy out of your budget.

    Out of inexpensive boards i'd recomend Biostar, 720a, 750a, 790GX and 780g or a Gigabyte 750a.

    If you have an nvidia card, id go with a nforce though
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yeah i know it is out of my budget but IF my 5000+ BE isn't dead i could buy that board with the money i would have saved buying a CPU. I have a 8800GT so i am looking to get a nforce looking at a 750a chipset so SLI can be possible one day.


    is the Asus M3n72-D 750a any good?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131323
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I dont know much about it. However, I scanned through the reviews at egg, they look good but there is one problem with this board, CPU voltage only goes up to 1.3v for the Phenoms (dont know about the Athlon X2s) which limits the overclocking potential. I dont know if its just that board or its a chipset limitation.
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  17. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I think that Asus is a nice choice, u can't go wrong with it.

    This MSI is within your budget, but no reviews yet, if u want to give it a try.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130210

    If I were you I would pick anything from the following:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131325

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131320

    This one has the latest SB750 which gives you more clock on the Phenom

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131331

    And ofcoruse you can't go wrong with this Biostar

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138128
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  18. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hey sent pm too.
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    nice eye i didn't even see that. Well that Asus board is out then because even with a phenom i still want higher then 1.3v :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P

    This board is 106 with the MIR at the egg,
    I dropped my QX6850 in it and within a half hour it was at 4G - 503fsb and 1.4v.

    This is my second Ulra durable and this one is "HOT"

    Give it a hard look.....

    t=over the next few days i will be posting results with Q6600's , Q9650's and a bunch of other chipzzz

    this board roxz
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2008
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  21. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i was mainly concentrating on the cons, lol

    but yea, look into Biostar and Giga 750a boards, read the reviews carefully as there is a lot of helpful info there and make sure there is no voltage limitation on them. Some of the members here on TPU had these boards, perhaps they can chime in on that. I only recomend these based on what i've read/heard. Good luck :)
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page